FINIS Competitor Monofin Swim Fins Reviews
skip to main content
FINIS Competitor Monofin Swim Fins

FINIS Competitor Monofin Swim Fins Reviews

Back to product page
  

Page Showing 1-8 of 8 Results

4.5 star rating (8 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 8 customer reviews
  • 10/20/2012 Competitor monofin

    5 Review stars By Atlantis Mermaid

    I had read that the competitor runs a size small, so I went with the next size up which fit perfectly!

    I use the fin for free diving. When i first trained in it I barely felt like I was getting a work out because the fin is so efficient. This is perfect for free diving because you can dive deeper while using less oxygen.

    Well worth the investment, and 'swimoutlet' got it to me asap.

    Just be aware that it is a HUGE fin that will not fit into regular luggage. I made a custom monofin bag made for air travel. But you could easily just pack it into a box (the one it came in with lots of cushion) and check it if your flying.

    Atlantis Mermaid
    San Francisco, CA

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 10/10/2012 Scary

    1 Review stars By Tara

    The foot beds were very small for my thin 13  year old and the fin was very heavy. We returned it because I thought maybe it wouldn't be safe. Probably better for a more experienced monofin swimmer.

    Tara
    Pittsburgh

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 6/1/2011 Fastest mono-fin

    4 Review stars By Flipper

    I have been using the competitor for over 10 years.  Seriously for the last 8 years.  I average about 16 miles a week in swimming.  I love the fin.  I am on fin #5.  The foot pocket on this fin splits in the same location after about a year or less, maybe around 600 miles of swimming.  The fin will continue to work after the foot pocket splits although not as efficiently for about another year before the split is too large and a new fin is required.  Be aware these fins do not last forever and may require replacement on a yearly basis of heavy use.  Outside of the failure rate it does not get any better.  Finis customer service cannot repair split foot pockets, Finis CS indicated their new models have made improvements to the foot pocket.  I have not purchased a new fin in three years, I use my damaged fin more sparingly & free-style it more vs. butterfly than I have in the past unitil I can save the $300 for a new model to see if Finis really has improved the foot pocket.
    Best of Luck - Swim On

    Flipper
    Lake Travis, Tx

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 5/22/2011 Fantastic

    5 Review stars By Joe

    I've had my fin for about 3 years... pacticed in the pool for months... took it to Hawaii...  fin... googles & snorkel...  spotted an 8' manta just before dark... about 40' down... one breath... and down just over the back of the manta... looked over and saw her  mouth and horns...  back to the surface.  BooYaa!    Crossed that off my Life List. Next up hopefully...  Whale Shark...  Powerful fin... Highest quality!   OK... the size was a little tight and just about couldn't get it off...  called and received the next size up... no hassel...  Sweet!

    Joe
    Costa Mesa, CA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 9/17/2009 Tight fit improves performance!

    5 Review stars By RPM

    8th year  finning 2-3 mile lake swims.  I am size 9 foot and have used the blue foot competitor the entire time. Fits tight as it should for better torgue,  thrust and speed...whew!   Wore 1st pair out after 2500 miles?   I know your sizing advice is wrong .  Developing callouses is part of finning.  Use Burt's bees salve as foot lubricant and not  petroleum jelley as it breaks down  the rubber.

    RPM
    Plymouth, MA

    Fit:

  • 9/2/2015 I can tell this is going to be fun!

    5 Review stars By Tim

    Mine just arrived yesterday.  I went to the Y this morning.  After 10 minutes I was going pretty good.  I am still a novice, but I can tell this is going to be a LOT of fun.

    Life guard said I was flying. The speed potential is there.  Go ahead pull the trigger.

    Other notes.  I bought the XXL, I wear size 13 shoes. The fit was not from tight overall. Just a little tight after a while, around the 'toe end' of the 'slipper'.  I put on some thin running socks and had no problem.

    I am also a big guy, and had no reason to fear the buying the 'big unit' to start.

    Tim

    Tim
    Cincinnati Ohio

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 3/22/2014 core training

    5 Review stars By Jun

    pool practice, speed and core development.

    Jun
    Flint, MI

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 8/8/2009 m

    4 Review stars By Tamas o.

    m

    Tamas o.
    coral springs, FL

    Fit: Feels too small

Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz