skip to main content
Hydro Tech 2 Silicone Surf Swim Fin

Hydro Tech 2 Silicone Surf Swim Fin Reviews

Back to product page
  

Page Showing 1-20 of 27 Results

4.5 star rating (27 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 27 customer reviews
  • 7/29/2016 Sizing for women

    5 Review stars By Susanne

    I have been wearing the Hydro Tech 2 fins for many years. I wanted to replace my old pair, because, after 7 or 8 years of almost-daily use, they were softening. I'm a woman with a consistent size 7.5 American foot (38 European) in regular shoes. My old fins say Size M 6-7. The current sizing says Size S 6-7 or Size M 8-9. These are all male sizes, I assume. I didn't know which to choose. I ended up choosing the Size S 6-7. They are tight. I can get my foot in and wear them comfortably, but it's a squeeze and I need to stretch the heel strap quite a bit to get them on, which will probably shorten the life of the fin. I will keep them, since I've already worn them swimming, but I will probably hand these down to my daughter and buy myself a Size M 8-9 in the near future. I hope this review helps other women with sizing, since all the other reviews seem to address only men and larger sizes.

    Other than the sizing discrepancy between the old version of this fin and the new, these fins are fantastic. The best I've ever worn. They give me a great leg workout while lap swimming and water-running, and they do not cause blisters. I also use these for ocean swimming and boogey boarding.

    Susanne
    Philadelphia

    Fit:

  • 2/23/2019 Above & Beyond

    5 Review stars By Ben

    Owned these for 2 years now. And I have owned most of the other brands. Theses are incredible. Not only is the 0 to 60 thrust amazing but the comfort leave is terrific. Sand shells pepples drain out the bottom hole. I’ve had these on for hours with never a sore or chafed foot.
    Stop Looking, BUY THEM!!!!!

    Ben
    Cape Cod, MA.

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 10/2/2013 sizing

    4 Review stars By James L.

    I am a size 11 and i bought a 10-11 set and could not put them on. Subsequently i bought the 12-13 and the fit great.

    James L.
    La Mesa, ca

    Fit:

  • 5/17/2016 Lots of power, very stiff

    4 Review stars By Anon

    It is a REALLY heavy fin that takes some effort to move through the water, but it adds some serious speed to your pace and definitely builds muscle. I've had the fins a couple weeks and I am still trying to loosen up the rubber a bit, very rigid.

    Anon
    Orange County, CA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 7/24/2013 Good thrust

    4 Review stars By Z2000

    My big toe gets cramped in the foot pocket and my right ankle is sore after a day of body surfing. But I found that this fin has become one of my favorites for its excellent power in and on the wave and whether swimming breast stroke or free style and for catching the waves.

    Z2000
    Boston, MA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 9/22/2017 Nice fins

    5 Review stars By Savvyshopper

    Ordered for club swim as requested by coach. Ordered the medium based on reviews for my daughter who wears a woman's size 7.5-8. They fit, one is a little looser because one foot is smaller but they don't fall off because of strap. If I had gotten the small I think it would have been too small because she has a wide foot. She says she isn't as fast with these compared to the longer fins, but the coach said these are better for your legs and your knees aren't being used as much as with other fins.

    Savvyshopper
    Santa clarita

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 7/14/2017 Comfortable and work great.

    5 Review stars By Ed

    I'm an old out of shape diver. I had not swam in 24 years. Our small town just opened a new pool. With the help of these fins, in two weeks, I am up to swimming one mile every morning. Nothing like dive fins, with these you get a great workout without cramping. I would recommend.

    Ed
    Susanville, Ca

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 8/24/2016 Great Fins!

    5 Review stars By bigO

    Fit was perfect. I wear mens size 8 1/2 - 9 very wide and these are just right , especially with the left & right sides. The material is great. Rigidity/stiffness and torsional flex is what I look for in a surf fin. These seem to be the right balance of thrust and twist for ridding waves. The only other that may be slightly better is Da Fin which I also have. I have tried many over the years.

    bigO
    Hilo, Hawaii

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 7/31/2016 True to size

    4 Review stars By Rodster

    They fit very well, a bit heavy. But overall good.

    Rodster
    Costa Rica

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 11/1/2015 best fin yet

    5 Review stars By old guy

    I have owned and discarded too many fins over the years. Most often it was because of fit and the damage my feet sustained after a day of body surfing. These fins are astounding. No sores, no blisters, no hot spots and great power. I'd buy them again for sure. I wear size 13 shoes and the extra-large fit perfectly. So far, the sand vent has worked perfectly. As you can tell, I was quite impressed.

    old guy
    El Cerrito, Baja California Sur

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 5/14/2021 comfortable and no cramping

    5 Review stars By fatguyfromJrz

    very comfortable and no cramping
    best i’ve owned

    fatguyfromJrz
    long branch, nj

    Fit:

  • 9/15/2020 Nope.

    1 Review stars By Price

    Very heavy and not flexible at all. It was an easy choice to return these.

    Price
    Gilbert, Az

    Fit:

  • 8/22/2020 Great fin, not a great fit for my feet

    4 Review stars By topkapikat

    I had the prior version of this fin with a toe opening and LOVED them. Sadly I lost one in the surf. The new ones are great also, but with an XL fin size and 12D shoe size, my big toes are somewhat cramped and they hurt after about an hour of use. I am putting spring-loaded shoe tree in them to see if that will stretch the heel straps.

    topkapikat
    New York City

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 6/28/2020 Items not built to standard US sized for adult males

    1 Review stars By This is the second chance.

    The fins are extremely undersizes. Not even close. Plesase provide a full refund.

    This is the second chance.
    Hoover, AL

    Fit:

  • 6/19/2020 Product was good. Shipping was awful.

    3 Review stars By Frustrated

    Was several weeks late getting to me. They never notified me there was a problem. Once I finally got them, the flippers were fine. Good quality and comfortable.

    Frustrated
    Tampa

    Fit:

  • 12/5/2019 I like them

    5 Review stars By Don Kent,WA

    They are left and right footed, nice ample shape to the foot pocket. Much stiffer than regular swim fins. I wear a 10.5 and my bare foot can move around in the large [OPENBRK]10-11[CLOSEBRK]. No crushing of the toes, which I really like.

    Don Kent,WA
    Seattle

    Fit:

  • 10/2/2019 Excellent Fins!

    5 Review stars By Hydro Swim Fins

    Fit true to size and very comfortable! Good power.

    Hydro Swim Fins
    Huntington Beach

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 8/31/2019 Sizes are odd

    5 Review stars By Swimpdx

    I am a women's 9, 9.5. I got a medium and they are slightly short, so I ordered a size large. The large are a better length but too much volume. The problem is that these are made to fit men's feet so this is not a surprise. They are made to accommodate a man's wide foot so very few women will get a good fit from these. The same old problem..."universal fit" means made for men. Why is it hard to make men's and women's fins? It isn't.

    Swimpdx
    Arizona

    Fit:

  • 5/8/2019 cracked after six months

    3 Review stars By Lana B.

    My son used these for six months. The right side cracked at the front. I wish they would last longer.

    Lana B.
    Ridgecrest, CA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 4/4/2019 Fit is a little tight

    4 Review stars By Scott

    I have size 13 feet and the largest sixe is a little snug.
    Lots of good thrust though.

    Scott
    Wyoming

    Fit: Feels too small

Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz