skip to main content

Latest Tempo Trainers Reviews

  • Top Reviewed
  • Latest Reviews
FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Great Training Aid!

By martinmick from Huntington Beach, CA on 9/25/2020

Fit: NA

This little guy is great! Helps you stay focused on your stroke rate. If you're an open water swimmer like I am, this helps keep you on pace. Also, it seems to alleviate some of the anxiety of swimming in the ocean.

It has 3 modes, but I just use the first one. It will beep like a metronome at a pace that you set. You will learn how to use it in about a minute. Oh, and it's super easy to stick under your cap and will stay put even in big waves.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Tempo Trainer Pro is for training

By TriGuy from SE Iowa on 3/15/2020

Fit: NA

I took an advanced swim technique class and we used this. It does work really well for cadence. I set it on the desired stroke cadence and just swim. I have not used the other modes yet. If you are a tri person it is allowed to be used on the swim per USAT rules.

Tuck up under a swim cap works best. Easy to use. I have read other reviews where they stop working after a short time but have not had that issue myself.

It does float in water. Battery appears to be a non-standard size so you may want to order a spare before you need it.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Good to Go!

By CLC from Pittsburgh, PA on 1/25/2020

Fit: NA

First tempo trainer for me. No problem learning functions. Oh, it does in fact float. Learned after it escaped from under my swim cap.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star easy to use and really helps with Tempo training

By biomed_j from knightstown, in on 12/20/2019

Fit: NA

easy to use and really helps with Tempo training


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Nope... too thick-headed

By Woof from Vermont USA on 11/25/2019

Fit: NA

I understand how it’s supposed to work, and can at times get it to work. But it is very fiddle and I can’t get it to an optimal location to wrk consistently. Honestly, just does not work for me. Expensive experiment. Went to waterproof iPod with beep track loop. Works fine. Have multiple cadences and I never have an issue hearing it.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Works great

By k.w. from myrtle beach, sc on 9/9/2019

Fit: NA

This product works well to help your cadence


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Works well

By C from Portland on 9/3/2019

Fit: NA

Easy to use, works well. Didn’t realize how far off a steady pace I could get. Keeps me from hurrying or over gliding.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Has really changed my stroke rate.

By Mr Opus from Holly Springs, NC on 12/8/2018

Since it is really the only one on the market, then it has to be the best. LOL Read about this item on line and thought I would try it. Got it for Christmas last year and put it in the drawer for about 3 months since I was happy with the way I was swimming. That didn't last long since by the time we moved to the outdoor pool for masters, I was getting lapped on our long sets and felt like I was turning over my arms so much during sprints that my stoke count for a 25m was about 50. Broke out the TT and took it to the pool for out next training swim and was pissed when I couldn't get it turned on. I figured I had a bad battery or a defective unit. Went home and replaced the battery and actually read the instructions...…. DUH, it works with the right buttons being pushed. Since then I have used my TT in just about all of my training sessions and feel that In controlling my stroke rate, I have developed a much more effective pull since I am no longer getting lapped. Highly recommend this product!!! One recommendation though..... If you swim without a swim cap, buy an extra clip from Finis for your TT. Because I am bald and wear it on my goggle strap, it takes a good amount of stress from dives and flip turn push offs. Mine broke after 8 months of use. Several friends have tried it on my recommendation and they are happy with it!


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star The one piece of gear on a deserted island

By SwimCoachDad from Central NY on 11/24/2018

If I was to be stranded on a deserted island with a bunch of swimmers that I needed to help improve, the one piece of equipment (aside from a stopwatch) would be a Tempo Trainer. Useful for teaching balanced stroke, even splitting, maintaining tempo into turns and transitioning turns to race pace without building. It is also useful for doing drills (like doing scales on the piano with a metronome), slowing down strokes, underwater kick tempo. I like that there are 3 modes on these now, that they float and that they are yellow. The originals didn’t allow batteries to be changed, they were light blue so easy to lose in the pool and they didn’t float so they have evolved into something very usable and useful. I do wish they were a bit more durable and the clip is pretty useless. They work better under a cap.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Tempo trainer review

By MK from Worcester MA on 11/23/2018

It does exactly what I want it to do, beeps at a given interval.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Great training tool

By Cindy from St Johnsbury, Vt on 8/22/2018

Wow, love this. Simple to use, and makes you realize how fast or slow your cadence is. I take off the clip and tuck it in my cap behind my ear.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Neat little device

By Diggsly from New Jersey on 7/15/2018

I used this for stroke count optimization in open water ocean swimming. Really helpful to set a pace that I can hold for the mile. I am now working to increase the pace (and my speed). I also use it for 200 - 400 sets in the pool -- setting it on my 25 pace. Really reinforcing to get that beep on each turn. Already took 20 seconds off my 200 time.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Great training tool.

By Alida from Santa Cruz, CA on 1/13/2018

Perfect for open water or the one hour postal training .


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Absolute must!

By Dadcoach from Baytown, Texas on 1/12/2018

This is by far the best tempo trainer out there! Bought another trainer and it did not do the things this little device can do! If you want a consistent pace, a competitive edge, and confidence in a race that your stroke rate is “on the money”, then this is the device you need!


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Alternate Use!

By canuk from Utah on 12/8/2017

We bought this for one of our special needs swimmers. He would forget to breathe on freestyle and we had to rescue him at the last meet! We turned the beep slower to remind him to breathe......works perfect.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Finis Tempo Trainer Pro

By Peter from Los Angeles, CA on 6/5/2017

Great product


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Metronome for the water

By Angellorv from Northern Virginia on 3/5/2017

The key to swiming is proper body mechanics. This tool is great for slowing your stroke rate and working on mechanics. It can also help you identify your most eficient stroke rate. Check out yhe link for an overview:

http://www.swimsmooth.com/finis-tempo-trainer-pro.html


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Great for Accountablity

By kittymom from Bonney Lake on 11/22/2016

I really love using this to pace out my swims. I set it on how many seconds I need to hit the wall on a 25. It keeps me on track and on target. Really enjoy this!


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Great Swim Tool!

By heidi from Lake Tapps, WA on 10/24/2016

I really enjoy using this tool to help me with my swim pacing. At first it was a little difficult to set up with the directions but once you get the hang of it I love it. Great for training.


More Reviews on this item

Finis Tempo Trainer Pro - Yellow

Finis Tempo Trainer Pro - Yellow

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Reliability of Tempo Trainer?

By Swim Dad from Pacfic Swimming on 9/21/2016

Works GREAT as specified! Great for my age group swimmer.

HOWEVER, this tempo trainer did not last one season! My kid didn''t lose it but rather, it stopped working in less than 9 months of usage. Sadly, I only had to replace the battery once but now, I have 9 extra batteries for this plastic paper weight.

CONGRATS to those who still have a functioning tempo trainer. Add me to the unhappy statistics receiving an UNRELIABLE product. Fortunately for my kid, her swim team provides tempo trainers, as necessary. I will only repurchase this product after a new version is made available.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Tempo trainer.

By Coach Jim from Chesterton indiana on 8/30/2016

2nd season using the tempo trainer. I'm finding many ways to use the beepers. Most of the time I get the swimmer to keep up with the beeps and decrease the time until failure. I have them record the tempo at failure and the next time they have a number the strive for. I use two Tempo trainers at the same intervial, one they wear and one so I can listen to the same cadence on deck and make sure they are on time. The distance swimmers set them to pace intervals and make sure to achieve the given set times. Very cost effective and another gimmick to change training with positive feedback from swimmers. They really get into the challenge I set for the training sets. I'm working on drills and distance per stroke/length with the tempo trainers.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Getting to the right pace!

By Fernanda from The Woodlands on 8/29/2016

The Finis Tempo trainer keeps me in my pace, slowing me at the beginning and pushing a little my pace at the end. I have improved greatly!


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Awesome training tool

By David A. from Baytown, Texas on 1/25/2016

The Tempo Trainer Pro is essential for serious competitive swimmers. The ability to set a pace, hear the cadence, and then let the brain and body develop the muscle memory it needs to maintain that pace when competing makes this a phenomenal tool. I have trained swimmers for only a few weeks with the Tempo Trainer Pro and am already seeing an improvement in times without sacrificing technique. A must for all competitive swimmers; in the pool or on the Triathalon course!


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Works well

By AYD from New York, NY on 1/5/2016

I bought it to work on my stroke efficiency; very helpful and easy to use. After about 15 minutes, though, I find I need to take it off - the beeping can become a little irritating ( but that's just me).


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Finis please improve the quality of this product!

By Swim Mom from Gilbert, AZ on 12/22/2015

My daughter loves her tempo timer when it's working. I bought one in May of 2015 from SwimOutlet and I have already replaced the battery once and now it's not working. This piece of equipment is not used daily so it should still have plenty of life left in it. Finis surely can you improve upon the quality of this product! Please make your Tempo Timer more durable.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Works perfectly!

By Sheila from SLC, UT on 12/1/2015

Our coaches had me order these for our kids. Some of them struggle with achieving a fast tempo. Our coaches put this on them for a few laps and then take it off and the difference in their stroke is amazing!


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Great swim gadget!

By Dana from Greenville SC on 11/6/2015

Easy to use, and very effective tempo trainer. I'm swimming faster in just a week!


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Peel the Label

By Steve Gallagher from San Francisco CA on 10/14/2015

The Tempo Timer does exactly what it's supposed to do and the operating instructions are clear. Only the set up instructions don't tell you to peel the clear 1:03 label off the display. I couldn't read the timer because the plastic was affixed (and I didn't see it was a peel off). Maybe it's my fault but ..... nah, it's Finis fault!


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Must use cap

By dan from Michigan on 9/28/2015

Works fine but when attached to goggle strap it comes off while swimming. Must use swim cap to use this device,


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Great Training Tool

By Shelfish from Florida on 9/21/2015

This is great training tool, to get swimmer to feel their pace and to speed their tempo up,if needed.


More Reviews on this item

Finis Tempo Trainer Pro - Yellow

Finis Tempo Trainer Pro - Yellow

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Great training tool

By rbrenton from Houston, TX on 9/10/2015

Great training tool, fits right under the cap for tempo training. Not exactly intuitive, but a quick read of instructions and it's easy to set and adjust. Well sized to make it easy to use the buttons without making either too big to be convenient or too small to be usable with adult fingers. The beep is loud enough without being obnoxious.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Like but, battery was DOA

By Jdawg from Lancaster, NH on 8/1/2015

Replaced the battery cause it was dead when it arrived.
A bit complex but once I study this puppy sure to make gains, its already improving my swim fitness and times.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star great product

By david from franklin, louisiana on 5/14/2015

great product


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star For a faster fly

By Angela from Tipton, IA on 5/10/2015

My daughter's coach used this to get her fly cycle down. The next season our swim family was very impressed, but not as much as we were with her time drops and her feelings of accomplishment!


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star perfect

By the swimmer from New York city on 1/24/2015

Helps with keeping a certain amount of time in the pool and it also helps minimize or maximize stroke rate.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Tempo Trainer Pro

By Jay Frances from Annapolis, MD on 1/23/2015

Since I swim by myself 99% of the time, I needed something to push me. This yellow beeper has picked up my game in one month. I train hard all the time but this yellow beeper has helped me pick up my stroke speed. It works. My wife always thinks the gadgets find me. This is one gadget that works since I swim early in the morning without the training partner. I'm finding that I can't swim without it. You can adjust the tempo with incremental adjustments depending on your workout and energy level. I put it inside my cap. It would be nice if I could make the adjustment without stopping and taking it out of my cap. Minor detail.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Lap counter

By Maria from Staten Island, NY on 1/14/2015

My daughter needed this it for swim practice. The direction were very hard to follow. Once her swim coach showed her how to use it she has had no problems. It does exactly what you need it to do.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Finis tempo trainer

By Jay from Tennessee on 1/10/2015

Works well for swimming. Must use swim
Cap though to keep in place.


More Reviews on this item

Finis Tempo Trainer Pro - Yellow

Finis Tempo Trainer Pro - Yellow

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star works...but loud ticking is annoying

By swimmom from Randolph, NJ on 10/28/2014

My daughter describes this as sounding like a time bomb inside her cap, but she does admit it helps her pace better and improve her stoke efficiency during workouts. (Personally, I think it's a bit overpriced for what it is.)


More Reviews on this item

Finis Tempo Trainer Pro - Yellow

Finis Tempo Trainer Pro - Yellow

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Easy to use

By John McClure from West Hartford, CT on 10/23/2014

Great product, easy to use and useful for all strokes. Love that it floats and that the battery is replaceable.


More Reviews on this item

Finis Tempo Trainer Pro - Yellow

Finis Tempo Trainer Pro - Yellow

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star I Love this little Metronome

By Jim from Dover, NH on 10/22/2014

Makes you aware and allows you to control your stroke rate. Highly recommended for serious training.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Keeps you on task!

By Deborah L. from Thibodaux, LA on 10/4/2014

I don't actually have any experience with competitor's products... This is the brand everyone at my pool uses and the coaches recommended this brand to me. It works as advertized, and is very easy to use. I like that I can turn it off and on without removing it from my swim cap, because the buttons can be felt through the silicone cap. I have only used it for a week, but so far I love what it is doing for my stroke!


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Works great

By vicky from New Jersey on 9/29/2014

I needed this for training. Works great although I've only had it for a week. I wear it under my swim cap.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Tempo Up!

By super_richie22 from Santa Rosa Ca on 9/20/2014

I have used this before, and I finaly got one! Workout ideas are endless! I swim alone alot and so this makes it like I am racing someone, its hard to beat the clock but at least you can see how close you can get! And its helping me pick up my tempo in breast and fly!


More Reviews on this item

Finis Tempo Trainer Pro - Yellow

Finis Tempo Trainer Pro - Yellow

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Does the job

By SwimChick from Middletown, DE on 8/1/2014

Product is as described. I do not get much use of mine, though because it turned into a novelty pretty quickly. And, at the price (assuming it's not on sale) it's quite expensive. That said, it does work well.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Worth using

By Jan from Boulder, CO on 7/31/2014

It is a great help for knowing where I am and pushing myself to swim faster. But, it gets hard to hear in the water. Open water especially. That is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Works fine, stays on goggles strap with a slight adjustment.

By Dean Y from Fremont, CA on 7/14/2014

After having the TTP drop off my goggles strap a couple of times, I fixed the issue using a rubber band:

1. With the TTP in the holder, slide a rubber band under the clip.
2. Slide your goggles strap under the clip next to the rubber band.
3. Double the rubber band and place the new loop under the clip.

The goggles strap will be sandwiched between the rubber band loops and will not move. Problem solved!

I've used my TTP for a few weeks with no battery problems so far. While I sometimes use mode 3 for sprint sets, most of the time I use mode 2. I can think of one improvement that could be made for mode 2: It would be great if the TTP had the ability to make two different tones and would emit binary tone sequences to count laps for you rather than just emitting 3 monotone beeps on every lap. Right now, mode 2 is not much better than using the pace clock.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star GREAT Training Aid

By HSC Swim Mom from Honolulu, HI on 6/21/2014

The Tempo Trainer is great in helping swimmers keep with the strokes the Coach is asking them to maintain at practice.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Great for stroke rate improvement!

By SS from Wisconsin on 6/14/2014

I had a very slow stroke rate, but by consistently using the Finis TT, I have been able to improve it significantly which has helped my overall times.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

Product Rating Product Rating 92 customer reviews


rating star Very good product!

By Michelle from Conneaut Lake, Pa on 5/2/2014

I did not realize in the picture shown that the clip was separate and you were not supposed to clip it to your goggles when swimming but actually put it up in your cap...i was somewhat leary but i did take it out of the clip, put it in my cap and i could hear it just fine and it stayed in place and i even could pull it out to change the tempo and put it back in with ease!!!


More Reviews on this item