skip to main content
FINIS Rapid Monofin Swim Fins

FINIS Rapid Monofin Swim Fins Reviews

Back to product page
  

Page Showing 1-20 of 41 Results

3.5 star rating (41 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 41 customer reviews
  • 6/26/2013 How strong are you?

    5 Review stars By suzanne l.

    I can swim, thanks to technique and a swim snorkel. But I'm not strong enough to make large movements with the monofin. Others have used my monofin and swim 25 yards under water with one breath. I use two breaths and struggle if I try to move a lot of water. The key to success (for me) is tiny movements: fin up, fin down. Tiny strokes. Then I take one breath per 25 yards. Is the monofin fun? A blast.

    suzanne l.
    la jolla, CA

    Fit:

  • 7/16/2014 Great for dolphin kickers

    5 Review stars By Perry the platypus

    I love this monofin. I've been swimming and swimming competitively for over 10 years but I've never used one but I am a butterfly and underwater dolphin kick addict so when I saw this I was very excited. Although it takes a little getting used to it's awesome to use and just alot of fun and well worth the money if you enjoy swimming like a dolphin.

    Perry the platypus
    KANNAPOLIS, NC

    Fit:

  • 10/6/2012 Great ab work along with kicks

    4 Review stars By Mic

    In addition to getting the kicks stronger, the kids say that the fin also works the abs. Not good for flat footed swimmer and would like to have one that fits the smaller foot of the girls. Size ranges from men's 9 - 13.

    Mic
    Corpus Christi, Tx

    Fit:

  • 6/22/2017 does not fit!

    1 Review stars By udi beltzer

    it was advertised as it will fit up to size 13, but i cannot even slip my feet, and i am only size 11!
    sent email to customer service but do not get any reply!

    udi beltzer
    NJ

    Fit:

  • 5/22/2014 It Is Gonna Be Good About My Monofins.

    5 Review stars By Martarrious K.

    I Love To Wear My Monofins So I Can Go Swimming.

    Martarrious K.
    Memphis, TN

    Fit:

  • 5/1/2014 great fin!!!

    5 Review stars By Kayla G.

    Over all this fin is comfortable to swim in, it doesn't rub, the straps don't fall off! Super great fin! I LOVE IT!!!

    Kayla G.
    Phoenix, AZ

    Fit:

  • 10/19/2011 Great but.... boot split

    1 Review stars By Thomas B.

    This fin offers great performance, but after less than a handful of work outs (7-8), the left boot is tearing. Based on another reviewer with the same problem, I would have to say the quality is lacking. I'm 170 lbs and have a 9.5 shoe size so nothing extraordinary. This fin should last longer.

    Thomas B.
    Kansas City, MO

    Fit:

  • 10/8/2011 NOT PLEASED

    1 Review stars By Todd T.

    THIS IS THE SECOND FINIS RAPID MONOFIN THAT I HAVE RECEIVED. BOTH HAVE BEEN DEFECTIVE IN THAT EITHER BOOT SPLITS AFTER ABOUT TWO USES. I AM NOT REFERRING TO THE STRAP THAT HOLDS YOU IN, RATHER TO THE ACTUAL FOOT HOUSING THAT ONES FOOT SLIDS INTO. THE ONLY PEOPLE USING MY MONOFIN ARE YOUTH BOYS AGES 9-14 WITH THE LARGEST FOOT SIZE BEING A 10.

    Todd T.
    Tampa , FL

    Fit:

  • 1/25/2015 Too small for my size 12 feet

    2 Review stars By Tim Y.

    I love the idea of this monofin. It's obviously well made and looks great but it needs to be adjustable around the widest part of the foot. I can barely get my size 12 feet into it. It's painful, like having a clamp on my foot. It's way too tight to use.

    An adjustable, ratcheting strap around the forefoot like the one around the heel would solve the problem.

    Tim Y.
    Arizona

    Fit:

  • 7/25/2013 Does not fit a size 12 foot

    1 Review stars By David C.

    My size twelve foot will not even come close to getting into the foot compartment, not even a little.

    David C.
    Soquel, CA

    Fit:

  • 4/13/2019 prove me wrong and post a video of using this

    1 Review stars By finis

    I don't know what the 5 star reviews are talking about? They are all exaggerating and off their rockers. Post a you tube of using this product and I'll believe you.

    The product construction is great, but to use it. NO Way!

    Ridiculous, awkward, slow and huge motions. I tried it for weeks and could not figure this thing out.

    I love the regular finis foil monofin. I have use one for years daily. This Rapid monofin thing is bulky and way over designed. Form does not meet function here.

    I would recommend and buy the finis foil monofin over the Rapid one big time. the foils fail too after a lot of use but at least they work.

    I sent my Rapid one back after weeks of annoyance.

    5 star users prove me wrong with a you tube video. Seriously the thing looks awesome but i could not figure it out at all. I would love to eat my words and willing to repurchase.

    If nothing else at leaset correct me for my grammor, speling or not capitalizing the i above.

    In all seriousness perhaps there is a video online of someone successfully using this, or there should be.

    Until then I would say this is more of a manatee fin.


    finis
    Aitkin, MN

    Fit:

  • 11/29/2016 Enjoyable, practical

    4 Review stars By Berk Secen

    I started swimming with this monofin without any knowledge and experience in dolphin kick or monofin swim. It is comfortable for beginners and really practical to put on/off if there is a cramp. After 14 days usage, made 4-5 hours practice a day, I totally learned how to move and then this brought a lot fun. I like it's performance especially in deep water rather than sea level. It's color is attractive under water, especially when you dive to deeper sea levels. It takes a lot of attention. Unfortunately, it is not durable, since my left boot teared of after 15 days usage. But customer service changed my monofin with a new one.
    I can not wait to try again next summer.

    I have a few posts with my monofin, if you are eager to see its performance/looking.

    https://www.instagram.com/berksecen/

    Berk Secen
    Ankara, Turkey

    Fit:

  • 12/4/2015 not for wide feet

    1 Review stars By Shane S.

    This is the second model of Finis monofin I've tried and the sizing seems poor for men. I've tried the Finis Rapid and Aquarius. The Aquarius was fine for width but not for length and the Rapid is too narrow and unforgiving. I wear a 10 4E and although this is supposed to fit up to size 12, I doubt that it would fit even a standard width person with size 11 or 12 feet.

    Shane S.
    Columbus, OH

    Fit:

  • 6/16/2015 A formerly dependable monofin that seems to suffer from manufacturing flaws

    1 Review stars By B.W.

    A few years ago I purchased a black-colored Rapid monofin. It served me and my workouts well for over a year before the boots started tearing little by little, resulting in a needed replacement. Things wear out, that's understandable.

    So last year I bought this yellow Rapid from Swim Outlet. For some reason I noticed that the yellow fin's construction seems to be of a lesser quality, with the boots tearing even faster than the older black model. Also the strap hook placement snapped within a month of use, making the hook fall off. A little epoxy on the hook and yellow placement solved that problem, although the boots kept tearing. After almost a year it teared enough to become unusable.

    Last month I received my 3rd yellow Rapid, hoping the issues would have been fixed with a new production batch. Sadly the new fin is of even worse quality, having already encountered several problems. After not even 10 minutes of use the boots already started to separate from the fin along the sides, getting close to tearing at the same place as the previous fin. It's getting worse every day. Also the strap hook placement has again snapped. All this within 2 weeks of purchase. Disappointing.

    For anyone serious about monofin swimming, avoid the Rapid, or at least this yellow version of it. It's not worth the cost, even at a discounted price.

    B.W.
    Waialua, HI

    Fit:

  • 2/20/2013 Finis Rapid Monofin

    5 Review stars By Harry

    Great for toning core muscles

    Harry
    Columbia,S.C.

    Fit:

  • 12/30/2010 rapid monofin

    4 Review stars By marc h.

    The fin as a concept works great - in a pool, I can go a full length of the pool using just the fin. Other swim strokes are a bit challenging, but that's why I got it - muscle confusion. I definitly felt results in my core & legs everytime so far. It DOES work great for the Butterfly, as its supposed to, but surprisingly well on the surface. The only negative I can say is that the foot pockets are a bit uncomfortable for my size 11 feet, which are not excessively wide. I think the most comfy fit would be for a size 9 or 10. Other than that, no problems; outstanding idea & product. Marc H.

    marc h.
    dallas, TX

    Fit:

  • 10/22/2009 Best training & fitness device ever

    4 Review stars By Alan Myers

    I've been considering this tool for some time. I'm so glad to have it as part of my new swim training / fitness routine. Having a bad back, the monofin makes one move differently but such that it stretches and flexes the vertebrae as to improve my posture in just 2 weeks. In combination with a new routine the use of the monofin rounds out or rather balances the swimming workout. It seems well made and is certainly designed well. My only reservation and the reason I can't give it all 5 stars is that there is evidence of premature wear in just 2 weeks, so I must early on question the durability of the monfin. Other fins I use for either training or scuba diving have not shown this early indication of wear. I enjoy the monofin very much and is an important part of my daily training. I'll just have to wait and see how well it wears.

    Alan Myers
    Miami, Florida

    Fit:

  • 8/31/2009 does not fit shoe size 9-13

    2 Review stars By Keith K.

    Looks like a quality product, however, I didn't get it out of the house! I tried it on at home in the living room, and the foot pocket was way, way too small and narrow for my size 10E foot. I expected to have room for some neoprene socks, being that the fin is suppose to fit size 13 feet, room enough for my feet to swim in (PI). I will be returning this product, as soon as I find my paperwork.

    Keith K.
    Key Largo, FL

    Fit:

  • 10/10/2019 Uncomfortable for wide feet

    3 Review stars By Lu

    This is a beautiful product in most ways. I especially like the quick release and adjustment for the heel straps. The problem is that my son (6-4, size 13 shoe) struggles to wear them for more than a few laps because they crush the balls of his feet. I have no clue how to relax/widen the foot enclosure because the rubber is pretty high quality and substantial.

    Lu
    OK

    Fit:

  • 4/25/2017 Lots of fun

    5 Review stars By Kitti

    We really like the FINIS Rapid Monofin. Its a lot bigger then we thought it would be. Its a lot of fun and everyone from my husband to my 11 yr old nephew enjoys it.

    Kitti
    Fort Lauderdale, FL

    Fit:

Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz