Bettertimes Pull Buoy Reviews
skip to main content
Bettertimes Pull Buoy

Bettertimes Pull Buoy Reviews

Back to product page
  

Page Showing 1-20 of 94 Results

4.5 star rating (94 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 94 customer reviews
  • 10/8/2014 Great Pull Buoy

    5 Review stars By Sheila

    This is the only kind of buoy I will buy. It stays in place and doesn't slip out like the one-piece buoys everyone uses now.  I have pretty thin legs so the other buoys always slip out. This one is nice because it stays in place with little effort.

    Sheila
    San Franicsco, CA

    Fit:

  • 12/21/2013 Still the best

    5 Review stars By Paul O.

    7" is the "normal" size.  Still the best.  I'm a lifelong, accomplished swimmer and I grew up with these.  I also bought the newer foam Speedo buoy, but I regret that purchase.  Just not as good of a buoy.

    Paul O.
    York, PA

    Fit:

  • 4/18/2014 Bettertimes Pull Bouy Just Right

    5 Review stars By Coach Turville

    This pull bouy has been around a long time.  I've selected it again in my coaching and still prefer this product for swim training. I use the medium 7" size as it seems to work well for high school swimmers.  There are other sizes, but this size works the best.

    Coach Turville
    Reno, Nevada

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 9/8/2016 Old times are Now times

    5 Review stars By Sunkissed

    I'm nearing 60 and I swam my whole life so believe me when I say that this "old timey" pull buoy IS in my book the BEST!!! I think this one is better fitted for the body and works fantastic in the water. You can easily make it smaller or larger depending on your body plus its lightweight, It's made to last a lifetime and can withstand any weather when used in an outdoor pool and the chlorine too. The price is right and I give it a 5⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ and "Thumbs up" review to this product!

    Sunkissed
    Calumet City, Illinois

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 11/17/2015 No more searching...

    5 Review stars By COA

    I swim with Masters and was using the local high school student buoy's.  They were becoming fewer and fewer between, until we (or they) got down to a sad 2-3 left.  I decided then to get my own.  I got the 7" and it's the same as what the school has.  It stays put while I'm doing laps. It's an effective tool to help keep legs up so you can focus on stroke and core.  Speaking of, it's 8:15pm...off to swim... : )

    COA
    NY

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 1/29/2015 review from italy

    5 Review stars By R.C.

    I've used this kind of pullbuoy more than 30 years ago and they are still very useful expecially if you use down to the ankles

    R.C.
    Genoa, Italy

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 5/30/2014 What is pictured on the website is not what I received.

    1 Review stars By Hans

    The picture on the website shows a rope holding the pull buoy together.  What they sent me was a pull buoy that was held together with a strap.  I specifically looked for the rope style because it has been my experience that the rope stays in place and does not loosen up.  The strap style constantly loosens up and I find myself readjusting it several times during practice.  I blame Swimoutlet.com for having the wrong information on their website.

    Hans
    OH

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 5/23/2009 Old School Pull Buoy

    4 Review stars By Christina Y.

    Just be careful when ordering. Teenagers go with 6; small, athletic build a 7; and if you're a normal size person get the 8.

    Christina Y.
    Dayton, OH

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 12/2/2008 Flotation Device Floats in A Tight Fit

    3 Review stars By Jimmy the Eel

    This device is okay, but the straps are not lengthy enough to allow for a comfortable fit between the legs.  At least half more of it's current length is needed to be added to make it a fine fit. An additional ten inches would make it a perfect fit.

    Jimmy the Eel
    New York, NY

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 7/15/2017 Robust Pull Buoy

    5 Review stars By Swimming Joe

    This is a very robust "classic" design pull buoy.  I weigh 185 at 6'1" and it provided PLENTY of lift for my lower body.  Very nice, and the adjustments are firm and not difficult to execute.

    Swimming Joe
    Washington, DC

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 6/24/2017 Great for repeated flip turns !

    5 Review stars By Richard H

    My daily swim schedule includes two sets of 10 laps with flip turns and a pull buoy.  These are alternated with hard fin and kick board sets that leave my legs in need of the pull buoy rest. This  routine has been going on for a long time, and now uses the Better Times 7" dual cylinder buoy.  This kind of pull buoy does not become dislodged after repeated turns like the more usual contoured one-piece style supplied by the Y' pool.  Wish I had gotten it years ago !

    Richard H
    King George, VA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 5/25/2017 Just Adequate

    3 Review stars By D. Rhodes

    I'm a fan of this style buoy but this just isn't like the last buoy I had which suddenly broke after years of abuse.  It's super slippery and I'm hoping with time the slickness will wear off.  Also the strap isn't the easiest to adjust,

    D. Rhodes
    Marble Falls, TX

    Fit:

  • 4/28/2017 Stays in place

    5 Review stars By Swimming in VT

    Have tried various pull bouys and found this one stayed in place better than the "bone-shaped" ones.  My legs float a bit when doing flip turns, but it's workable.  Happy to have found a pull-bouy that works for me.

    Swimming in VT
    Cuttingsville, VT

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 4/25/2017 Decent for the price. i got the 8 inch

    4 Review stars By David

    Decent for the price ........I bought the 8 inch.  My legs sink or rather I have a one two kick while my arms do most of the work......LOL  I heard about this product instead of the one piece.  I tried the one  piece foam and yes would slip out if not held tightly by your legs, and in my case I forget to squeeze hard enough when I swim to keep the one piece of foam from sliding out when swimming, " but that's me."  Its a preference thing I guess ?, so you will have to figure that one out. I'm constantly reviewing things as I go along in life.  You can also find me here.......

    https://lipsinkngdattruf.yelp.com

    Highlight copy and paste in Google.

    David
    Long Island NY

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 4/3/2017 So glad I chose this one

    5 Review stars By K

    I like this so much better than the more "contemporary" style of bouy. It stays in place much better and has great flotation. I read several reviews and some experts really liked this even though it's old school. Glad I got it.

    K
    Charlotte, NC

    Fit:

  • 1/31/2017 Sometimes old-style is the best style

    5 Review stars By shay

    I didn't want to risk the new style even though it's prettier. I like not having to focus on slippage or shifting and instead focus on what matters, my stroke, the pull...and this allows me to do so. After reading the reviews on the newer style - I decided to trust what I knew and had and I'm glad I did.

    shay
    San Francisco

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 12/7/2016 Excellent Product

    5 Review stars By Steve K.

    Great product. Far more useful and comfortable than the new style overpriced contour style one piece pull buoys that are on the market now.  Great workout aid, excellent for upper body strength and conditioning.

    Steve K.
    Phoenix, AZ

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 7/1/2016 A little disappointed

    2 Review stars By Matt

    The product is exactly what I expected however the straps are not long enough to have the buoys fit comfortable between my legs. Maybe I ordered the wrong size? Not a huge deal regardless.

    Matt
    CT

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 6/28/2016 nice product

    4 Review stars By VanDamaged

    it's a sweet product.. would've giving it 5 stars, but I'm a picky customer. I wish they were a little  larger around.

    VanDamaged
    Norfolk Va

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 6/25/2016 Oldie but goodie

    5 Review stars By Kerri P.

    Although it is just a pull buoy, having one that works makes for a better work out. I used to use whatever was provided by the pool, but now that I am using a public pool that doesn't provide them, I got to buy what I wanted use. This old school style really is the best. Keeps my legs on the surface, adjustable, doesn't slip. You don't realize how annoying/ineffective the other style is until you use this kind. Went with the size 7 based on other reviews, and it works great.

    Kerri P.
    Washington, DC

    Fit: Feels true to size

Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz