EQ Swimwear Banded Maternity One Piece Reviews
skip to main content
EQ Swimwear Banded Maternity One Piece

EQ Swimwear Banded Maternity One Piece Reviews

Back to product page
  

Page Showing 1-20 of 45 Results

3.5 star rating (45 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 45 customer reviews
  • 8/7/2013 If you have curves, do not waste your money

    1 Review stars By Fergus

    If you wore a size 16 in pre-maternity clothing, this suit will not fit.  There is not ample room for an once of growth for a curvy woman in the rear, unless you want your crack to show.  If you have a 38 or larger chest, this is not the suit for you.  There is not enough breast coverage, especially with the changes one goes through during pregnancy, and the material is very thin.  This is a poorly designed suit for anyone with some meat to their bones.

    Fergus
    Greensboro, NC

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 7/5/2015 Helps me get my laps in during my pregnancy

    4 Review stars By Pamela J.

    I tried on a few different styles of EQ Maternity one piece suits, and I hope this comparison will help others who are trying to decide.

    About me: I'm 5'10", overweight, apple-shaped, average length torso, 6 months pregnant, pretty large chest. I am used to wearing competition swim suits. I was looking for a suit that would provide good coverage and some support in the chest for swimming laps during my pregnancy.

    Although the suits appear to be cut the same, there are some differences:
    1) Harmony Shelf Bra: I agree with other reviewers. The body of this one is a bit short. Also, since the lining is attached to the outer layer of the suit, the shelf bra doesn't actually add any support.
    2) Harmony solid one piece: Also short, but otherwise what I expected.
    3) Laguna print one piece: The cut is very similar to the Harmony suits, but this one was a bit (almost an inch) longer and much more comfortable for me. This was my second choice.
    4) Banded one piece: Although I preferred the look of a solid color, I actually ended up keeping this one. The reason is that the band actually did provide some extra support for my chest because it pulled the suit tight against my ribcage. This one gets 4/5 stars because after wearing it for a while, the leg holes did feel tight in the bikini area.

    Overall, all of the suits had plenty of coverage in the chest and rear for me, though I do agree with other reviewers on some of the suits that the rear is cut a little different than other fitness or competitive suits. The straps are perfect for me, and I am able to swim without the suit gapping when I move.

    Pamela J.
    Seattle, WA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 5/10/2013 Looks good, OK fit

    3 Review stars By Stephanie

    I lap swim regularly and bought this suit when my Speedo couldn't cover both my tummy and my boobs anymore.  I am 5"-6" and my pre-pregnancy weight was somewhere between 125-130.  Normal Speedo size 32.

    PROS: I really like the racerback straps - they don't fall off and they don't cut into my shoulders.  The suit looks good - the lower part is black, which is slimming, and the upper part is blue and green, which draws attention upward.  For now (25 weeks), my belly fits great with some room to spare, but I can't judge how big I'll get or how much room the suit has for end-of-pregnancy belly.

    CONS: The boob coverage is almost too good - the fabric feels like it comes too high into my armpits and rubs a bit while I am swimming.  I don't do particularly long swims anymore, but I would imagine it could cause some chafing.  My solution is to roll the suit under itself (imagine rolling your sleeves in and underneath your bra straps).  Perhaps someone with bigger boobs won't have this same problem.

    Stephanie
    Colorado

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 12/4/2012 Nice suit but no chest support

    4 Review stars By Belen

    I bought this suit for lap swimming and it has been working fine (I'm in the second trimester) and it looks sporty and flattering. I have to agree with other reviews about lack of support in the bust area though. I have a very large chest so I thought it would be ok but that didn't turn out to be the case. That is the only problem I have had with it and it seems like there is lots of room to grow so I will put up with it.

    Belen
    San Francisco, CA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 11/6/2012 Fits great!

    4 Review stars By Katie J.

    I originally bought this suit in a medium - when it came, it was clear there was way too much room in the top half. (Even though I've become better-endowed during my pregnancy, I'm still pretty small.) Based on what other commenters had said, I thought a medium would be just right. (I'm 5"4" and wear a size 6.) My usual competition suit size is a 32. When the medium seemed too big, I ordered the small for comparison, and I'm very happy with it. My only complaint is that the upper portion isn't thick or tight enough to camouflage my now-prominent nipples - sorry if that's too much information, but these things are important! Otherwise, the suit is fantastic - very flattering cut and style. There is definitely some room in the belly for future growth. (I still have 5 months to go.)

    Katie J.
    Durham, NC

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 9/13/2012 Room to grow!

    5 Review stars By CA Swimmer

    I swim about a mile twice a week and have done so for years.  I'm currently four months pregnant and my normal suit was getting very tight, to the point that my suit was putting enough pressure on my abdomen that I felt like I had to urinate after only a couple of laps.  I ordered the EQ banded maternity after much debating between various maternity suits.  So far, it seems great (and I don't feel like I have to pee while I swim!).  

    I ordered my pre-maternity size (L) based on the fact that my normal suite is a size 38.  This maternity suit definitely has lots of room to grow in the tummy area and in fact is a little too big for me now (I'm still mostly in my "normal" clothes).  The tush also has a little bit of gather, but that may very will fill in as I get bigger.  I do wish there was a little more breast support, but if I grow another size there too I think I might fill in the top as well.  The full lining is nice, but I find the stitching a little scratchy compared to my non-maternity Sugoi swimsuit.  

    Let's just hope that the suit holds up for the next 5 months.  If so I will have got my money's worth.

    CA Swimmer
    Long Beach, CA

    Fit:

  • 11/2/2015 Strange fit

    2 Review stars By rchinch

    Too short in the body, too wide in the crotch. It works, but definitely not as comfortable as a non-pregnancy suit. Also, super unflattering. Not a huge deal as this is a suit for swimming, not lounging but it always feels nice to look good.
    Seems like all reviews for maternity suits are similar, so maybe this one isn't the worst but it's definitely not the best. I wouldn't recommend or buy again but it will get me through (somewhat comfortably) the next few months.

    rchinch
    San Francisco, CA

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 8/19/2015 Okay Suit

    3 Review stars By Jporter

    This suit will do the job while pregnant. I normally swim in speedo suits which seem to have a better overall fit.. This suit fits tight in the butt, good in the waist, & big in the top. The logo is already falling off after 1 swim... There aren't many decent priced maternity suits so this one will have to do for the next couple of months!

    Jporter
    Santa Monica, CA

    Fit:

  • 11/20/2013 Great for lap swimming, for larger chest

    5 Review stars By D

    I do moderate intensity lap swimming 3 times a week and this swimsuit is perfect for that. I was a size 8 pre-pregnancy and based on other reviews decided to buy the medium size. There is some extra room in the booty area but it does not ride up. My 26 weeks belly fits comfortable in the front. There is some extra material left, so I think this will fit throughout my pregnancy, but again the suit doesn't look baggy from the front either. I think that this suit is good for people with larger breast, I can imagine that for someone with a smaller chest area the upper part would be too loose. The bands on the back are very sturdy and hold my larger breasts perfectly.  The look of the swimsuit is not very fashionable, but it looks like any other race suit and not like maternity clothing, which is a pro in my opinion.

    D
    MA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 8/1/2013 just ok

    3 Review stars By hnetty

    I like the fit. I usually buy a long suit and have trouble finding maternity suits that sufficiently cover my chest and that don't pull at crotch and shoulders. This one is plenty long. Seems a bit small in the belly though and I still have 2 months to go. I lap swim 3-4 times per week and rinse and hang dry my suit. Have not used suit dryer and it is still starting to get areas where the elastic is failing on the fabric.  Usually that only happens after a year or so with a suit and excessive use of the suit dryer.  Kind of disappointed about that! Also took a long time to arrive after I ordered it.

    hnetty
    Trenton, Il

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 5/9/2013 Great Suit, large on top

    4 Review stars By Summer

    Love this suit for swimming laps. I was a pre-pregnancy size 16 and ordered the XL. It fits great and provides excellent coverage of my chest, which is hard to find. I'm now 32 weeks along and it is still very comfortable.

    I was also  a pre-pregnancy DD and have trouble filling out the top on this swim suit. Because it has good coverage I am not concerned, but it does not offer any support.

    The banded design is flattering and highlights the pregnant bump.

    Summer
    Seattle, WA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 5/7/2013 So far so good

    4 Review stars By Happy

    So today was my first day using the swimsuit. I choose the M size which is comfortable yet still has room to grow. I'm in my 2nd trimester and was size 8 prior to pregnancy. I'm currently at 36 C and feel as though I have good support through the chest. The suit is made of good material and the stiching appears to be sound. The intended purpose of the suit is for lap swim min 3x per week. I will do my best to update the review after some solid use.

    Happy
    Fargo, ND

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 7/31/2012 Great Bathing Suit

    4 Review stars By AAtwood

    This is a tight swim bathing suit but definitely has room to stretch for the growing breasts and belly! I wore it the other day for the first time at 25 weeks and felt sleek as an otter!

    AAtwood
    Oakland, CA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 7/6/2012 Great suit!

    4 Review stars By Allie B

    I was a runner before pregnancy, but used to be a swimmer ages ago.  I got to be about 6-7 months pregnant and realized that running wasn't cutting it, let along walking.  So, I looked on-line for a maternity lapswim suit thinking this would be a great activity for the summer and found this one.  Its been perfect!

    Allie B
    Norfolk, VA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 1/30/2018 Weird leg cut, runs small

    3 Review stars By Ashley W.

    I bought this suit and the Prego maternity sport suit. This one looked nicer on, and was lined unlike the other, but it has a very weird leg cut that feels too low and small unlike a normal lap swimming suit. It was also much tighter than the Prego suit, and didn’t have pads in the chest area, which I liked about the other suit. For someone with very thin thighs in their second trimester, this would work. I kept the other for comfort and fit, but it didn’t last long in the Chlorine. For fit, I’m 5’5” and my pre-pregnancy weight was 127, with a peak of 170 during pregnancy. This suit (small) felt tighter at 28 weeks than the regular speedo I had also bought in a size 8, which is what I used during my second trimester.

    Ashley W.
    Springfield, MO

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 8/29/2017 Not good quality

    1 Review stars By Mary

    Not good quality
    Uncomfortable
    Very thin material
    Bummed I wasted my money on it

    Mary
    Payson AZ

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 8/12/2017 Fits, good for laps

    4 Review stars By C.T.Y

    This swimsuit works well for me.  I'm well-endowed naturally, and pregnancy has exacerbated that more than I ever wanted.  My chest still can fit in this swimsuit comfortably, and I feel covered.  That said, I'm accustomed to wearing competition suits with no padding, so someone who does not usually wear competition suits might feel a little bare and in need of coverage.  I like the colors, and would say the blue / green / black suit is true to picture colors.  I'm pretty sure this suit is going to stretch out quickly based on fabric composition and the amount I swim, so there should be absolutely no problem with a 9 month bump versus my current 5.5 month bump... (2nd pregnancy - I'm expanding more quickly than my first!)

    C.T.Y
    East Coast

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 2/6/2017 will be okay for during pregnancy

    3 Review stars By ibraun

    This fit over my belly, however i am tall, and it is not long enough. I can wear it to swim laps, but definitely wouldn't buy it again. Also, i got the pink one, and its a bit see-through in the chest.

    ibraun
    Kirkland, WA

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 11/14/2016 Great Suit, I recommend it 100%!

    4 Review stars By Erica S.

    I am a 5'1" woman who is 21 weeks pregnant.  Pre-pregnancy I was 120lb and fit perfectly into a standard size 30 TY competition suit.  I never swam competitively and was told by competitive swimming friends of mine that a "correct fit" meant the suit snugly hugged your body and the straps almost cut into your shoulders.  

    I decided to order a medium since I am a bit self-conscious at the moment and didn't want such a snug fit as before.  I would say I probably made a "bad choice" in the sense that a small would've been a bit more flattering with less drag (which is the reason between the 4 and 5 star) .  I also decided to layer an old sports bra underneath (one that I cannot use for running anymore since it cuts into my chest wrong causing chaffing).  

    I have to say, with this one addition I am incredibly happy with my purchase.  The suit is fit to my comfort and I am 100% covered in all the places I feel most self-conscious.  

    I would highly recommend this suit to any other women who have been swimming laps recreationally before.  I would also recommend that you use your prior preferences as a guidance on how you want this suit to fit.  It truly fits perfectly to size, in my opinion, and if you, like me, want a little added coverage/support layering a sports bra under the top is a perfect solution.

    Erica S.
    Washington, DC

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 10/1/2016 probably the best one out there but not great

    3 Review stars By Elena

    I am a competitive triathlete and former collegiate swimmer who now swims on a masters team. This suit it probably the best one you're going to find for a maternity suit that you can actually swim real laps in. That being said it isn't the most comfortable but will do for the next few weeks. I am pre-pregnant size 30 in a competitive swimsuit so I ordered a small.  I am 26 weeks now and the suit fits good but the chest area is a little big. The band is both good and bad. It provides a tight fit between my belly and my chest as my stretched out competitive suit I was using had quite the gap there. The bad thing is kind of rubs a bit so you might want to put some Vaseline or body glide around where the band sits. I love the racerback as other maternity suits have that open back which I can just see as falling down while trying to swim. All in all a good suit to wear temporarily while in the 2nd and 3rd trimester of an active pregnancy.

    Elena
    Massachusetts

    Fit: Feels true to size

Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz