FINIS Mermaid Youth Swim Fin (6yrs+) Reviews
skip to main content
FINIS Mermaid Youth Swim Fin (6yrs+)

FINIS Mermaid Youth Swim Fin (6yrs+) Reviews

Back to product page
  

Page Showing 1-20 of 98 Results

3.5 star rating (98 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 98 customer reviews
  • 5/7/2013 Little girls dream come true

    5 Review stars By Heather R.

    My daughter is 10 and obsessed with mermaids.  I got the Finis Mermaid monofin for her birthday.  While its been unseasonably cold, so she hasn't been in the pool yet, she is soooo excited!  She will wear it in the car, with her fin on the dashboard... Or lay in the floor with her "tail" behind her up in the air.  I haven't seen her get that excited in a long time.  It's a starter fin, but seems to be made very well.  We wish the box it was delivered in had been smaller since they used a gigantic shipping box... But it arrived when promised and its wonderful.

    Heather R.
    EDEN, NC

    Fit:

  • 12/31/2012 Cute but of no use

    1 Review stars By Preachermom

    My daughter has been wanting a monofin so she can swim like a mermaid for months on end.....too bad this didn't help!  She can get (mabey) three strokes out before the fin slips off.

    I have small feet and thought I would give it a try.  I wanted to see if it was the product or my daudghter needing to learn to use the flipper.

    I couldn't keep it on either.

    The single strap across the back would be better if it were two straps, holding each foot in place.

    Preachermom
    Space Coast, FL

    Fit:

  • 8/30/2013 Loved the Mermaid Swim Fin

    4 Review stars By Helen M.

    Granddaughter age 11 has these comments. She loves it and has made a mermaid fin to cover her legs with mono fin inside. She wears it when she goes swimming and is an excellent swimmer. These are her suggestions. Make fin wider where feet fit~Make buckle flatter and out of firmer material~Make barrier between feet a little taller and extend a little further back~Plastic is brittle breaks easily~ Make back strap a little longer so older kids can wear it~Make fin a little larger such as 1" wider and 1" longer.  Make same style in an X-Large.

    Helen M.
    San Diego, CA

    Fit:

  • 8/21/2013 Love it...but

    4 Review stars By Grandma Cathy

    I bought 4 fins for my granddaughters.  They LOVE, LOVE, LOVE them!!  But...two of them have cracked from the center curve.

    Grandma Cathy
    POWDER SPRINGS, GA

    Fit:

  • 7/25/2013 Not so good fit for a size 2 girl foot.

    2 Review stars By David C.

    Really doesn't stay on our little dolphin girl's feet very well.

    David C.
    Soquel, CA

    Fit:

  • 8/17/2009 Mermaid swim fins - cool...

    4 Review stars By Christy A.

    My 4 year old daughter loves these!!!  She is only a shoe size 11 and not into the recommended size 1-7 yet and they fit fine.
    The only thing I would watch is that the tips of the fins are somewhat sharp.  We took a nail file and filed them down a little, we were afraid of her slicing the pool liner in one of those freak mermaid accidents :)
    All kidding aside - this is a terrific toy for those little girls that want to be a mermaid.

    Christy A.
    Kittanning, PA

    Fit:

  • 9/22/2017 Doesn’t stay on, period.

    5 Review stars By B

    The strap that secures the heel into the fin it is poorly designed and the fin is too rigid— as soon as the kid kicks to swim, the strap comes off and the fin falls off. I would return it if SO’s process wasn’t such a PITA for people who don’t create an account when they buy.

    B
    Riverview FL

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 8/20/2016 Good for beginners

    3 Review stars By Sarah T.

    We were very excited about the fin, and gave it as a gift to a 7-year-old at her Birthday pool party but it was already cracked by the end of the party. I was very disappointed that the plastic did not hold up. It still functioned, but it was pretty sad that it didn't even hold up a single day. It fit her feet well, and she loved the idea of it, but it was not very durable.

    Sarah T.
    Houston, TX

    Fit:

  • 1/9/2014 So much fun!

    5 Review stars By susanjane

    This product is so much fun! I bought two of them and should have bought more as other kids want to try them too! The kids are having so much fun pretending they are mermaids in the pool! Awesome invention!

    susanjane
    Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada

    Fit:

  • 6/20/2013 Great toy to feel like a mermaid for play!

    4 Review stars By K. H.

    My 9yr old daughter loves this fin. Her friends love borrowing it at the pool. We have even given it as a gift. The only thing is their feet can slip out of it..while swimming even with the adjustment but once they are in and not slipping out.. it gives lots of enjoyment. Great swim toy! So fun for a girl to feel like a mermaid for a little bit!

    K. H.
    Franklin, TN

    Fit:

  • 11/6/2012 Narrow feet required

    3 Review stars By Zazosmom

    This is a really cute design and very affordable as compared to other mermaid fins. I bought it for her birthday and imagine our disappointment when her feet were too wide to fit it. She wears a size 3 so there was plenty of room in the length but her feet were 3 inches away from going in the whole way because of width restrictions. She tried to use it this way but it didn't work. Swimoutlet.com kindly sent us a replacement in case ours was defective but it was the same. I titled this "narrow feet required" because my daughter does not have wide feet. I would say they are wider than some but we do not have to buy her wide width shoes.

    Zazosmom
    South Central PA

    Fit:

  • 10/1/2012 Mermaid swim fin

    3 Review stars By Kim

    The idea of it is fantastic but it won't stay on my daughters feet. Tightened it super tight and it still pops right off her heel.

    Kim
    Lake Elsinore, Ca

    Fit:

  • 6/16/2012 Love it!!!!!!!

    5 Review stars By Liz

    Got this for my 8ys old and she loves it.  Fits her feet perfectly.  Easy to adjust and stays on while swimming.  She look just like a mermaid!  Highly recommend this fin!  Delivery was exactly when it was meant to be here.  GREAT PRODUCT!

    Liz
    Charlotte NC

    Fit:

  • 4/5/2012 Fun

    4 Review stars By JWong

    My daughter who is 11 loves the mermaid fin.  She speeds through the water and can do twists and turns with it.  She loves it and would not trade it for the world.  The only thing that could be improved is the strapping.  For her narrow feet it seems to slip off a lot and we cannot adjust it tighter.  But, for the price and quality it is a good buy.

    JWong
    Dana Point, CA

    Fit:

  • 5/1/2010 My Granddaughter, the Mermaid!

    5 Review stars By Sherry

    Wow!  Once in a while you get something REALLY right.  Buying this Mermaid Fin for my 3 1/2 year old granddaughter is one of those times.  She LOVES it.  We played all day with this.  Generally, she flits from toy to toy or activity to activity--ten minutes is a abnormally long, focused time for her.  Not so with this fin.  She played in the water; she sat on the ladder and pretended to be sitting on the rocks at the shore; she jumped around on the deck with it and talked about "how mermaids do things;" she took it off and transformed back and forth between a little girl and a mermaid.  It's easy to put on and take off; it is easy to adjust; it's well-maid; and it's WAAAAY FUN!

    Sherry
    Winter Haven, Florida

    Fit:

  • 12/30/2009 MERRY MERRY CHRISTMAS for our little girl!

    5 Review stars By Celi's Mommy

    From the moment our daughter saw her fins, she wanted to find an indoor pool to try them out.  We made it to a pool today, and she was in mermaid heaven!  They are very sturdy, and although they are still a tad bit big on her, we're just happy that they are made to last for many years to come! Oh, also, I like that the part of the fin that goes around her heels is very soft, so she won't be sporting  blisters after a fun swim :)

    Celi's Mommy
    Katy TX

    Fit:

  • 12/28/2009 FUN!

    5 Review stars By victoria

    If your little one imagines themselves a mermaid, then this toy is a must have. It will provide endless hours of fun in the water and on land!

    Excellent service and speedy delivery.

    victoria
    cambridge , MA

    Fit:

  • 8/10/2009 Lots of fun

    4 Review stars By Laura

    My daughter and her friends love this toy! It works very well in a pool but not so well in the ocean (don't know why). I now carry this in my pool bag every time we go. Only down side is it is difficult to adjust the strap length. Other than that, she is having a blast with it!

    Laura
    Orlando

    Fit:

  • 7/14/2009 LOVE IT

    5 Review stars By Jen

    My daughter (7) got this for her birthday and she LOVES it! She dreams of being a mermaid and this is such a fun way to use her imagination. She plays with it in the pool and at the beach. It is comfortable and seems safe (she's a decent swimmer).

    Jen
    Seattle, WA

    Fit:

  • 7/10/2009 Daughter loves it!!! :)

    4 Review stars By Ani

    My daughters love the mermaid fins... We are at the pool at least 3xs a week. They don't get tried of using them.
    The only challenge is staying on their feet.. But the seem to not mind... It also... Great exercise for them... :)

    Ani
    Cali

    Fit:

Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz