TYR Catalyst Contour Training Paddles Reviews
skip to main content
TYR Catalyst Contour Training Paddles

TYR Catalyst Contour Training Paddles Reviews

Back to product page
  

Page Showing 1-20 of 23 Results

4.5 star rating (23 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 23 customer reviews
  • 4/8/2015 love those, but watch out for the size!

    5 Review stars By goldenlion

    those paddles are really sweet, they are a great addition to my training making it more efficient and got me some extra motivation! I just started swimming about 2 years ago (I'm 24) for some extra work out, I go 3 times a week but I'm not super strong. I ordered the medium ones but immediately when I saw them I knew they were going to be too big. I thought for my first swim paddles I use I'd go easy on my arms and shoulders and reordered the small ones, which are perfect. I think even if you're stronger than me and are new to paddles, it's good to get smaller ones because your arms are probably not used to the extra pressure.
    Overall, a really really sweet training addition, a lot of fun and I feel like I'm getting better and stronger a lot faster!

    goldenlion
    Michigan

    Fit:

  • 12/17/2014 great paddles

    5 Review stars By James

    They offer a great workout.

    James
    Toledo, OH

    Fit:

  • 7/11/2014 Training paddles

    4 Review stars By Wannabe Triathlete

    As a newbie swimmer I had seen others using training paddles & decided to order some along with a pair of training fins.
    Big feet need big fins, big hands need big paddles right? Wrong.
    I should have gotten smaller ones until I become strong enough & have proper technique to use paddles this large. According to my swim Instructor I can injure my shoulders & after using them only a couple of times I understand.
    I'll probably be ordering a pair much smaller.
    They're well made though with lots of options for hand placement

    Wannabe Triathlete
    Mt Airy, MD

    Fit:

  • 11/25/2013 Great Addition to any workout!

    5 Review stars By Flip Flop Junkie

    My coach recommended I try training paddles to build my pull strength.  I am a swimmer who started later in life and my freestyle technique is not always the best but since I have been using these training paddles my technique, strength and endurance have all improved as well as my lap times.  The paddles are easy to use, the contour forms very well to the hand and there is no slipping when adjusted correctly.

    Flip Flop Junkie
    So.Cal.

    Fit:

  • 11/20/2017 So far so good

    4 Review stars By CRH

    I got the smallest size and they are still a little big for me but I have really small hands.  I had to ask my husband to help pull the straps through the holes -- very difficult -- but they for sure stay put!  I'm quite satisfied with my purchase and would certainly recommend them.

    CRH
    Kingsport, TN

    Fit:

  • 8/16/2017 good quality paddles

    4 Review stars By Jill

    These are sturdy and have a nice shape to them.  I should have ordered a "small" -- I thought that small would be kid-size but I'm a 5/3" woman and the medium is larger than I'd like.  Otherwise they are great!

    Jill
    Charleston, SC

    Fit:

  • 12/14/2016 Works for me!

    4 Review stars By TriSam

    I used these for the first time this morning and they worked great. I really like the fit and feel. Previously I owned a very basic set of rectangular hand paddles, but these are superior in fit and function. I would have given them 5 stars, but because I've only used them once, I thought I better not get too crazy about it. However, TYR is a product name I have always trusted, and they have yet to let me down, and I've been using various products of theirs since 1995.

    TriSam
    Caledonia, MI

    Fit:

  • 1/27/2015 Good feeling and help me a lot

    4 Review stars By Dilania

    Help me to improve the technique

    Dilania
    Miami, FL

    Fit:

  • 1/18/2015 Recommended product

    5 Review stars By Travis T.

    Me: How do you like your new paddles?
    12 year old daughter : I love them!

    Travis T.
    Huntsville, TX

    Fit:

  • 1/11/2015 Daughter loves them

    5 Review stars By Travis T.

    Competitive swimmer.  12 year old daughter uses them at practice.  Loves them.  Get the small.

    Travis T.
    Huntsville, TX

    Fit:

  • 12/17/2014 Good size

    5 Review stars By James

    The smaller paddles offer another type of workout compared with the larger model. I like to use both large and small during my workouts.

    James
    Toledo, OH

    Fit:

  • 10/18/2014 Great Paddles

    5 Review stars By Frank

    The paddles are exactly the size and shape as described.   They performed well in the water and help your stroke as anticipated.   Great investment for adding strength to arm and chest muscles while swimming.

    Frank
    Waynesboro VA

    Fit:

  • 6/11/2014 Too Big

    3 Review stars By Coach

    I bought the medium for my 13 yr old girl.  These are too big for me, let alone her.  The paddles themselves are fine, just too big.

    Coach
    Warrenton, VA

    Fit:

  • 6/4/2014 Good product

    5 Review stars By Jim

    I bought the red (large) paddles and the white (small) versions to vary my workouts; both are good buys and very effective.

    Jim
    Toledo, Ohio

    Fit:

  • 6/1/2014 5 Use report

    3 Review stars By drdaniels3

    The design concept works. They function correctly.

    There were no product instructions for installing the straps, leading to customer experimentation to install the straps. The straps were short, so short one could not install them as in the product pictures and have enough length left to allow one to slip their hands under the straps.

    The shortness of the straps limits experimentation of their placement.

    Such stinginess with relatively inexpensive straps shows poor marketing judgment.

    drdaniels3
    Belmont Shore, Los Angeles County, California

    Fit:

  • 9/16/2013 Good Qulaity and easy to use and fit

    5 Review stars By Paul

    Easy to fit for various hand sizes.  I have a stronger upper body so I got the large but if your new or smaller don't get to large a size.

    Paul
    Statesville, NC

    Fit:

  • 7/14/2013 Good training aid

    4 Review stars By Triswim

    Simple design and comfortable to use

    Triswim
    St Paul, MN

    Fit:

  • 6/19/2013 Excellent- feeling stronger than ever

    2 Review stars By Monika

    Excellent product. Great for mid distance and long distance pulling sets.

    Monika
    Switzerland

    Fit:

  • 3/6/2013 Large is for experts only

    4 Review stars By Michael M.

    Great training device. Paddles "insist" that you start and finish your pull correctly. The "large" paddles are very large and unforgiving. Unless you're a top awimmer, you should probably size down. These are great for form and strength. Highly recommend.

    Michael M.
    CROTON ON HUDSON, NY

    Fit:

  • 1/23/2013 good for pulls

    5 Review stars By Louis

    The recommendations for sizing were accuate. Work great.

    Louis
    Jenks, OK

    Fit:

Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz