skip to main content

Latest Surf Hoods & Caps Reviews

  • Top Reviewed
  • Latest Reviews
Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star Need a Medium Size

By Bradford L. from SAN DIEGO, CA on 11/28/2020

Fit: TOOBIG

It works just as I wanted - keeps my head much warmer than a silicon cap. My only complaint is that it was only available in small and large. What I really needed was a medium. I would also have preferred a high-visibility color over blue.


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star Good product, wrong color

By morton from NY on 11/12/2020

Fit: NA

I ordered blue but they sent me black. Not spending another $5 shipping to return it.


More Reviews on this item

O'Neill Thinskins 1.5 MM Neoprene Hood

O'Neill Thinskins 1.5 MM Neoprene Hood

Product Rating Product Rating 5 customer reviews


rating star Great hood for those cold fall swims

By Stretch from Vermont on 9/23/2020

Fit: NA

This was a perfect addition to stretch the open water season. Kept me warmer than double swim caps but did not feel bulky at all. I was worried about the chinstrap getting in my way, but never once noticed it when swimming.


More Reviews on this item

Rip Curl E-Bomb 2mm Neoprene Hood

Rip Curl E-Bomb 2mm Neoprene Hood

Product Rating Product Rating 4 customer reviews


rating star Hoodie

By Surfer from NY on 4/14/2020

Fit: TRUE

The hoodie has a little shorter neck than it appears in photo but is good quality and comfortable


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star Warm thy head

By michael from California on 4/10/2020

Fit: TRUE

Keeps your head warm, great for diving or just swimming, it's NOT waterproof if you don't want your hair WET..........if you want dry hair, put a swim cap underneath it.


More Reviews on this item

O'Neill Thinskins 1.5 MM Neoprene Hood

O'Neill Thinskins 1.5 MM Neoprene Hood

Product Rating Product Rating 5 customer reviews


rating star Perfect for intended use

By Mic from Az on 2/20/2020

Fit: NA

This product works well - easy to put on - holds silicone earplugs in place - keeps head warm. Ordered the extra large to accommodate head and long thick hair - everything tucks in easily with nice snug fit. If you have difficulty with a chin strap this might not be the hood for you but is actually quite comfortable and not noticeable when swimming. Not meant to keep head dry - does keep head warm in very cold water.


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star Just enough warmth

By Rich from Holiday, Florida on 2/9/2020

Fit: TRUE

Easy to use, easy to pack, just enough warmth. Not like conventional hood being a pain to put on and take off. The ease of use is a big bonus along with excellent thermal properties.


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star nice and thick but....

By norma from San Jose on 1/24/2020

Fit: TRUE

First, I use this for head above water in my water aerobics. So I am happy that it is relatively loose. The odd thing about it is the extra long velcro piece. I suspect it is for rowdy water polo play, which would make sense. But for what I am using it for it just makes it a little odd to put on. But it works for the purpose I bought it - to keep my head warm as it is above water and often in the cold wind.


More Reviews on this item

Rip Curl E-Bomb 2mm Neoprene Hood

Rip Curl E-Bomb 2mm Neoprene Hood

Product Rating Product Rating 4 customer reviews


rating star need to order a size larger

By norma from San Jose on 1/24/2020

Fit: TOOSMALL

I measured the way the size chart said to but found this to be a bit tight. That having been said, I am NOT using it likely the way it was designed. I use it completely above water for outdoor water aerobics. I do know that neoprene seems to get larger once in the water.....so it might be that the size chart is right and I am just using it in a way that it was not designed for. But....it does keep me warm!


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star WORKS GREAT,

By Dave from Long Beach CA on 1/20/2020

Fit: TRUE

WORK GREAT, KEEPS THE HEAD WARM AND THE SUN OFF THE SCALP.


More Reviews on this item

Rip Curl E-Bomb 2mm Neoprene Hood

Rip Curl E-Bomb 2mm Neoprene Hood

Product Rating Product Rating 4 customer reviews


rating star I'm happy with it, fits good

By Dean MacKenzie from Pace Fl. on 10/10/2019

Fit: TRUE

good fit, works great


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star For Kids

By Sarah S. from Prescott, AZ on 1/2/2019

Fit: TRUE

We bought this for our 9 year old and he said it kept his head warm and mostly dry.


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star Nice cap

By Fairgood from Sacramento, ca on 6/13/2018

Fit: TRUE

Made well, fits nice


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star Runs small

By Andi from Maine on 1/27/2018

Fit: TOOSMALL

Looks like a quality product, but it runs small. I will have to exchange it for a larger size.


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie - Black - Large

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie - Black - Large

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star Hoods - Thickness does matter.

By JV from Western Mass. on 4/8/2017

Fit: TRUE

Since the sizing of a hood is simple enough, how it fits is important. Being a scuba diver, I have found that even dive gear hoods, the thicker they get , the more snug they are, as they are geared towards keeping the heat loss of your head down than comfort.
You will also find that the thicker the material, the more impeded your hearing gets, due to the material obstructing your ears.
However, the fit was good, if thickness is an issue or you are more of a regular swimmer, the use of a thin lycra or standard swimming cap may be for you.
This product is better in the ocean, as it is thicker and offers better heat loss protection.


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star Very warm

By Dolphingirl from Olympia, WA on 2/25/2017

Fit: NA

Pros: 1) Well made; 2) extremely warm; 3) good price. Cons: The chin strap rubs and itches a bit, but I don't know how the cap would stay on otherwise unless it was made with elastic edging that will not last.

Re sizing: I found the sizing chart confusing (it only lists face measurements, not head measurements), so I contacted BodyGlove. The circumference of my head is 22" and they suggested I order a medium. If you have a lot of hair, I'd definitely factor that in when ordering.


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star Comfortable and warm

By TriGuy from Grand junction, CO on 12/11/2016

Fit: TOOBIG

I used the fitting guide but mine feels a bit large for racing. Probably just fine for diving or kite sailing.
Decent quality, comfortable, and warm.
What else is there to say?


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star Good Value and Well Made

By SandySea from Hampton VA on 6/5/2016

Fit: TRUE

We dive down in Honduras with a group of friends every year and its hard to tell Who's Who under water so this was perfect for my wife and I. Easy for her to find me and me finding her....so for the value, this is a great item and well made.


More Reviews on this item

O'Neill Thinskins 1.5 MM Neoprene Hood

O'Neill Thinskins 1.5 MM Neoprene Hood

Product Rating Product Rating 5 customer reviews


rating star Great

By Drew from Carlisle, ma on 12/14/2015

Fit: TRUE

Use this for swimming, but also surfing on cool days. It stays on, is compact and comfy. No straps to fuss with. This makes a HUGE difference when swimming in cold water, your head stays warm and you stay warm! Surfing hoods are too bulky for swimming. Oneil gear is always the highest quality.


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star Easy to spot yellow beanie

By Red Rock Diver from St. George, Utah on 12/11/2015

Fit: TRUE

We have had our yellow beanies for 10 years and the drivers of the many dive boats we have been on can always spot us no matter how bad the weather or high the waves are. We could not get replacements for a few years and are glad the yellow color is back. We consider them such a safety feature we pack them in our carry-on bag so as not to have them lost. Finally after many years the original ones have faded some, so happy to have our new ones.


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star Great item!

By David M. from San Diego, CA on 12/11/2015

Fit: TRUE

Great product. Son used it for a triathlon in a cold lake. Good quality and true fit. Great for the little ones. My son is almost 7 years old. Seems to be of good quality. Well worth the price.


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star Surf cap

By Kat from Nomadic on 12/5/2015

Fit: TRUE

I needed something to cover my head while surfing because my ears and scalp get sunburned from exposure. I also didn't want a hood that limits what I can wear or a cap that pulled at my hair or skin when putting it on. This fits the bill. I can wear it with whatever I want, whenever I want, and the adjustable chin strap means it's not too tight or too loose. You can still hear everything through the neoprene, and it's sturdy.


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star Great Product

By Sam from Penngrove, CA on 11/28/2015

Fit: TRUE

Great fit. Does exactly what it is supposed to do. Keeps head and neck warm. Excellent Periodic.


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Body Glove 3MM Super Neoprene Beanie

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star That and a bathing suit

By ProfessoRex from La Jolla Cove,CA on 11/15/2015

Fit: TRUE

Minimum garb for open water swimmers. Fits snug protects the ears and makes you visible if you choose yellow.


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star Head Glove

By JohnnyBoy from Queens, NY on 9/9/2015

Fit: TRUE

The Body Glove arrived as advertised. It fits snugly and feels just right. The material is flexible and substantial and the construction excellent. I'm looking forward to using it over a long period of time.


More Reviews on this item

O'Neill Thinskins 1.5 MM Hood

O'Neill Thinskins 1.5 MM Hood

Product Rating Product Rating 5 customer reviews


rating star thinskins 1.5 mm hoodie

By tactical tenticles grom from bishop,california on 8/9/2015

Fit: TRUE

works well in the pool as well as bodyboarding keeping my noogles warm away from the wind worth every penny bought essentials thats needed for comfort


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star Its great except its bit to big and I doubt I will grow in to it,,,,,

By Roger Kert from 4548 se Pomnpano terr,,,Stuart. Fl on 8/3/2015

Fit: TOOBIG

To big ,,,sadly ,,,but well made,,


More Reviews on this item

O'Neill Thinskins 1.5 MM Hood

O'Neill Thinskins 1.5 MM Hood

Product Rating Product Rating 5 customer reviews


rating star comfortable and warm

By whitefishswimmer from Whitefish, MT on 6/7/2015

Fit: TRUE

This is a great hood. I tried others that were too tight. This one is just tight enough to be warm but I don't feel constricted. I do wear a cap or two underneath for really cold days. I have worn this mostly in 55 degree water.


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star Good for cold water swim

By Tracy from Cape Cod, MA on 5/18/2015

Fit: TRUE

My head has about a 22 inch diameter, and the medium fit well. Great for cold water swims.


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star Great protection

By Eurospec from Washington, DC Metro Area on 5/18/2015

Fit: TRUE

Fits perfectly
Kept my wife's head warm!
Comfortable and high visibility in choppy waters (the yellow beanie)


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star A good cap to help keep ear plugs in...and keeps head warm

By Jim from Ferndale MI on 2/13/2015

Fit: TRUE

a good sturdy cap


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star Great Beanie

By shar from jacksonville, fl on 1/21/2015

Fit: TRUE

Only wish it came in other colors. Kept my head super warm.


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star Great product just what I needed

By JAW from San Gabriel Vally , CA on 1/7/2015

Fit: TRUE

Love the fact that that the strap is adjustable


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star so far, so good...comfortable and warm

By Dave from Chandler, AZ on 11/25/2014

Fit: TRUE

This cap has worked out well so far. Nice to have a warm head when swimming in the Arizona lakes in early winter.


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star excellent 5 star *****

By swimmingfool from Pacific NW on 10/1/2014

Fit: TRUE

excellent 5 star ***** for my purposes. I use this as top layer over cap, sometimes over a thin hooded vest. I swim year round open ocean and lakes in the Pacific NW. Layers are best for me.


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star keeps my head warm and provides great visibility in cold open swimming

By mike from long island ny on 6/8/2014

Fit: TRUE

fits right comfortable and yellow provides great visibility


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star Works for Surfing

By llestell from San Francisco, CA on 6/6/2014

Fit: TRUE

I bought this beanie as an alternative to my one-piece hood/rashguard. (It's a pain to get on/off and caused my suit to flush.) Pros: Keeps my head warm and my hair out of my face, and doesn't cause any flushing. Cons: Chin strap could be more comfortable, and the velcro placement right over the left ear makes putting it on and taking it off really loud.


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star Nice Fit...

By Damian from Washington, DC on 5/12/2014

Fit: TRUE

The Beanie really helps to keep the water out of my ears!


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie - Royal - Large

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie - Royal - Large

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star Great buy

By Douglas G. from GOLETA, CA on 3/7/2014

Fit: TRUE

Fits my needs perfectly. Good size, warm, stays on.


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie - Royal - Medium

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie - Royal - Medium

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star Sweet

By Niklas A. from Santa Cruz, CA on 11/29/2013

Fit: TRUE

Keeps my head nice and warm here in Santa Cruz. Bought a second one for my wife.


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star World''s Toughest Mudder gear

By Tough Mudder from Upstate NY on 11/21/2013

Fit: TOOBIG

Excellent head cover. Used at 2013 World's Toughest Mudder. Able to flop up sides and tag together when too hot and snug up under chin when cold. Velcro strap is hard to manage with gloves, but secure when in place. Excellent value for cost. Loud on the ears as it tents over the ear canal, making a drum that magnifies sound. Strap is positioned a littl too close to throat. Would buy again.


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie - Royal - Large

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie - Royal - Large

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star Too Sweet

By thom@cableone.net. from Prescott Valley, AZ on 5/31/2013

Fit: TRUE

Have been looking for something to cover my head (Bald Guy) while snorkeling and this works perfectly.


More Reviews on this item

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie

Body Glove 3MM Super Beanie

Product Rating Product Rating 37 customer reviews


rating star iT IS REALLY GOOD

By Kenneth H. from Ormond Beach, FL on 4/28/2013

Fit: TOOBIG

I use this product to help pretect my ears. I use silicone plugs and the hat for added protection, water in my ears causes me a lot of pain.
I swim all year round and an added plus is it keeps my head warm in winter.
The only thing I might change is next time I will order medium size
I guess I think my head is bigger thjan it is.PS iam currently 82 yrs old
and swim about 1000 yds about 4 times a week THANKS FOR CARING


More Reviews on this item

Rip Curl E-Bomb 2mm Hood

Rip Curl E-Bomb 2mm Hood

Product Rating Product Rating 4 customer reviews


rating star Keeps you warm

By jjlarner from Newport Beach, CA on 1/2/2012

Fit: TRUE

I bought this for my husband for Christmas. He loves that it helps him keep warm in the Southern California waters in the winter months. But he complains that the hood makes it "loud" when he surfs. With any turn of the head there is a lot of "friction noise" and it is a distraction from the sound of the waves. He thinks it is best for helping him get out there in the cold water, but then it turns into a great neck warmer. The best thing is that it helps to keep the cold water from creeping down the back of his wetsuit when he is getting into the waves first thing. I wish he would wear it for his whole session and get the full value from the product!!


More Reviews on this item