skip to main content
FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro Reviews

Back to product page
  

Page Showing 1-20 of 95 Results

4 star rating (95 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 95 customer reviews
  • 1/25/2016 Awesome training tool

    5 Review stars By David A.

    The Tempo Trainer Pro is essential for serious competitive swimmers. The ability to set a pace, hear the cadence, and then let the brain and body develop the muscle memory it needs to maintain that pace when competing makes this a phenomenal tool. I have trained swimmers for only a few weeks with the Tempo Trainer Pro and am already seeing an improvement in times without sacrificing technique. A must for all competitive swimmers; in the pool or on the Triathalon course!

    David A.
    Baytown, Texas

    Fit:

  • 12/22/2015 Finis please improve the quality of this product!

    3 Review stars By Swim Mom

    My daughter loves her tempo timer when it's working. I bought one in May of 2015 from SwimOutlet and I have already replaced the battery once and now it's not working. This piece of equipment is not used daily so it should still have plenty of life left in it. Finis surely can you improve upon the quality of this product! Please make your Tempo Timer more durable.

    Swim Mom
    Gilbert, AZ

    Fit:

  • 1/1/2016 I had to return it

    2 Review stars By Rob

    I use the tempo trainer four times, checking it out. I ended upturning the trainer because I could not hear the beep. I have some high frequency hearing loss (too many hours in a B-52) and was using the trainer in an endless pool. The combination of the motor noise, breathing and hearing loss made it very difficult to hear the trainer. I adjusted the units position both on my swim goggles and under a swim cap and none of those options made much of a difference. I suspect it would have done the job I wanted but not being able to hear it was too much to over come.

    Rob
    Colorado Springs, co

    Fit:

  • 12/28/2013 Improves times

    5 Review stars By Bubbles

    I have been swimming for 10 years on a national swim team and my coach has always said my arms need to move faster and my strokes tend to be inconsistent and I tend to slow down and get sloppy on longer sets and is started using this and my times have greatly improved and the beeping is the perfect volume and noise I am always able to hear it.

    Bubbles
    Tampa, FL

    Fit:

  • 8/29/2016 Getting to the right pace!

    5 Review stars By Fernanda

    The Finis Tempo trainer keeps me in my pace, slowing me at the beginning and pushing a little my pace at the end. I have improved greatly!

    Fernanda
    The Woodlands

    Fit:

  • 9/21/2016 Reliability of Tempo Trainer?

    3 Review stars By Swim Dad

    Works GREAT as specified! Great for my age group swimmer.

    HOWEVER, this tempo trainer did not last one season! My kid didn't lose it but rather, it stopped working in less than 9 months of usage. Sadly, I only had to replace the battery once but now, I have 9 extra batteries for this plastic paper weight.

    CONGRATS to those who still have a functioning tempo trainer. Add me to the unhappy statistics receiving an UNRELIABLE product. Fortunately for my kid, her swim team provides tempo trainers, as necessary. I will only repurchase this product after a new version is made available.

    Swim Dad
    Pacfic Swimming

    Fit:

  • 9/14/2013 She loved it!

    5 Review stars By J. Torres

    My daughter uses it everyday in practice. She loves how clear it sounds underwater. Easy to use.

    J. Torres
    Angleton, TX

    Fit:

  • 11/27/2012 so glad I finally got one!

    5 Review stars By E

    this is really helping me keep a better pace

    E
    Tn

    Fit:

  • 1/13/2018 Great training tool.

    5 Review stars By Alida

    Perfect for open water or the one hour postal training .

    Alida
    Santa Cruz, CA

    Fit:

  • 1/12/2018 Absolute must!

    5 Review stars By Dadcoach

    This is by far the best tempo trainer out there! Bought another trainer and it did not do the things this little device can do! If you want a consistent pace, a competitive edge, and confidence in a race that your stroke rate is “on the money”, then this is the device you need!

    Dadcoach
    Baytown, Texas

    Fit:

  • 11/26/2012 A Metronome for the Pool

    5 Review stars By Jim

    I am enjoying this device for my training to maintain and adjust stroke rate. I've not had it long enough to rate longevity. It does what is advertised. The buttons are a bit difficult to use when the device is placed under a swim cap.

    Jim
    NH

    Fit:

  • 12/8/2018 Has really changed my stroke rate.

    5 Review stars By Mr Opus

    Since it is really the only one on the market, then it has to be the best. LOL Read about this item on line and thought I would try it. Got it for Christmas last year and put it in the drawer for about 3 months since I was happy with the way I was swimming. That didn't last long since by the time we moved to the outdoor pool for masters, I was getting lapped on our long sets and felt like I was turning over my arms so much during sprints that my stoke count for a 25m was about 50. Broke out the TT and took it to the pool for out next training swim and was pissed when I couldn't get it turned on. I figured I had a bad battery or a defective unit. Went home and replaced the battery and actually read the instructions...…. DUH, it works with the right buttons being pushed. Since then I have used my TT in just about all of my training sessions and feel that In controlling my stroke rate, I have developed a much more effective pull since I am no longer getting lapped. Highly recommend this product!!! One recommendation though..... If you swim without a swim cap, buy an extra clip from Finis for your TT. Because I am bald and wear it on my goggle strap, it takes a good amount of stress from dives and flip turn push offs. Mine broke after 8 months of use. Several friends have tried it on my recommendation and they are happy with it!

    Mr Opus
    Holly Springs, NC

    Fit:

  • 11/24/2018 The one piece of gear on a deserted island

    5 Review stars By SwimCoachDad

    If I was to be stranded on a deserted island with a bunch of swimmers that I needed to help improve, the one piece of equipment (aside from a stopwatch) would be a Tempo Trainer. Useful for teaching balanced stroke, even splitting, maintaining tempo into turns and transitioning turns to race pace without building. It is also useful for doing drills (like doing scales on the piano with a metronome), slowing down strokes, underwater kick tempo. I like that there are 3 modes on these now, that they float and that they are yellow. The originals didn’t allow batteries to be changed, they were light blue so easy to lose in the pool and they didn’t float so they have evolved into something very usable and useful. I do wish they were a bit more durable and the clip is pretty useless. They work better under a cap.

    SwimCoachDad
    Central NY

    Fit:

  • 12/8/2017 Alternate Use!

    5 Review stars By canuk

    We bought this for one of our special needs swimmers. He would forget to breathe on freestyle and we had to rescue him at the last meet! We turned the beep slower to remind him to breathe......works perfect.

    canuk
    Utah

    Fit:

  • 3/30/2017 Works great until you have to replace the battery

    1 Review stars By DKA

    This product works great until you need to replace the battery. I have owned two of these, and both would not work after I replaced the battery. I replaced the battery with the exact same type that I took out of the product. In both cases, the product would turn on after replacing the battery, but it did not function properly - one would not allow me to scroll up and down using the B and C buttons, and the other would not make any noise. This product is very overpriced if it can only be used for one battery life.

    DKA
    San Diego, CA

    Fit:

  • 8/30/2016 Tempo trainer.

    5 Review stars By Coach Jim

    2nd season using the tempo trainer. I'm finding many ways to use the beepers. Most of the time I get the swimmer to keep up with the beeps and decrease the time until failure. I have them record the tempo at failure and the next time they have a number the strive for. I use two Tempo trainers at the same intervial, one they wear and one so I can listen to the same cadence on deck and make sure they are on time. The distance swimmers set them to pace intervals and make sure to achieve the given set times. Very cost effective and another gimmick to change training with positive feedback from swimmers. They really get into the challenge I set for the training sets. I'm working on drills and distance per stroke/length with the tempo trainers.

    Coach Jim
    Chesterton indiana

    Fit:

  • 1/5/2016 Works well

    4 Review stars By AYD

    I bought it to work on my stroke efficiency; very helpful and easy to use. After about 15 minutes, though, I find I need to take it off - the beeping can become a little irritating ( but that's just me).

    AYD
    New York, NY

    Fit:

  • 11/9/2015 Yes and No

    1 Review stars By Jim

    The one that works is great. The one that doesn't is frustrating. I purchased a new battery that day after it was received. It worked for that first few minutes. Now I need to send it back and receive a new one. Hassle.

    Jim
    Erie, PA

    Fit:

  • 9/28/2015 Must use cap

    3 Review stars By dan

    Works fine but when attached to goggle strap it comes off while swimming. Must use swim cap to use this device,

    dan
    Michigan

    Fit:

  • 3/15/2020 Tempo Trainer Pro is for training

    4 Review stars By TriGuy

    I took an advanced swim technique class and we used this. It does work really well for cadence. I set it on the desired stroke cadence and just swim. I have not used the other modes yet. If you are a tri person it is allowed to be used on the swim per USAT rules.

    Tuck up under a swim cap works best. Easy to use. I have read other reviews where they stop working after a short time but have not had that issue myself.

    It does float in water. Battery appears to be a non-standard size so you may want to order a spare before you need it.

    TriGuy
    SE Iowa

    Fit:

Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz