TYR Women's Hurricane Cat 1 Sleeveless Triathlon Wetsuit Reviews
skip to main content
TYR Women's Hurricane Cat 1 Sleeveless Triathlon Wetsuit

TYR Women's Hurricane Cat 1 Sleeveless Triathlon Wetsuit Reviews

Back to product page
  

Page Showing 1-16 of 16 Results

4.5 star rating (16 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 16 customer reviews
  • 7/27/2015 LOVE IT!!!

    5 Review stars By PotterSki

    I am participating in my 1st sprint distance triathlon and decided I needed a wetsuit. I originally ordered a large, which had too much fabric in the torso - the return was very easy & I received a credit quickly. I then ordered a medium.

    The 2-day shipping is great because I wanted to start testing the suit ASAP. I am 5' 5", 155 lbs, curvy in the rear-end & thighs - the medium fits me perfectly.

    The buoyancy of the suit gave me a huge confidence boost. I have a previous shoulder injury, so I selected the sleeveless version and the fabric doesn't interfere with my stroke in the least.

    The suit is very easy to remove quickly for transition. After comparison shopping, the price is very good. I would recommend this wetsuit to any beginner triathletes.

    PotterSki
    Denver, Colorado

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 9/16/2016 Exceeded expectation!

    5 Review stars By Yogamama1215

    I purchased this for my first triathlon and was surprised at how comfortable it was. I don't have anything to compare it to but it seemed to come off easier than I was expecting it to and really liked the sleeveless aspect of this wetsuit. I did not feel constricted in the shoulders or neck. It fits true to size. I also met a number of other women in the same wetsuit and all said they really liked theirs as well! I felt it was best to dry it on a hanger in the shower.

    Yogamama1215
    Saratoga Springs, NY

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 5/6/2015 Great Fitting Suit

    4 Review stars By Amy

    Once I figured out how to put the suit on it worked great! Needed a little help zipping up.
    Super easy and fast to take off by yourself.
    Great range of motion in the arms.

    Amy
    Cedar Falls, Ia

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 9/10/2017 Great first wetsuit

    5 Review stars By Lanie O

    Helpful video on how to put on. Easy removal for fast transition.

    Lanie O
    Grand Junction

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 7/19/2017 Great service and gear.

    5 Review stars By evickers

    I purchased the TYR Hurricane sleeveless Tri wet suit. Customer service was great. The wetsuit fits according to the sizing chart and the customer service answered any questions that came up.

    evickers
    Maine

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 6/17/2017 Great first wetsuit

    4 Review stars By Kelly

    I am preparing for some longer open water swims this season, after an injury that (hopefully temporarily) precludes me from running.  I''ve done open water swims before in relatively warm water so I just did them in a bathing suit.  Because the water this time will be colder, and the distances longer ,I thought it was time to take the wetsuit plunge (so to speak).  

    I did a fair amount of research and ordered this suit in large and xl (size chart said I should be a medium male but I didnt think so).  I also ordered an Aqua Sphere Pursuit XL.  The Aqua sphere felt too stiff and compressive for me and my needs.  The Hurricane XL was too big...which I really only figured out after also trying on the L which definitely fit correctly!  For information I am 5''10", 170 pounds....I don't think I''m particularly muscular to account for such a variance from the size chart, but there you have it.  The fit was snug as I expected, but honestly more comfortable and flexible than I anticipated and did not make me feel like I couldn't breathe which i was worried about.

    I went for my first swim in it today and it was great.  It definitely added buoyancy, particularly to my legs.  I liked having my arms "free".  The cut is a little strange around the shoulders...like a modified cap sleeve rather than a racer back which is what I thought would be a better design.  The "cap sleeve" did not at all interfere with my stroke and I wasn't even aware of it when swimming.  

    If you're a wetsuit newbie like I am, I definitely recommend watching the videos on how to put it on and take off...I found those very helpful.  I didn't use the little booties but I have used the gloves when putting it on.

    All in all I''m very pleased with this purchase...I''ve returned the other 2 suits and the returns process was also wonderfully easy!

    Kelly
    Rocklin, CA

    Fit:

  • 8/30/2016 Used for first triathlon

    4 Review stars By Andrea

    This was my first wetsuit for my first triathlon. I appreciated that it came with instructions for how to put it on and booties and gloves (note: use the gloves! Very easy to puncture with fingernail). Worked very well for me during my race, no problems at all. Fit was good. Good price comparatively as well!

    Andrea
    Rochester, NY

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 7/14/2016 Great suit!

    5 Review stars By threebees

    I'm a beginning/intermediate open-water swimmer. I've done a few short tri swims in a full, long-sleeve wetsuit but always felt constricted. I wanted to try a sleeveless without spending a ton of money. This suit is perfect! Lots of buoyancy, comfortable at the neck and arms (no chafing), and inexpensive. The fabric seems like it would tear easily, but it comes with little gloves and booties to avoid snags when you put it on. Like another poster, I was on the cusp of Medium and Large. I ordered both and sent the Large back. I'm 5' 5 1/2", 145-150 lbs, long torso, short-ish legs, and the Medium is perfect. Large had way too much fabric for me in the legs and around the neck.

    threebees
    Glenmoore, PA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 12/29/2017 TYR sleeveless wetsuit

    5 Review stars By PammyP

    I haven't had a chance to swim in this yet but it is very comfortable and thankfully the neck doesn't choke me like another brand I tried.  It is so cool because it comes with gloves and booties to help put it on and off and protect the wetsuit.  There is also a very informative video about how to put it on and care for it.  So far very happy and impressed with this purchase and the price.

    PammyP
    College Station, TX

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 8/3/2017 Tyr hurricane sleeveless wetsuit

    3 Review stars By Julie de Roos

    I like this product but the fit was not good for me. The medium was to small and the
    large, which is what I ended up with is way too big. I am a little disappointed by
    the performance of this product for me. Because it was too big, it chafed badly on
    the neck and shoulders.

    Julie de Roos
    Portland, OR

    Fit: Feels too big

  • 7/28/2017 The Perfect Fit!

    5 Review stars By Sarah

    This wetsuit is exactly what I was looking for. I had been renting suits from a local shop and they were always too tight and a struggle to put on. This TYR suit is much more pliable and a breeze to put on while still providing excellent protection from the cold water temps. The weight and size recommendations are spot on as well. I am a "tad" over the recommended weight for the size I ordered and it fits perfectly.

    Sarah
    Tacoma, WA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 7/12/2017 Fits Perfectly, Great Suit for the price

    5 Review stars By LMH

    I will say that a wetsuit is a tough thing to put on, but it was totally worth it. My TYR Hurricane fit great and helped with buoyancy and insulation in a very cold Minnesota lake. I would definitely recommend this suit for a beginner triathlete. For less than $200, you can get a great suit that will help in your open-water swims. The shipment was timely, and packaging was great and protected the suit. Also included were gloves and booties to wear to protect from ripping while putting the suit on. It also comes with a carrying bag. Love it!

    LMH
    South Dakota

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 5/1/2017 Great wetsuit

    5 Review stars By T

    Just had my first open water swim to test out my new wetsuit, at 58 degree i barely felt the coldness of the water. It worked exactly how it was supposed to!

    T
    Mechanicsburg PA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 11/21/2016 great fit!

    5 Review stars By Julie Sainz

    I was happy with how it fit and the sizing chart made it easy to order it

    Julie Sainz
    Santa Maria, CA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 7/23/2016 What I needed, when I needed it

    5 Review stars By Lve

    I bought the TYR Hurricane Cat 1 after trying several hand me down wetsuits that didn't work for one reason or another for my first half ironman triathlon. I wanted sleeveless because I have issues with my right shoulder from a previous sports related injury. The Cat 1 was great! It was exactly what I was looking for. I was worried because due to my height (5'6") and weight (140-143 you know how it goes) the sizing sheet recommended a medium to a large. I read some other reviews first that said that the TYR wetsuits ran large so I went with the medium and it fit perfectly. (Which is why I am giving it a rating of feels true to size.) The wetsuit even came with little gloves and booties, which I felt ridiculous using, but I didn't need any extra plastic bags to help me get my wetsuit on. Overall I am extremely pleased.

    Lve
    New York

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 4/28/2015 Did not like the cut nor the fit

    1 Review stars By Laurie

    I bought according to the size chart and was on the cusp of Med/Large. I went with the large. My first time using it in the water, water leaked in from the gap in the neck. The neck is cut funny and I could not seem to cinch it down tight enough. Even if I had bought the MED, I think this would still be a problem.

    Laurie
    Bishop CA

    Fit: Feels too big

Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz