skip to main content

Latest TYR Thresher Reviews

  • Top Reviewed
  • Latest Reviews
TYR Women's Thresher Open Back Tech Suit Swimsuit

TYR Women's Thresher Open Back Tech Suit Swimsuit

Product Rating Product Rating 9 customer reviews


rating star This is a tough product. I don’t worry about putting my fingers through it. Comp

By JHackett from The Villages, Fl on 3/31/2021

Fit: NA

This is a tough product. Comfortable to swim and feels like the right compression. Slick in the water! I’m 5’7”/135 pounds. Bought 34. Good fit. Sent 32 back - wasn’t interested in taking so long to get it on.
Found I had to play with the lining so it didn’t buckle.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Boys' Thresher Solid Racer Brief Swimsuit

TYR Boys' Thresher Solid Racer Brief Swimsuit

Product Rating Product Rating 1 customer reviews


rating star i like it

By Aiden from not saying lol on 3/10/2021

Fit: TRUE

my mom got this suit for me to wear at divisionals, im small so i got a size 20 and it fit fine at first but after around 10 wears, the waist loosened and it wasn't fitting my waist. im 12 btw


More Reviews on this item

TYR Women's Thresher Baja Open Back Tech Suit Swimsuit

TYR Women's Thresher Baja Open Back Tech Suit Swimsuit

Product Rating Product Rating 1 customer reviews


rating star SwimOutlet Customer Service Outstanding so is suit!

By leslie h. from TN on 3/3/2021

Fit: TRUE

Ordered this suit about 9 days in advance of my daughter's age group Championships meet. FedEx failed on their end of 2 day shipping and I contacted SwimOutlet who sent me another suit that arrived in about 20 hours from that phone call. Top notch service!!! My daughter tried it on and after reading the 12U approved tech suit reviews they suggested to size up on the TYR THRESHER. Even though most of the measurements for TYR had her at a 22 we did go with a 24. We have experience in getting tech suits on and we both agree that there is no way we could have gone smaller but neither of us were crying by the time this was on either!! She feels super compressed her core feels stabilized she says she is comfortable and likes the leg where is has the plastic band to keep the suit in place. We couldn't be happier and hope she enjoys swimming in it over the weekend!!


More Reviews on this item

TYR Men's Thresher Short Jammer Tech Suit Swimsuit

TYR Men's Thresher Short Jammer Tech Suit Swimsuit

Product Rating Product Rating 1 customer reviews


rating star Good Suit but NOT FINA Approved

By Heidi F. from Green River, WY on 2/24/2021

Fit: TRUE

The suit is good overall, my son liked them but we did notice it does not have the FINA approved stamp on the back. If you are using these for a competition you need to look elsewhere.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Women's Thresher Baja Open Back Tech Suit Swimsuit

TYR Women's Thresher Baja Open Back Tech Suit Swimsuit

Product Rating Product Rating 7 customer reviews


rating star Great beginner suit

By TJohnson from Iowa on 2/15/2021

Fit: TRUE

This is my daughter's first tech suit. She is 11, she is 5'2 and 100 lbs. We got the 26. Reminder... it's takes time (15ish minutes) to work the suit up and get it in place. I didn't think there was any way that we'd get it over her bottom/hips. She has worn it a few times, suit has kept its shape. Dries very quick. I did a lot of research before I bought this, I was worried by the reviews but can tell you that from our experience, this is a great suit.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Men's Thresher Baja Jammer Tech Suit Swimsuit

TYR Men's Thresher Baja Jammer Tech Suit Swimsuit

Product Rating Product Rating 2 customer reviews


rating star Good entry suit

By Maria from Kansas City on 2/15/2021

Fit: NA

Resembles more of an entry tech suit Probably would not buy a second time as primary tech suit but still satisfied as a backup.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Men's Thresher Baja Jammer Tech Suit Swimsuit

TYR Men's Thresher Baja Jammer Tech Suit Swimsuit

Product Rating Product Rating 2 customer reviews


rating star Great fit without being restrictive

By StaceyB from Carthage, NC on 2/15/2021

Fit: NA

Suit fit great - bought size 28 for my son who wears size 32 waist jeans - he was very pleased with the fit and feel. It was tight like he expected a tech suit to be but had enough movement that he felt comfortable and swam great


More Reviews on this item

TYR Men's Thresher Racer Brief Tech Suit Swimsuit

TYR Men's Thresher Racer Brief Tech Suit Swimsuit

Product Rating Product Rating 3 customer reviews


rating star Great suit

By Pete from NY on 8/3/2020

Fit: TRUE

follow TYR sizing charts using body measurements and fit will be perfect. It size 26 fits like comparable 28.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Men's Thresher Short Jammer Tech Suit Swimsuit

TYR Men's Thresher Short Jammer Tech Suit Swimsuit

Product Rating Product Rating 9 customer reviews


rating star It really does make a difference!

By Josh M from Ohio on 2/16/2020

Fit: TRUE

My 10 year old son wore this tech suit for the first time today. He had been so close to his Zone cuts, but hadn't been able to quite get over the hump. He just swam in a meet 7 days ago, but with this suit he dropped 0.64 seconds off his free and an amazing 1.77 seconds off his breast stroke (qualified for Zones in breast). I'm now a firm believer that the suit make a difference!


More Reviews on this item

TYR Women's Thresher Open Back Tech Suit Swimsuit

TYR Women's Thresher Open Back Tech Suit Swimsuit

Product Rating Product Rating 9 customer reviews


rating star Excellent product

By Courtney from Zanesville, OH on 2/15/2020

Fit: NA

Helped improve my daughter’s swim time significantly. Gave her a mental edge for her races as well.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Women's Thresher Baja Open Back Tech Suit Swimsuit

TYR Women's Thresher Baja Open Back Tech Suit Swimsuit

Product Rating Product Rating 7 customer reviews


rating star Its okay

By Eileen from Indiana on 2/7/2020

Fit: NA

The suit fit my daughter right and it seemed to shed water, at first. It stays wet forever so obviously it's not shedding the water like it should. Next we'll try a different brand.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Men's Thresher Short Jammer Tech Suit Swimsuit

TYR Men's Thresher Short Jammer Tech Suit Swimsuit

Product Rating Product Rating 9 customer reviews


rating star My First TYR Tech Suit

By Bob S from Long Island on 12/1/2019

Fit: NA

Great value, fit well and well made. Had to review TYR sizing chart several times though as you could easily order the wrong size if you don’t pay attention. I’d buy Again!


More Reviews on this item

TYR Men's Thresher Solid Racer Tech Suit Brief Swimsuit

TYR Men's Thresher Solid Racer Tech Suit Brief Swimsuit

Product Rating Product Rating 3 customer reviews


rating star Worth the price

By Patrick C from Austin, TX on 11/13/2019

Fit: NA

This product material is awesome, I use for long swim workouts and it makes you feel like you are gliding in the water. I will say the sizing is all off, I wear men’s size 30-32 and had to get size 36!!! Yes way off. So be aware of that but swim outlet return/exchange process is very good so ended up not being too big a deal.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Girls' Thresher Aerofit One Piece Swimsuit

TYR Girls' Thresher Aerofit One Piece Swimsuit

Product Rating Product Rating 1 customer reviews


rating star Helped my daughter dropped time at JO’s!

By Helena from Cerritos, CA on 7/31/2019

Fit: TRUE

Lightweight, great fit, great material.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Men's Thresher Solid Racer Tech Suit Brief Swimsuit

TYR Men's Thresher Solid Racer Tech Suit Brief Swimsuit

Product Rating Product Rating 3 customer reviews


rating star Great for regular workouts.

By ST23 from Albany, Ny on 7/9/2019

Fit: TRUE

Normally wear 30/32 but went down to 28 as indicated on the chart. Suit fits well.
Use it for morning workouts 3-5/week after 2 months the TYR logo started to peel off. After 4-5 months noticed fabric coating starting to wear. It has kept its shape and is good. Will buy again.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Men's Thresher Short Jammer Tech Suit Swimsuit

TYR Men's Thresher Short Jammer Tech Suit Swimsuit

Product Rating Product Rating 9 customer reviews


rating star Meets Expectations

By Dave from Ventura, CA on 3/13/2019

Fit: TOOSMALL

The TYR Thresher suit was everything I expected, a good quality product. The fit is a little on the small size but that was not a surprise because unfortunately I am between a 28 and 30 but they do not offer a size 29. Rather than risk a suit that is too loose, I chose to go with a tighter fit. I wish TYR did offer more size options but I do like their products.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Men's Thresher Short Jammer Tech Suit Swimsuit

TYR Men's Thresher Short Jammer Tech Suit Swimsuit

Product Rating Product Rating 9 customer reviews


rating star Great Suit!

By Suzi from Orlando, FL on 3/1/2019

Fit: TRUE

Great suit, great fit for competition! Only thing is after day one the TYR emblem on the front started peeling off. My son measures at a 30 and the 26 was the perfect size for this type of suit.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Women's Thresher Open Back Tech Suit Swimsuit

TYR Women's Thresher Open Back Tech Suit Swimsuit

Product Rating Product Rating 9 customer reviews


rating star I love it!

By Ellie from I.e. San Francisco, CA on 2/3/2019

Fit: TRUE

You should definitely look at the sizing chart and if your in the middle of 2 sizes ( like I was inbetweeen a 20 and 22) go with the bigger one.it is a little hard to get on but if you watch a tutorial then you will be okay. make sure you take your time putting it on because you don’t want it to rip. as for in the water it does it’s job and it will last a long time as long as you: dry it after every use, don’t put it through the washer or dryer, wash it with a little bit of cold water to get the chlorine out so it doesn’t stretch.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Women's Thresher Open Back Tech Suit Swimsuit

TYR Women's Thresher Open Back Tech Suit Swimsuit

Product Rating Product Rating 9 customer reviews


rating star Great suit for the price

By jaz1894 from Long Valle, NJ on 1/28/2019

Fit: TRUE

Suit fit perfect and size was accurate. Can not beat for the price.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Women's Thresher Baja Open Back Tech Suit Swimsuit

TYR Women's Thresher Baja Open Back Tech Suit Swimsuit

Product Rating Product Rating 7 customer reviews


rating star This is a great tech suit for the price.

By Swim mom from Macomb, MI on 11/12/2018

Fit: TRUE

My daughter has worn it during two competition meets and it has kept it's shape.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Men's Thresher Short Jammer Tech Suit Swimsuit

TYR Men's Thresher Short Jammer Tech Suit Swimsuit

Product Rating Product Rating 9 customer reviews


rating star Size selection

By John from Breckenridge on 9/1/2018

Fit: TRUE

Select based on normal size. ‘Recommended size’ too small.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Women's Thresher Baja Open Back Tech Suit Swimsuit

TYR Women's Thresher Baja Open Back Tech Suit Swimsuit

Product Rating Product Rating 7 customer reviews


rating star Excellent Tech Suit

By nicoles from Santa Barbara on 8/11/2018

Fit: TRUE

I bought this for my 11 year old daughter and she loved it. Looks great, feels great, tight but not too tight and she dropped at lot of time at JO's. She also wore this to another Championship meet and dropped at lot of time in finals when she wore the suit. Great suit. Thank you!


More Reviews on this item

TYR Women's Thresher Open Back Tech Suit Swimsuit

TYR Women's Thresher Open Back Tech Suit Swimsuit

Product Rating Product Rating 9 customer reviews


rating star Great suit!

By Kara M. from Wichita, KS on 8/7/2018

Fit: TRUE

Purchased for my daughter. It was her first kneeskin. Tight like expected. It took about 15 minutes the first time to put it on. Ordered size based on size chart. She loved how it felt and had best times!


More Reviews on this item

TYR Women's Thresher Open Back Tech Suit Swimsuit

TYR Women's Thresher Open Back Tech Suit Swimsuit

Product Rating Product Rating 9 customer reviews


rating star Cut 5 Seconds Off My Time!

By Andi from Georgia on 6/8/2018

Fit: TRUE

This is a great, affordable tech suit. I wear a 36 or 38 in TYR swimsuits and I bought a size 34. That size was small enough to have compression but large enough to get into without too much trouble. I agree with the other reviewer who said that it gets easier to put on as you wear it more. Watch the TYR video for tips on how to put it on.

The first time I wore this in the pool to test it out, it dropped my paces by 5 seconds per 100 yards! That was a nice surprise. It also dries super fast.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Men's Thresher Short Jammer Tech Suit Swimsuit

TYR Men's Thresher Short Jammer Tech Suit Swimsuit

Product Rating Product Rating 9 customer reviews


rating star LOW cut

By Bradley E. from MATTHEWS, NC on 4/2/2018

Fit: TRUE

Ordered two different tech suits for my son. This one was actually the smaller size of the two, but was too loose in the legs, but way to low cut in the front (indecently low). He also got an Arena in a 22 because they didn’t have the 20 available and it fits perfectly.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Women's Thresher Baja Open Back Tech Suit Swimsuit

TYR Women's Thresher Baja Open Back Tech Suit Swimsuit

Product Rating Product Rating 7 customer reviews


rating star Mixed Feelings

By KAS5007 from Oklahoma City, OK on 2/17/2018

Fit: TRUE

I bought this tech suit for my high school state swim meet, it’s tight but it lost its tightness after one wear which usually doesn’t happen to tech suits until the 4th of 5th. The suit doesn’t really feel like it repels water that much. I love that the back is higher up and not as low as previous tech suits I have owned. It looks good on but as soon as I got it out of the bag it already had some loose strings. Didn’t have time to return it so I wore it anyway but I thought the quality would’ve been better. I ordered the red and it came in looking a lot more pink. Not unhappy about that though. Overall it’s not a horrible suit. But the loose strings are definitely an issue.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Women's Thresher Open Back Tech Suit Swimsuit

TYR Women's Thresher Open Back Tech Suit Swimsuit

Product Rating Product Rating 9 customer reviews


rating star Good suit for the price

By Jack from Plainfield Indiana on 2/16/2018

Fit: TRUE

Great fit and compression and performed well in the pool. Good value for the price


More Reviews on this item

TYR Women's Thresher Baja Open Back Tech Suit Swimsuit

TYR Women's Thresher Baja Open Back Tech Suit Swimsuit

Product Rating Product Rating 7 customer reviews


rating star Nice tech suit

By Tara from Colorado on 2/2/2018

Fit: TRUE

“Black” is really a dark heather grey. Nice looking. Definitely not “black” though.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Men's Thresher Short Jammer Tech Suit Swimsuit

TYR Men's Thresher Short Jammer Tech Suit Swimsuit

Product Rating Product Rating 9 customer reviews


rating star Great performance suit

By Alex from NJ on 12/4/2017

Fit: TOOBIG

This was the first time I’ve purchased a techsuit. I’m using it for competitive meets, such as county or state tournaments. There’s a clear difference in speed when you’re racing with it, and the material whicks away water for a cleaner movement. As a sprinter, I know that every tenth of a second is drastic, so this definitely makes me perform at my best. I’d recommend purchasing it a size lower than your normal size, as I had to return mine at first because it was too loose for competition.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Women's Thresher Open Back Tech Suit Swimsuit

TYR Women's Thresher Open Back Tech Suit Swimsuit

Product Rating Product Rating 9 customer reviews


rating star Feels small

By Cynthia from Houston on 5/24/2017

Fit: TOOSMALL

It comes small i wear 34 practice and order 32 doeEs not fit


More Reviews on this item

TYR Women's Thresher Open Back Tech Suit Swimsuit

TYR Women's Thresher Open Back Tech Suit Swimsuit

Product Rating Product Rating 9 customer reviews


rating star Great suit for the price

By Ken from Lockwood, MT on 3/30/2017

Fit: TRUE

Recently bought this suit for my youngest daughter as here other tech suit was wore out. The suit for the most part is true to size because this suit gives great compression. At first the suit is a bit difficult to get on, but my daughter put it on for about three days straight and then could get it on by herself. She wore the suit at a recent meet and it sheens water as the noted in the tech suit review. It dries fast. During the meet my daughter was able to perform all strokes without issue in the suit. She said she really likes and cannot wait for the next meet to wear it. The suit also look really good on.


More Reviews on this item