FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro Reviews
skip to main content
FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro Reviews

Back to product page
  

Page Showing 1-20 of 78 Results

4 star rating (78 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 78 customer reviews
  • 8/29/2016 Getting to the right pace!

    5 Review stars By Fernanda

    The Finis Tempo trainer keeps me in my pace, slowing me at the beginning and pushing a little my pace at the end. I have improved greatly!

    Fernanda
    The Woodlands

    Fit:

  • 1/25/2016 Awesome training tool

    5 Review stars By David A.

    The Tempo Trainer Pro is essential for serious competitive swimmers.  The ability to set a pace, hear the cadence, and then let the brain and body develop the muscle memory it needs to maintain that pace when competing makes this a phenomenal tool.  I have trained swimmers for only a few weeks with the Tempo Trainer Pro and am already seeing an improvement in times without sacrificing technique.  A must for all competitive swimmers; in the pool or on the Triathalon course!

    David A.
    Baytown, Texas

    Fit:

  • 1/1/2016 I had to return it

    2 Review stars By Rob

    I use the tempo trainer four times, checking it out. I ended upturning the trainer because I could not hear the beep. I have some high frequency hearing loss (too many hours in a B-52) and was using the trainer in an endless pool.  The combination of the motor noise, breathing and hearing loss made it very difficult to hear the trainer.  I adjusted the units position both on my swim goggles and under a swim cap and none of those options made much of a difference.  I suspect it would have done the job I wanted but not being able to hear it was too much to over come.

    Rob
    Colorado Springs, co

    Fit:

  • 12/22/2015 Finis please improve the quality of this product!

    3 Review stars By Swim Mom

    My daughter loves her tempo timer when it's working.  I bought one in May of 2015 from SwimOutlet and I have already replaced the battery once and now it's not working.  This piece of equipment is not used daily so it should still have plenty of life left  in it. Finis surely can you improve upon the quality of this product!  Please make your Tempo Timer more durable.

    Swim Mom
    Gilbert, AZ

    Fit:

  • 5/20/2016 Love it

    5 Review stars By Sarah K.

    I'm really happy with this. I have a tendency to take longer breaths in freestyle and it throws off my rhythm. This was a game changer. I use it a few times a week and it really improved my breathing rhythm. I don't find it to be too loud, but it is loud enough in my cap to hear with ear plugs.

    Sarah K.
    Atlanta

    Fit:

  • 3/31/2016 Poor battery design - unreliable, it won't work when you want it to

    2 Review stars By Janice

    I like the product, when it works. It is small and easy to use, and fits fine under your swim cap.  The clip is basically useless unless you are using it on dry land for some reason.  However, when I first got it, the provided battery was dead and it didn't work. So I replaced the battery and it worked for about 45 minutes.  So I replaced the battery again, and it worked for about an hour. I plan on replacing it one more time, but basically I am giving up. If you buy this, you will spend more money in batteries than what the tempo trainer costs!

    Janice
    St. Petersburg, FL

    Fit:

  • 12/28/2013 Improves times

    5 Review stars By Bubbles

    I have been swimming for 10 years on a national swim team and my coach has always said my arms need to move faster and my strokes tend to be inconsistent and I tend to slow down and get sloppy on longer sets and is started using this and my times have greatly improved and the beeping is the perfect volume and noise I am always able to hear it.

    Bubbles
    Tampa, FL

    Fit:

  • 9/14/2013 She loved it!

    5 Review stars By J. Torres

    My daughter uses it everyday in practice. She loves how clear it sounds underwater. Easy to use.

    J. Torres
    Angleton, TX

    Fit:

  • 11/27/2012 so glad I finally got one!

    5 Review stars By E

    this is really helping me keep a better pace

    E
    Tn

    Fit:

  • 11/26/2012 A Metronome for the Pool

    5 Review stars By Jim

    I am enjoying this device for my training to maintain and adjust stroke rate.  I've not had it long enough to rate longevity.  It does what is advertised.  The buttons are a bit difficult to use when the device is placed under a swim cap.

    Jim
    NH

    Fit:

  • 1/12/2018 Absolute must!

    5 Review stars By Dadcoach

    This is by far the best tempo trainer out there!  Bought another trainer and it did not do the things this little device can do!  If you want a consistent pace, a competitive edge, and confidence in a race that your stroke rate is “on the money”, then this is the device you need!

    Dadcoach
    Baytown, Texas

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 9/21/2016 Reliability of Tempo Trainer?

    3 Review stars By Swim Dad

    Works GREAT as specified!  Great for my age group swimmer.

    HOWEVER, this tempo trainer did not last one season!  My kid didn't lose it but rather, it stopped working in less than 9 months of usage.  Sadly, I only had to replace the battery once but now, I have 9 extra batteries for this plastic paper weight.  

    CONGRATS to those who still have a functioning tempo trainer.  Add me to the unhappy statistics receiving an UNRELIABLE product.  Fortunately for my kid, her swim team provides tempo trainers, as necessary.  I will only repurchase this product after a new version is made available.

    Swim Dad
    Pacfic Swimming

    Fit:

  • 8/30/2016 Tempo trainer.

    5 Review stars By Coach Jim

    2nd season using the tempo trainer. I'm finding many ways to use the beepers. Most of the time I get the swimmer to keep up with the beeps and decrease the time until failure.  I have them record the tempo at failure and the next time they have a number the strive for. I use two Tempo trainers at the same intervial, one they wear and one so I can listen to the same cadence on deck and make sure they are on time. The distance swimmers set them to pace intervals and make sure to achieve the given set times. Very cost effective and another gimmick to change training with positive feedback from swimmers. They really get into the challenge I set for the training sets. I'm working on drills and distance per stroke/length with the tempo trainers.

    Coach Jim
    Chesterton indiana

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 1/5/2016 Works well

    4 Review stars By AYD

    I bought it to work on my stroke efficiency; very helpful and easy to use. After about 15 minutes, though, I find I need to take it off - the beeping can become a little irritating ( but that's just me).

    AYD
    New York, NY

    Fit:

  • 9/28/2015 Must use cap

    3 Review stars By dan

    Works fine but when attached to goggle strap it comes off while swimming.  Must use swim cap to use this device,

    dan
    Michigan

    Fit:

  • 1/14/2015 Lap counter

    5 Review stars By Maria

    My daughter needed this it for swim practice.  The direction were very hard to follow.  Once her swim coach showed her how to use it she has had no problems.  It does exactly what you need it to do.

    Maria
    Staten Island, NY

    Fit:

  • 10/4/2014 Keeps you on task!

    5 Review stars By Deborah L.

    I don't actually have any experience with competitor's products... This is the brand everyone at my pool uses and the coaches recommended this brand to me. It works as advertized, and is very easy to use. I like that I can turn it off and on without removing it from my swim cap, because the buttons can be felt through the silicone cap.  I have only used it for a week, but so far I love what it is doing for my stroke!

    Deborah L.
    Thibodaux, LA

    Fit:

  • 12/12/2013 FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

    4 Review stars By Techeros

    I read the poor reviews and decided to try this. I'm 2 weeks into swimming with only 5k meters /per week. I do not like how hard  you have to push the 2 small buttons to turn the unit on. When I try, it screws with my pace. Holding the 2 buttons (at the bottom) at the same time, turns the unit on, when it turns on, it thinks you're trying to adjust the pace. whatever.... the clip is useless, just toss it and put this under your swim cap. It's plenty loud for me. I'm convinced the battery cap was designed by someone without thumbs and 3 eyeballs. Really? who designed this? it's 2013 people!! Anyway, it works so far. I guess this is better than trying to swim with my metronome from band camp. get it.

    Techeros
    Flowood, MS

    Fit:

  • 8/19/2013 It works!

    5 Review stars By Paul A.

    Working great after 6 swims. It will improve your times.

    Paul A.
    Longmont, CO

    Fit:

  • 3/4/2013 Great device at a fair price

    5 Review stars By William C.

    Tempo Trainer does what it says it will do. Plenty comfortable under your cap, and yes it does float.

    William C.
    Minetto, NY

    Fit:

Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz