TYR Tracer Light Jammer Tech Suit Reviews
skip to main content
TYR Tracer Light Jammer Tech Suit

TYR Tracer Light Jammer Tech Suit Reviews

Back to product page
  

Page Showing 1-20 of 91 Results

4.5 star rating (91 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 91 customer reviews
  • 5/1/2012 Great value in a tech suit

    5 Review stars By Isaac S.

    Swam in both a Tracer C series and Tracer Light jammer during a championship meet.  Both performed well and for the money, the Tracer Light was by far a superior value.  This suit not only provided all of the compression and range of motion of the Tracer C series, but seemed to hold up better throughout the meet.  I have a big frame, 6ft 3in, 215 lbs and both of these suits fit true to size.  I purchased one size below my practice suit size and was quite happy with the fit.  The Tracer Light jammer was a bit tighter than it should have been around my legs at the openings, but it wasn't a problem just something to consider when choosing a size.

    Isaac S.
    Satellite Beach, FL

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 5/26/2015 Great entry level suit for those Age Group kids

    5 Review stars By H

    We originally ordered an Arena Powerskin St Limited edition. We returned it once for an exchange for a new one and a second time to get our money back. Very bad stitching, it kept on unraveling. We switched to the TYR Tracer Light and never looked back. The fit is tight, but it supposed to be. The leg holes are tight but there are tricks out there to make it easier to put on. We used the single leg panty hose trick, my son didn't like the idea until he tried it, and it is so easy to put the jammer on all the way to the upper thigh. From there to the hip and waist it is just a couple of pulls and voila, tech jammer in place and ready to go. He dropped seconds in his last meet in all of his events. He also made a new JO in the 100 m Back, and he hates backstroke...go figure. Totally unexpected. Overall a great suit. Great compression and good water repellent. We noticed by the 4th event it started to absorbed water a bit, you can see the beads in some areas but more wet looks in others. The next day it was the same, as the day progressed it absorbed some water. It didn't seem to affect performance. The shape hold on perfectly and compression was still there. A bit of water absorption is small potatoes when compare to the price/quality ratio. In short if you need a great starter suit this one seems to be just as good as any other. I think we will stay in the TYR Tracer family for a while moving up in price as he progresses in the years to come.

    H
    Morgan Hill, CA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 7/22/2012 Great suit!

    5 Review stars By SwimmerBoy

    I got this suit a couple weeks ago for JO's and it was great! This is how I would rate the suit-


    ___Water Repellency - 4.5 stars ----------  The suit repelled water really well when I first got it-not a single drop touched it! But after a couple meets the waterproofing thing they put on the suit started to wear out and water started getting into the suit.

    ___Fit and compression- 4 stars ---------  I would recommend sizing down 1 or 2 sizes down from your practice suit.  I did this and the suit fit perfectly.  However, the area around the knee holes was too loose and the suit should really go higher on your waist.

    Price- 5 stars      Great pricing for the suit.  I think its really worth the hundred bucks.


    ___Durability- 5 stars --------- This suit lasted my friend a whole year until a hole appeared in the back part of the suit.  The stitching is really durable.


    -Overall, great suit!

    SwimmerBoy
    somewhere on this planet

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 5/13/2011 OMG amazing

    5 Review stars By Renee

    for the price it is a very good race jammer.
    i usualy wear size 28/30 and baught it in 26. it takes a while to get it on but when i have it on it fits perfect and has a good compression effect also.
    Great product

    Renee
    Minnesota

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 4/24/2016 they perform ok, but tear easily

    2 Review stars By Kevin Lawson

    Had a pair of these and they ripped in the back after the first use at a high school conference meet. Got a second pair and they did the same thing the very next meet at sectionals. Performance was ok, but the durability is a big blow to the quality. Also, SwimOutlet has not refunded me for both ripped jammers.

    Kevin Lawson
    Terre Haute, IN

    Fit:

  • 3/22/2016 Great suit but not real durable

    3 Review stars By Steve

    Bought this suit for my son who is a Freshman in HS.  He wore it the first time for his HS league championships then State and MV Short Course Championships.  He loved the feel of the suit and dropped time but the stitching frayed at his waist by the end of the Short Course Championships even though he closely followed the instructions on how to care for the suit.  The suit basically lasted 8 sessions or about 30 swims.

    Steve
    Shawnee, KS

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 10/27/2014 Not as expected...

    4 Review stars By Alex

    I needed my first technical suit, so I decided to go with this TYR. I didn't know what to expect from it, since I've never used these before, but for the first few hours, it was great. Then I tried to tighten the suit with the drawstring.......ripped a small hole in the top lining. The suit is double lining, so water stayed out, but the drawstring WILL BREAK no matter how careful  you are with it.

    You also might want to order TWO SIZES down, not one. I ordered one size down, and water gets in unless I put it on perfectly and wear it just the right way.

    Water repellency is awesome though, and doing butterfly with this thing on feels amazing!

    Alex
    Fairbanks, AK

    Fit: Feels too big

  • 2/9/2014 Amazing!

    5 Review stars By Ryan L.

    I got a 28. Depending on how much smaller you get, it can be really hard to put on. After you get it on though, it's amazing!In our class/sectional meet, I dropped more than 3.5 seconds in my 100 breast as well as about 2 seconds in a 200 medley relay (breast) split. This was a great suit! Recommend 1or2 sizes smaller.

    Ryan L.
    Amherst, NY

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 2/25/2012 Great Suit for the Money

    5 Review stars By Swim Mom

    Ordered this for my 14 year old son.  He was told by  his swim team mates to order at least one size smaller than he wears in a regular practice suit.  My son usually wears a 30 suit.  For this Tracer Light we ordered a 26.  It fits great.  Very close fitting, not too tight.  My son is 5'11" and 140 lbs.  First time  he wore it  he dropped time on all his events.

    Swim Mom
    Greenfield, IN

    Fit:

  • 5/5/2013 great tech suit

    5 Review stars By Luis O.

    Bought this suit for my conference championship. Felt tight but I ordered a size down as said by my teammates as this was my first tech suit. Dropped time in my 100fly and made to finals also did the 500free for the first time all season and took tenth. Suit felt good even over the long distance of the 500 tight but good almost feels like gliding through the water and had the furthest under waters all season with this suit

    Luis O.
    San Diego, CA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 3/7/2013 Completely see through

    4 Review stars By BigBadBreaststroke

    Fits great and feels fast, however its completely see through. Except  for a piece of fabric covering my crotch and crack, you can see everything. so if you keep the suit, apologize to anyone who's standing behind you during your start

    BigBadBreaststroke
    Maryland

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 8/8/2011 Great Suit!

    5 Review stars By Brad

    My 13 year old son wore his Aquablade for prelims in the morning and qualified for evening finals. He wore the Tracer Light for finals and cut his morning time by 5 seconds in the 100 Breast. He wouldn't take the Tracer off the rest of the meet and got 100% best times all weekend.

    Brad
    Wilmington, NC

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 4/23/2011 Good for Competition

    5 Review stars By Chaser's Racer

    Since the outlawing of the body suits, and with the Short-Course season rapidly approaching, I had to buy a new suit for competition.  This suit was far more "slick" than my workout jammers, with a much improved glide.  A teammate suggested that I purchase this suit one size smaller, and that was a good suggestion.  It was extremely snug to begin with, but it stretched a bit after the first day of competition, and is not too tight and offers excellent compression.  I recommend this suit, especially at the price it is offered by the Swim Outlet.  It was the best price around, by no small amount!

    Chaser's Racer
    Oakland, CA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 2/22/2011 Excellent suit, More than worth the price

    5 Review stars By Geoffery G.

    I paid a little over $100 and it was one of the best purchases I've ever made.  The suit fits tight like a fast suit should and feels amazing in the water.  I dropped a full 5 seconds in my 100 breast and 3 in the 100 fly with this suit after shaving and tapering.  You can pay twice as much for the B or C-Series and maybe get a little more time out of it but unless a tenth of a second at 100 yards is worth and extra $100 to you, this value can't be beat

    Geoffery G.
    Brown Deer, WI

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 1/20/2011 Best for Back Fly Breast

    5 Review stars By Michael

    Anyone who has a 12 year old who can't wear a 26 is mistaken. I'm 18 and I have very big legs, 28 was too big, 26 this season is perf, this suit especially is meant for compression so I wear this for my dolphin and leg based events like fly and back and seamless suits like the B series or LZR elite for sprint free.

    Keep it swag.

    Michael
    Clevland Ohio

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 7/15/2009 A great suit

    5 Review stars By Brandon

    The TYR Tracer is an amazing suit. It is very comfortable and has a sleek feel to it.

    Brandon
    Long Beach,CA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 11/27/2008 completely original.

    5 Review stars By spartanswimmer23

    this suit is like no other. It's so original i own a lot of technical suits and this one has to be the best. But i recomend the black one if you get the legskin becasue the blue is a bit see through.

    spartanswimmer23
    Jax, FL

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 6/23/2017 Fast suit!

    5 Review stars By Frank C.

    This is my first "competition suit". I swam my first Masters meet....and won all three events. This suit really repels water. I read a lot of reviews that recommended ordering one size smaller than normal.....that would not have worked for me. I am 6'2" tall, weigh 185 lbs. and am 58 years old. These suits are designed for younger swimmers with VERY slim body types. I was BARELY able to get the size 34 on....which is my normal size. It fit very tight. Hope this helps.

    Frank C.
    Chesapeake VA.

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 7/28/2016 Overall good

    4 Review stars By phyllis

    Hard to put on the first time. Tends to run small. Helped in a race.

    phyllis
    Maryville, TN

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 5/7/2016 Nice one

    5 Review stars By The Pen

    This is my son's 2nd one . The first one I bought a yr ago and still looking good except now its a little tight for him so itime to buy next size bigger. Very good quality and no drag he said.

    The Pen
    Royal Palm Beach Fl

    Fit: Feels true to size

Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz