skip to main content
Ryka Women's Hydro Sport Water Shoes

Ryka Women's Hydro Sport Water Shoes Reviews

Back to product page
  

Page Showing 1-20 of 26 Results

4.5 star rating (835 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 835 customer reviews
  • 9/5/2014 Disappionted

    2 Review stars By Sandi

    These shoes are very lightweight, very comfortable when I first put them on. They were also easier to put on than my previous pair of water shoes. Unfortunately, when I wore them in the pool for aerobic exercises, something on the inside of the right shoe rubbed my fourth toe so much that I couldn't wear the shoe two days later. I didn't get a blister, but my toe was very red and swollen. I don't think I'll wear the shoes again until I try to cut out what feels like an extra long piece of fabric in the area of discomfort.

    Sandi
    DAVIS, CA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 9/20/2014 Some Problems

    2 Review stars By Sandra Marshall

    I have worn Ryka water shoes for a few years now. Am sorry to say that this last pair is a disappointment. They are too wide, and the material is not as comfortable inside as previous pairs I've owned. The main problem I've had though, is the shoes slipping on the bottom of the pool. Former ones have not done that. I and some other ladies in my class feel that the product has been cheapened over time, which I hate to see. I will definitely have to go with another brand next time.

    Sandra Marshall
    Inez, Texas

    Fit: Feels too big

  • 6/11/2014 Shoelaces constantly untieing

    2 Review stars By WelshLass

    Although there is a bungee-style cord on the shoelace, they are true shoelaces that still need to be tied after adjusting the bungee cord. And they won't stay tied, even when double knotted. Very annoying. Elasticized-style shoelaces are much easier to work with. I ordered my usual water shoe size (11), but I have narrow feet. However, because the soles are solidly built for good support, the shoes feel klunky. And once you've worn them, you can't exactly return them because they've been worn. I wish it were possible to try on before purchase at a local store.

    WelshLass
    Cincinnati OH

    Fit: Feels too big

  • 4/15/2021 Needs better tie, back of shoe protrudes

    2 Review stars By Francine

    The laces laces that don’t come undone. Speedo has a water shoe with an “infinity” tie years ago [OPENBRK]no longer made[CLOSEBRK] that was the best tie. It was also easy to loosen and tighten.
    The back of one shoe protrudes a bit above the heel.
    A plus is the solid structure.

    Francine
    NM

    Fit:

  • 9/13/2014 review

    2 Review stars By debbie g.

    The shoe laces don't always stay knotted. I have another pair of RYKA water shoes, and the new ones don't have the same amount of support.

    debbie g.
    council bluffs, IA

    Fit: Feels too big

  • 7/31/2014 Good shoe bad size

    2 Review stars By michelleh2o

    It runs about a 1/2 size too small.

    michelleh2o
    Dallas

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 5/26/2014 Runs smaller than size stated

    2 Review stars By MsB0808

    I ordered a size 11 and they were STILL to small. I waited to long to return. Should be able to return even after a while at a discounted rate.

    MsB0808
    Louisiana

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 4/9/2014 Ryka water sport shoe

    2 Review stars By Doris

    I have a problem with the left shoe rubbing against my big toe causing a sore.

    Doris
    Arroyo Grande, Ca

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 10/4/2020 Won’t last-best for aerobics

    2 Review stars By Kimfit

    It is the best shoe on the market for doing aerobic aquatics. Padded, drains from the bottom. Comfortable, and true to dress shoe size on land.

    That said, as an instructor I’ve worn these many years. Current versions: come unglued at the toe, Loosen overtime at the lace toggles, and become slippery on the bottom. Yes, the inside is also sewn oddly and they may rub. They are not made as well as they have been previously. Made now to be replaced as they fall apart after a year of 3x per week use.

    Kimfit
    Fla.

    Fit:

  • 7/2/2020 Pretty...but not what I needed

    2 Review stars By Cate

    I bought these to do pool runs. They are a bit stiff for that and hurt my feet.

    Cate
    Texas

    Fit:

  • 6/9/2020 Wanted to like these

    2 Review stars By Canijammy

    Breathable, light weight, nice colors, but I couldn’t wear them. The water draining ports through the soles made the footbed lumpy and uncomfortable. Tried Dr Shoals inserts but still felt the sharp edges. Had to return them

    Canijammy
    Philadelphia, PA

    Fit:

  • 12/30/2019 Look great; horrible traction!

    2 Review stars By Susan R

    These shoes look great and are very comfortable. However, they are unusable because of absolutely no traction on the bottom of the pool! I have also had issue with the shoe strings coming untied like other users have reported. Wish there was a fix for the poor traction-I bought a much less expensive pair of shoes at the same time-uncomfortable but have great traction! Go figure!

    Susan R
    ALLEN, TX

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 9/7/2018 They don’t stay tied!

    2 Review stars By Diane

    Why would anyone put regular shoelaces in a water shoe? They don’t stay tied. The shoes I’ve worn in the past have a bungee type lace system with a toggle on the end. And those stayed tied.

    Diane
    Dallas, TX

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 3/14/2018 The laces come undone.

    2 Review stars By Ryka Sport Water shoes

    I found that while in water aerobics class, the shoe laces came undone. I bought a pair of Ryka a number of years ago and they were slip on which worked much better than the shoelaces.

    Ryka Sport Water shoes
    Macomb, Michigan 48044

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 3/26/2017 Ryka womwn,s water shoes

    2 Review stars By Pat

    The water shoes are built great except I was disappointed in the inside cushion under the front of the shoe under the toes. Not very well constructed. Felt like the inside of a cheap pair of tennis shoes. Not up to the price you pay for the shoes.

    Pat
    Michigan

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 2/17/2017 Beware for horizontal kick motion

    2 Review stars By Jeni

    If you want to use the shoe for shallow-water exercise, the shoe might be fine (I can't do shallow-water because of foot bone problems). It was also mostly fine for deep-water exercises where your body is vertical. But because the shoe's buoyancy fundamentally alters your legs' positioning in the water, it was impossible for me to use for the exercises that require a kicking motion while moving horizontally, because the buoyancy didn't allow my feet to dip enough below the surface to get good propulsion. The shoes even affect your positioning when just standing at the wall in deep water, as the shoes make your legs want to float upward. This problem did not occur when I tried ankle weights. On the positive side, the shoes gave a great fit, were very comfortable, and were very easy to use.

    Jeni
    Annandale, VA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 8/1/2016 Way too slippery

    2 Review stars By Eileen

    I loved these water sneakers (comfortable, perfect fit) until I put them on to use at the pool for physical therapy for back & leg issues, in the hope of eventually going back to my regular water aerobic classes They were extremely slippery- like walking on wet ice. I thought I'd fall & get a serious injury on the hard wet tile floors at the pool. I was grabbing onto anything I could to prevent myself from falling. They were slippery in the pool, too. Very, very disappointing.

    Eileen
    Mahopac, NY

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 5/22/2016 Meh - just okay

    2 Review stars By krisanchi

    Injured runner having to swim and aqua run while a stress fracture heals. First, the shoe runs about 1/2 size short in length. Secondly, I was sliding all over the pool and could get almost no traction. I don't know if it is the shoe or the gym's pool causing this issue, but it was incredibly difficult to get my heart rate up. I can't return the shoes because they have been used and won't buy another pair until I know if the issue is the shoe or the pool. Such a bummer! :(

    krisanchi
    Anywhere

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 4/26/2016 Disappointed

    2 Review stars By Sis

    Shoe strings too long and become untied when doing water aerobics. Even ryka just said "change them". Dangerous when walking from pool.
    Shoes are good as have all the ryka shoes I've had over the last 10 years

    Sis
    Chicago

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 11/17/2015 Too slippery

    2 Review stars By laurab24

    I've been buying Hydro Sport Water shoes for years from Ryka and have always loved them. The latest shoes, however, are slippery so I can't plant my feet as hard as I'd like to. Also, they changed the laces so they tie now, but they don't stay tied.

    laurab24
    Charlottesville, VA

    Fit: Feels true to size

Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz