skip to main content
TYR Women's Hurricane Cat 5 Fullsleeve Triathlon Wetsuit

TYR Women's Hurricane Cat 5 Fullsleeve Triathlon Wetsuit Reviews

Back to product page
  

Page Showing 1-10 of 10 Results

4 star rating (10 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 10 customer reviews
  • 12/1/2020 TYR Wetsuit

    5 Review stars By Melissa

    I get cold easily and where I swim, the pool is not heated. This wetsuit kept me warm in the freezing temperatures so I could continue to swim. It was a great investment.

    Melissa
    Moreno Valley

    Fit:

  • 10/27/2020 Super comfy Swim westsuit

    5 Review stars By mountain lake swimmer

    It is very floaty, which takes some getting used to if you already naturally swim fairly high in the water. (It makes you faster) Wear the provided fabric booties on your feet to put it on even if you feel ridiculous... It helps get the suit to sit higher up on your hips and makes it easier to pull on the rest of the way. It is super flexible in the shoulders, I can't feel any resistance....sort of amazing! All in all it works great, keeps me warm in 50+ water, where my face hurts it is so cold. The first time I wore it I sort of panicked a little as it is tight and feels slightly constricting. I think I didn't have it pulled up high enough on my hips so the torso felt short. Which I fixed the second time I wore it and it was much better. Each time I have worn it since it just feels better and better and stretchier. Like it is conforming to me perfectly. Get it situated properly before diving in, as it's so tight that you can't adjust it once there is water in there. It gets all suction-y and sticks to you. I love it. I m so glad I have it. My swimming season just got extended by a few months.

    mountain lake swimmer
    Mount Shasta, CA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 9/21/2020 Good fit, great price

    4 Review stars By Sasha

    I''m using this for OWS in my local ponds to extend my swimming season and for whenever triathlons start happening again post-COVID. I''ve only ever used BlueSeventy suits in the past and always fit well in their WMA size, but unfortunately that size seems to be perpetually sold out. I did quite a bit of research and snooping around but had a hard time finding brands that had similar sizing options. I''m 5''3" and ~155lbs with narrow shoulders and wide hips and thighs. Sizing suits is very difficult for me, but since this was on clearance, I decided to shoot my shot with the suit. I bought a M/L since I''ve got a very short torso, and it seems to fit well so far. Its a bit tight in the hips, as expected, but otherwise a solid fit. I did not have any issues with the arms being too small, like other people have mentioned, but I did notice that the arms are about 1-2" too long for me.

    Sasha
    MA

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 4/22/2020 Excellent functionality

    4 Review stars By Susie

    The combination of freedom of movement and enhanced buoyancy are excellent. The lift from the lower back through the upper legs is so great that it negates much of the need to use proper form.
    The fit is what the buyer should expect it to be - tight. Particularly on the first use, it will be difficult to put on. If it isn’t essentially skin tight, it will loosen with use to the point of creating folds. These suits can only fit a small range of body size, even with the highest grade materials, which the Cat5 certainly has.
    Most of the negative reviews relate to fit, which isn’t a useful reflection of the product’s function, and that’s unfortunate. We have found one area that could use improvement, and that’s the neck closure. The Velcro can directly contact your skin.

    Susie
    The lake.

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 4/14/2020 Perfect suits

    5 Review stars By Betty L.

    All pools have been closed, so had to swim in the ocean.
    Bought two Cat 5 suits: 1 size S/M for 5'2", 120lb. 1 size XS for 5', 95lb.
    They both fit fine. it does take time for a first-timer to get used to putting them on.
    But did they keep us warm in the 14C (57F) water!

    Betty L.
    SAN DIEGO, CA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 4/10/2020 Meets my needs during Coronavirus shut down

    5 Review stars By Tricia

    I normally don’t swim in a wetsuit, but while pools are Closed, it allows me to eighteen my swims in 9C water. I have a nasty chafe on my neck, but that’s salt water for you. Shoulder mobility is good,

    Tricia
    Seattle

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 4/7/2020 runs small!

    4 Review stars By Julie A.

    I'm a pool swimmer, and this is my first wetsuit purchase. I've only worn it a couple of times but so far so good for swimming in 55-56 degree water. It's a bear to get into, but I believe that's just how it goes. I stay plenty warm and am extremely buoyant -- success! I find my arms and shoulders get a little more fatigued than swimming without a wetsuit, but less than with a friend's borrowed suit of a different brand.

    Sizing is a challenge though. I ordered according to the size chart and had to return and order the next size up. I'm a pear-shaped 5'5"/120 and started with the S/M. Oddly, I managed to get it over my 38" hips, but it was so tight on my scrawny arms and chest and shoulders I couldn't get it zipped without significant help. Ordered a size Medium and I can just wrestle in. The neck is a little tight, but in the water all feels fine. Recommend sizing up.

    Julie A.
    BERKELEY, CA

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 3/24/2020 runs small

    1 Review stars By Julie A.

    I ordered a S/M per the size chart. I am 5'5", 120. I'm 33/28/38, pear-shaped. I expected to struggle to get my rear in -- and indeed I did. Tried again wearing nylons. Success. What I did NOT expect was to struggle to get my skinny arms and chest in. I could barely get my arms in and I could not get it zipped without significant, forceful help. My bust is 33, waist 27, hips 38. I'm going to try again with a size medium, as the suit itself seems fine, though the "catch" thingies at the wrist seem more an impediment to getting in and out than anything functional.

    Julie A.
    BERKELEY, CA

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 2/27/2021 excellent wetsuit, runs small

    5 Review stars By Ellie

    I love this wetsuit for distance swimming. The sleeves and legs are long enough which is not the case with most wetsuits I have tried. It keeps me warm, is very comfortable with good mobility, and I can zip the back without having to ask another person for help. It does run small as I am 5'6'' and needed a large which fits snugly. I had to return the M and M/L.

    Ellie
    Providence RI

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 4/4/2020 one question, how do you get your hands and feet out of the sleeves and legs???

    1 Review stars By Dottie Jakobsen

    seriously, I spent half an hour yanking on the arms to get my hands out of the wetsuit after swimming!
    how do you do this without the intensely painful struggle?

    Suit fits well otherwise... please respond

    Dottie Jakobsen
    Santa Cruz, CA

    Fit: Feels true to size

Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz