TYR Men's Hurricane Cat 1 Fullsleeve Triathlon Wetsuit Reviews
skip to main content
TYR Men's Hurricane Cat 1 Fullsleeve Triathlon Wetsuit

TYR Men's Hurricane Cat 1 Fullsleeve Triathlon Wetsuit Reviews

Back to product page
  

Page Showing 1-12 of 12 Results

4 star rating (12 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 12 customer reviews
  • 6/27/2016 Thin, but buoyant

    3 Review stars By Thin, but buoyant

    I had a sleeveless suit and wanted something for the warmer water. This suit is VERY buoyant and warm.  I will say it seems cheaply made.  The 1st time I tried it on I noticed a nic in the suit on the back butt.  I didn't think it could have been me, as I always wear bags on my feet and socks on my hands when putting on my suit to prevent damage to the suit.  I've never nicked any suit before.  Swimoutlet was nice enough and sent me a new suit - the first time I tried this one on - I nicked the leg, and I knew it was me. I'll have to see how it lasts, I like the suit overall, but if I keep getting nicks in it I'll go back to Xterra.

    I purchased an XL per their size chart - I'm 6'2 200# - it's a bit large in the arms and shoulders.

    Thin, but buoyant
    Chicago, IL

    Fit: Feels too big

  • 11/28/2017 First wetsuit purchase

    4 Review stars By SS1

    After considering a number wetsuits for open water swimming I chose this one. The fit is correct, pay attention to size chart.  Wear the gloves and booties that come with it when putting it on.  The price is good and the value is good.  Good range of motion when swimming.
    Great for freestyle, can't do much breast stroke in the suit but that is only for sighting.

    SS1
    Albany, NY

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 10/25/2017 It was a bit tight even if I based it on the sizing chart

    3 Review stars By Runhawaii

    I damaged the wetsuit while carefully wearing it even after reading the wearing instructions and watching the video on line. The material wasn't sturdy enough.

    Runhawaii
    Pasadena, Ca

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 7/28/2017 Snug fit

    4 Review stars By Steve

    This was my first wetsuit purchase and I followed the size chart.  At 6' and 160 the fit is snug with medium/large and I somewhat regret not buying the large.
    One thing I learned is to keep the Velcro patch cover attached while suiting up.
    Swam twice in the pool with it and second time I caused a small nick in the torso area.  Wear the gloves for removal too.  Range of motion seems to be good.

    Steve
    NY

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 3/29/2017 Excellent Value

    5 Review stars By richinrocklin

    I'm a recreational open water swimmer who doesn't need high-end features but wanted a wetsuit with thicker body panels for colder water temperatures this spring.  I was concerned that the 5mm and 3mm sections in the core areas might feel bulky or stiff, but they don't at all. Terrific design with excellent flexibility in the shoulders, arms, and legs. Neck seal works great without restricting breathing. Overall an excellent value for the price.

    richinrocklin
    Rocklin, CA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 10/14/2016 Great quality suit for the price!

    5 Review stars By Ruth-Lee

    Great quality suit.  My husband tried several brands and this was the best fitting.  Sizing seemed correct according to the chart.  It's great that TYR offer not only a L or M but also the M/L.  He's only swam in the pool with it so far but he has commented that compared to several others it's easy to get on/ off which is obviously important during a triathlon!!  He especially liked it bouyancy and comfortable neck line.

    Ruth-Lee
    San Antonio, Texas

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 6/5/2016 Single use?

    1 Review stars By Mcgill

    Just used this for the Blue lake triathlon in Portland. Worked well in the cold northwest water. Problem was I took it off in transition and left it inside out in my transition area, the soft outside rubber melted together in several spots. It took a lot of careful peeling but tore in several places

    Fit runs small, especially if you have cyclist thighs.

    Swim outlet is great with easy and fast exchanges to dial in the fit.

    Mcgill
    Portland Oregon

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 5/4/2016 EXCELLENT COMFORT AND FIT

    5 Review stars By JD

    Purchased this suit for a 70.3 and training leading to it.. and it performed excellently.  Good quality, excellent comfort and fit.  highly recommended.  
    * disclaimer... this is my first tri wetsuit.  but love it!

    JD
    Sicily, Italy

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 3/20/2016 Good quality/ Small sizing

    5 Review stars By D Paradis

    I haven't had the opportunity to try my new wetsuit yet.

    I do feel it is sized small.  I am 5'9" and weight 170 lbs.  I have a long torso so I sized one up (M/L instead of M) from the chart. Despite that, I feel that the length of the wetsuit doesn't fully cover my actual torso as I feel constrained downward, as if someone was pushing down on my shoulders.  A friend tells me that once I wear it, it will be better.

    In the meantime, I'm sure a Large would have suit me better.  As for quality, looks and feels very good!

    D Paradis
    Montreal, QC

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 8/10/2015 Unsatisfied Customer

    1 Review stars By Bruce

    I ordered the size as per size chart, size small. I am 150 lbs. 5'5" 41 chest in suit jacket. The wetsuit was tight and hard to get on. It punctured in 2-3 spots and the velcrose ripped on top also as I was getting wetsuit on.  I since had to cut legs and arms to make it easier to put on. I tried to get a refund, but they were only going to give me a 10% discount if I bought another wetsuit. I think it would had been better if they exchanged it for a better quality wetsuit, one that would not puncture and rip so easily. I guess I am stuck and I will have to contact cement wetsuit together.  It does keep me toasty in the harbor off the LI Sound and that was good. Be careful putting this wetsuit on as it is very sensitive.

    Bruce
    Long Island, NY.

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 7/3/2015 Great! Perfect! Thanks a lot!

    5 Review stars By Juliano

    Very Good! Excelent! best price!

    Juliano
    Miami

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 4/25/2015 Perfect suit.

    5 Review stars By Borelli

    Put on easy, super comfortable, came off easy! Water didn't enter in the suit anywhere. Swam in 52 degree water, only thing cold was my face! The suit is super warm!

    Borelli
    Santa Cruz

    Fit: Feels true to size

Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz