FINIS Foil Monofin Swim Fins Reviews
skip to main content
FINIS Foil Monofin Swim Fins

FINIS Foil Monofin Swim Fins Reviews

Back to product page
  

Page Showing 1-20 of 37 Results

4 star rating (37 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 37 customer reviews
  • 5/25/2013 Great first monofin or training tool

    5 Review stars By SeaBear

    For the price, this is a great way to start using a monofin.  The learning curve is much simpler than the larger “pro” models and the price and size makes it approachable.  The blade is super soft as in the entire unit so a serious swimmer maybe better off going with the shooter or trainer model.  It is less intensive on the ankles and knees, and is much easier to put on and off compared to the other finis models.  It is also not sharp and so is much more lane share friendly…as I often bring this along just incase the pool is crowded.  In the ocean it is a blast for body surfing and casual snorkeling.

    SeaBear
    Northern Va

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 9/20/2017 Great fin with weird pockets.

    3 Review stars By Larry

    Great for the dolphin kick.  The foot pockets have no relationship to the the shape of the human foot.  Designed for bears?  Meant to wear with shoes?

    Larry
    Tucson

    Fit: Feels too big

  • 2/23/2017 Monofin

    5 Review stars By Mark

    Have been using this fin since mid January.  It has built up the strength in my lower legs and it is now easier to use.  It is also now easier to use my regular fins for the butterfly, and I am now actually doing short lengths of the butterfly without fins or the monofin.

    Mark
    Bellevue, Washington

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 11/14/2015 Awful

    1 Review stars By Brett

    The strap snapped the second day I used it. Waste of money.

    Brett
    Washington dc

    Fit:

  • 2/17/2015 Never Buy It

    1 Review stars By Nick

    Absolutely horrible. I'm an 18 year old guy who got swindled into buying this by the crook that designed it when visiting my club team. I would give it a 0/5 if that was possible

    Nick
    Philadelphia,PA

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 4/7/2014 Very, Very narrow

    3 Review stars By Elizabeth H.

    I had to return the monofin because it was much too narrow for my feet - I could only get it on with socks, and even then, it hurt because it squeezed my feet too much. If you have somewhat wider feet, I would suggest getting a size up. I'm going to try that and hope it helps!

    Elizabeth H.
    Portland, OR

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 3/21/2014 order the right size

    5 Review stars By xlmu

    Ordered a "S" - small for an 11 year old, wearing US women size 8 - medium Nike running sneakers. It felt small when sitting on a chair and sitting in a bathtub full of water. It started to feel it might be the right size only after laying down on the floor for 30 minutes. Do feet change sizes after a hike, a night of sleep or a run? After 2 laps in a SCY pool it felt this monofin had enlarged to a "perfect" size with room to grow, the next size up, "M" - medium will definitely be TOO BIG for swimming. A Medium will not stay on during swimming but it will feel it is the "right" size while sitting on a chair for this particular 8 hours/week swimmer. Please chose your size well for the intended purpose, lawn hopping or swimming, not both, I am afraid. Thanks for your time! P.S. use the updated "size chart" on FINISinc.com when ordering, please.

    xlmu
    New York, NY

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 1/4/2016 Fantastic!

    5 Review stars By Erica

    My girls received these as gifts for Christmas (ages 10 and 12). They had the best time at the pool testing them out! (Both have size 8 women's shoe) My older daughter wants to wear a pair of short socks to prevent blistering. She's going to test out several option. Super fun purchase!!!

    Erica
    Milwaukee, WI

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 6/20/2012 monfin by finis

    4 Review stars By Sarah C.

    The only negative thing I have to say is that it STINKS when you take it out of the package for a good month. After that, its fine.

    Sarah C.
    Ruidoso, NM

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 6/16/2012 Monofin

    3 Review stars By PATRICIA L.

    The fin works well and fits well but can't seem to get rid of the horrible rubber smell

    PATRICIA L.
    RENO, NV

    Fit:

  • 4/15/2012 Great, but fits wrong :(

    4 Review stars By swimgirl

    I wear a women's 9 shoe size and I ordered a small in the monofin. It was very tight and was not comfortable. A medium would have fit better. Other than that, it's a pretty good piece of practice equipment!

    swimgirl
    Omaha, NE

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 5/3/2017 Quality product

    4 Review stars By Slim

    This product works as describe.  If you have thin feet like me, you may want to wear some socks when using this to avoid constant hitting from top to bottom inside where you slide your foot in.  Great for practicing the dolphin kick and doesn't easily get worn out as the fin fun monofin.

    Slim
    Lakeland, Fl

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 3/16/2017 Just awesome!

    5 Review stars By WisconswimMom

    My son started using a monofin after having issues fluttering during his Fly kick. With regular use it ironed out the issue, and greatly improved his technique. We ended up purchasing one for him to keep in his gear bag so he's be able to use it as needed. If you are a Flyer or IM-er, this is a great tool to strengthen legs and create good habits.

    WisconswimMom
    Milwaukee, WI

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 2/6/2017 Excellent beginner fin

    4 Review stars By Jim Jutte

    I bought this for my daughter and I when we started swimming after being away from it for quite some time as a means to help us with fly. The fin is relatively soft, so it doesn't hurt the feet or ankles when starting slow. I have since purchased two more for other teenaged children. I should say that although I competed when I was younger, I simply don't have the time to anymore. Yet another reason why this is helpful in maintaining form.

    I would recommend using the finis sock to protect the toes however because until they toughen up a bit the end where the toes come out like any fin will irritate the toes.

    Nevertheless, we pretty much cut our fly times in half because it help us with timing of the fly itself and leg and core strength.

    Now that I am a bit stronger, I move to a stiffer fin, but as i say, this is a great fin to start with.

    Jim Jutte
    London, Ontario

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 1/20/2017 FINIS Foil Monofin Swim Fins

    5 Review stars By Monofin review

    Fins arrived last Saturday and have used them four times.  They are starting to help me correct/improve my butterfly stroke.   I Have used them in 1/4 mile periods--I usually swim 3/4 mile to a mile every day.  They are building up the strength of my lower legs to help with the dolphin kick for the butterfly.

    Monofin review
    Bellevue, Washington

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 11/13/2016 item not the same as one in picture

    1 Review stars By dolphin

    The fins I received differed some what from the ones pictured.
    The foot pocket was small, too tight, and oval, not square shaped.
    The "channels" were different lengths and placement than the ones in the picture.
    I returned the fins.

    dolphin
    san francisco

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 7/4/2016 Excellent product!

    5 Review stars By Danielle

    I love the power I get with this mono fin. Once I replaced the small with a medium because of the width, I was super happy with this.

    Danielle
    Atlanta GA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 6/25/2016 Great but they fit narrow

    4 Review stars By Great monofin, but fits either too narrow or too long

    I had lots of fun swimming in the lake with my new monofin!
    It feels very natural.
    I had to get medium because I have somewhat wide feet. The small was way too tight on the width, but the length was good. The medium is good on the width, but a little long so sometimes the monofin slips off. Hopefully when I use it with my mermaid tail that won't be as much of an issue. I might try to figure out how to adjust the straps on the heels if it becomes a big problem.

    Great monofin, but fits either too narrow or too long
    Atlanta, GA

    Fit: Feels too big

  • 6/19/2016 Finis Foil Monofin — Excellent!

    5 Review stars By Sugarcane

    The Finis Foil monofin is an excellent product that I use for my swim workouts to work on my dolphin kicking. My foot size is male 8½ (U.S.), and the Medium size Foil fits perfectly--no need for socks or booties. I use the Foil with a kick-board for head-in-water and head-above-water kicking; without a kick-board for side swimming; and without a kick-board for back swimming with arms in the streamline position and in the by-the-knees position. The Foil will help you improve your butterfly stroke, and tighten your core for merman/mermaid activities if you swim in a mer-tail and fluke.

    Sugarcane
    Prescott Valley, AZ

    Fit:

  • 5/16/2016 Finis Foil Monofins

    5 Review stars By Rick

    Ordered a small and was to tight despite child being in the size range stated in ad. Not a satisfied customer!

    Rick
    Sedona az

    Fit: Feels too small

Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz