TYR Water Polo Destroyer 4" Nylon Trainer Swimsuit Reviews
skip to main content
TYR Water Polo Destroyer 4

TYR Water Polo Destroyer 4" Nylon Trainer Swimsuit Reviews

Back to product page
  

Page Showing 1-20 of 48 Results

4 star rating (48 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 48 customer reviews
  • 8/13/2013 My favorite suit

    5 Review stars By Kayak2Work

    I am just a kayaker and casual swimmer. I prefer the nylon suit because it holds up well and isn't as stretchy as the lycra/spandex suits. This suit is well made, fits well, and looks great. The leg openings are tight so everything stays put. The high cut does not impede my movement.
    There is really nothing I don't like about this suit. I suppose I should mention that the nylon doesn't stretch much, so you want to get the right size. The size seems to run true to actual measurements, rather than jeans sizes. I wear a 28" waist jean, but the 30" nylon suit is pretty snug on me.

    Kayak2Work
    Eastern North Carolina

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 10/22/2014 retro

    4 Review stars By jake

    Perfect for lap swimming.  I've been using this suit, or its predecessors for 50 years -- which means although it is no longer in fashion, it maintains its advantages. It's cheap, durable (fully double lined) and way superior to trunks for fitness, non-competitive swimmers. Swimming in standard trunks is like swimming with clothing on.  These are briefs, but not too brief that a lean, fit 50+ yr old would find the fit design for a younger frame. They last way longer than the technical fabrics in jammers and other competitive suits, but chlorine will still fade out the colors -- my blacks turn silver grey after a couple of months -- then they match my head.

    jake
    Roanoke VA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 1/11/2018 True to size & durable

    5 Review stars By iswim

    This swimsuit is true to size & feels durable. I use it daily for swim workouts in the pool.

    iswim
    Amherst, MA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 7/3/2015 Nylon Water Polo suit

    5 Review stars By Hotvette

    These seem to wear well and last a good while. I use them under board shorts as under wear.

    Hotvette
    Florida

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 2/1/2015 Cheap.

    2 Review stars By Jill U.

    The product was good... For the first month I used it. I am on a High school swim team, so I spend a lot of time in the water, but I've never had a suit last as little time as this one. I bought it right before Christmas, and it went from black to grey in a month, it is see through. I do not recommend buying this product. Also a little tight.

    Jill U.
    PLYMOUTH, IN

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 4/21/2013 Nylon Suits now hard to find

    5 Review stars By Old Swimmer

    Always liked the nylon suits.  Very comfortable.  Trick is to find your right size.    I'm 66, in good shape, and still like the small suits.

    Old Swimmer
    Hartford, CT

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 8/9/2011 Best Everyday Suit

    5 Review stars By Philly Swimmer

    I wear this for utility.  Quickdrying and keeps it's fit.  I can swim daily and it will last for months before I need a new suit, mainly from color fading.

    Philly Swimmer
    Philadelphia, PA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 12/13/2017 Great Buy

    5 Review stars By Mike

    the price is right

    Mike
    Southern Maryland

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 5/16/2017 size

    5 Review stars By Wang Lau

    TYR Nylon swimsuit is durable, but color fades.

    Wang Lau
    Chattanooga, TN

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 12/15/2016 The most swims per dollar.

    4 Review stars By Sintuscant

    Have  bought this suit in black and other colors over the years.  A "36" is tight, a "38" is always consistently perfectly comfortable for a 6 foot, 200 pound old man.  One of these is good for 300 plus swims and I have never yet worn one out before 2 full years of multi-weekly work outs. The color fades long before the suit is unusable. The double layer Antron, no lycra, is the way to go for wear.

    Sintuscant
    Baltimore

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 5/2/2016 Like Others Said...

    2 Review stars By H2OloAmateur

    2.5 stars.  Like others said: a little too much fabric in the front, and not quite enough in the back.  And this is coming from a guy without much of a tush.  So, they look a little awkward if you look closely, and they weren't too expensive, but the other suit I got for a dollar less was a much better buy (the "Sporti Poly Pro Men's Water Polo Brief").  Also, I figured out a while ago that even though I wear a 31 waist in pants, I need to order a 34 in suits; the size 34 I ordered fit fine, so when I mark "Feels too small," I'm accounting for that.

    H2OloAmateur
    Tucson, AZ

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 4/30/2016 Awesome suit, I look huge

    5 Review stars By Common man

    Feels like it's going to last, I like the 100% nylon, no stretch

    Common man
    Oxnard

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 7/7/2015 Fits and feels like old school Nylon Speedo

    5 Review stars By NHKen

    Swimming laps in the pool or in the lake.  Something that supports and I can wear under trunks or wetsuit when I'm working in and out of the water all day.  Size seems to be true,  The nylon has more stretch to it than all polyester suit but much less than the nylon/lycra so the fit is important.  This one fits well and we will see how it wears over time.

    NHKen
    Woodstock, NH

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 2/16/2015 Water Polo 4" Swimsuit

    5 Review stars By CH

    I don't swim in any organized group.  I wear this under my wetsuit whenever I surf or bodysurf.  Keeps everything in place comfortably, and provides appropriate modesty while doffing the wetsuit before entering my vehicle. Wash/dry very easily.  Good for under the lifeguard shorts and when it's time to take a quick swim break in the ocean.  It'll be good for swim practice because it creates a bit of drag while swimming - then switch to slimmer fit, lycra suit when competing, and you'll feel like you're flying thru the water.

    CH
    Santa Cruz, CA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 1/13/2015 Good suit

    4 Review stars By KSmith

    Sizing is good.  A little tight around the upper leg, but it might be my weight.
    For the money, you won't be disappointed!

    KSmith
    Portland, Oregon

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 2/10/2014 Rating swimsuit

    4 Review stars By Steven S.

    Swimming ,  Fits Good , Nothing

    Steven S.
    Sioux Falls, SD

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 7/31/2013 Fits the bill

    5 Review stars By lapswimer

    For daily swims, exactly what I sought.

    lapswimer
    OLYMPIA, WA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 7/15/2013 Good quality

    4 Review stars By Jennifer H.

    My son bought a SPEEDO brand in a store and went with the size 30.  We ordered this one and another SPEEDO online both 30, they are too big.  Other than that, When he can wear them without them sagging, he will like them. He wore them once to practice(water polo) and they were sturdy.

    Jennifer H.
    corona, ca

    Fit: Feels too big

  • 4/28/2013 Buy 2 sizes up

    3 Review stars By Randy B.

    Took friend's advice & bought 1 size larger (waist 34, got 36). This suit fits, but just barely. I wanted a nano-second more drag, which nylon is suppposed to do, and it does... but not when it's this tight. Feels like 38" ought to be about right, will go 2 sizes up if I get another one. Meanwhile, bought TYR resistance shorts from Swim Outlet and they're great (see other review).

    Randy B.
    Ft. Collins CO

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 4/7/2013 Great suit for workouts

    5 Review stars By charlie

    Durable, holds color,fits well. Classic nylon fabric that does not fade

    charlie
    new york city

    Fit: Feels true to size

Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz