skip to main content

Latest Men's Triathlon Shorts Reviews

  • Top Reviewed
  • Latest Reviews
TYR Men's 9

TYR Men's 9" Competitor Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 17 customer reviews


rating star They Are Fantastic!

By Joe G from NJ on 5/24/2021

Fit: TRUE

I purchased these shorts because I like to commute to my pool via bicycle. Now that the weather is getting consistently warm enough to ride in shorts, I thought it would be great to ride to the pool then ride home without having to carry too much additional gear. I chose these TYR shorts because I only use swim jammers from them as they fit best - and these fit just as great. While they dry quickly once on the bike, I usually towel down a bit so I'm not dripping as I walk through the facility. All in all, I am very happy and would purchase again.


More Reviews on this item

DeSoto Men's Forza 4 Pocket Tri Short

DeSoto Men's Forza 4 Pocket Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 5 customer reviews


rating star Solid construction

By Gene from Athens, Ga on 5/11/2021

Fit: NA

I’m 6’2” 180lb. and ordered large. Had to send the large back as it was too constricting. XL fit perfectly. These pants are built well and very comfortable after several 30+ mile rides.


More Reviews on this item

DeSoto Men's Forza 4 Pocket Tri Short

DeSoto Men's Forza 4 Pocket Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 5 customer reviews


rating star Size is small

By Gene from Athens, GA on 4/29/2021

Fit: NA

6’2” 180lbs. Ordered large and the fit is more compressed than I wished and too confining in the groin


More Reviews on this item

DeSoto Men's Riviera Tri Short

DeSoto Men's Riviera Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 3 customer reviews


rating star Best compression for bike and run

By Fresh Legs from Texas on 4/29/2021

Fit: NA

Tried multiple pair of Tri shorts and decided on these based upon multiple reviews on multiple sites. I used them in 70.3 IM and not disappointed at all. They kept me fresh on the bike and most importantly strong on the run. Even with the high humidity where I live these shorts keep you going!


More Reviews on this item

TYR Men's 9

TYR Men's 9" Competitor Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 17 customer reviews


rating star Great tri shorts!

By Burd from NM on 4/26/2021

Fit: TRUE

These shorts fit great, nice and snug. great in the pool, on the bike, and running.


More Reviews on this item

Louis Garneau Men's Vent Tri Shorts

Louis Garneau Men's Vent Tri Shorts

Product Rating Product Rating 1 customer reviews


rating star Fit well, good pad

By Scott from Santa Clara Utah on 12/27/2020

Fit: NA

Soft material, pad worked well for long bike ride. Pad feels a little thicker than usual tri short, but smaller than a bike short pad.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Men's 9

TYR Men's 9" Competitor Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 17 customer reviews


rating star To many seams

By Phil from Bourbonnais IL on 10/22/2020

Fit: NA

Shorts have to many seams, like the fit.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Men's 8

TYR Men's 8" Competitor Core Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 4 customer reviews


rating star Nice for short rides or Exercycle

By Doug from Cincinnati OH on 9/27/2020

Fit: NA

I like the fit and the thin padding especially for Exercycle. Easy to wash. To wear in triathlon would work well.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Men's 9

TYR Men's 9" Competitor Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 17 customer reviews


rating star Nice Tri shorts

By RogueBiker from Oregon on 9/2/2020

Fit: TRUE

Nice fit and long legs that fit me well. Pad is slightly smaller than most, but it is still comfortable.


More Reviews on this item

Sugoi Men's RPM Tri Short

Sugoi Men's RPM Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 4 customer reviews


rating star Just right!

By Steve F from York, PA on 8/31/2020

Fit: TRUE

Not too much compression or too little seat padding, though, I wouldn't complain for a scotch more on the bottom. I'm not a triathlete, but, I like the shorter inseam and the comfort. I've always bought Pearl Izumi Elite short, but, Sugoi seems to be at least as good. I will try other of their products now.


More Reviews on this item

DeSoto Men's Riviera Tri Short

DeSoto Men's Riviera Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 3 customer reviews


rating star I love the Tri shorts!!

By Tri from Bowling Green, KY on 8/22/2020

Fit: NA

Great quality and style!


More Reviews on this item

Zoot Men's Core Tri 9 Inch Short

Zoot Men's Core Tri 9 Inch Short

Product Rating Product Rating 5 customer reviews


rating star New favorite shorts

By Wes from Watertown on 8/17/2020

Fit: NA

Fit great and stay on legs good. First tri in them and everything felt great.


More Reviews on this item

DeSoto Men's Forza 4 Pocket Tri Short

DeSoto Men's Forza 4 Pocket Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 5 customer reviews


rating star Exactly what I wanted

By Steve from Minnesota on 8/6/2020

Fit: TRUE

I'm only a casual triathlon who usually would get xl, but I didn't need a super tight fit, so the xxl worked great.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Men's 8

TYR Men's 8" Competitor Core Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 4 customer reviews


rating star Solid shorts

By David from South Carolina on 8/3/2020

Fit: TRUE

I have very muscular legs so the the shorts are a bit tight in the groin crease during the cycling portion of a workout/race, but otherwise very good item. Supportive during the run so you're not all bouncing around either. I'd buy another if I needed it.


More Reviews on this item

DeSoto Men's Riviera Tri Short

DeSoto Men's Riviera Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 3 customer reviews


rating star Excellent

By Marco from Miami on 6/17/2020

Fit: TRUE

Nice short, perfect for medium to long rides, very confortable, nice padding.


More Reviews on this item

2XU Men's Compression Tri Short

2XU Men's Compression Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 1 customer reviews


rating star Comfortable Compression

By kuzag48 from New Jersey on 6/10/2020

Fit: NA

I bought these when I was shopping for a new triathlon suit. These are essentially tri shorts with more compressive legs. That said, I was able to get away with ordering the smaller of the two sizes I was considering. Even so, they are very comfortable, no cutting in anywhere, even after wearing for hours. I’m a 34-35” waist and ordered the Medium. The material is quality, and the level of compression is just right. And they look good too! Only complaint is that the chamois may be a little thick. In the saddle I definitely knew it was there. But I may still be able to compensate with some strategic fabric shifting. I know “to each his own” when it comes to chamois thickness, so this is probably not be a deal breaker for most. I’ve run some shorter distances in them [OPENBRK]10K and below[CLOSEBRK] and the chamois is not an issue. As far as compression, as always you’re looking at a subtle effect [OPENBRK]you’re not suddenly going to be spinning 100rpm for hours or running 6 minute miles overnight—unless that’s normally your thing[CLOSEBRK], but they do help take the edge off when you start to fatigue and they do help with recovery time. Make no mistake, they should feel snug, but not uncomfortable or painful. All in all, no regrets!


More Reviews on this item

Zoot Men's Ltd Tri 9 Inch Short

Zoot Men's Ltd Tri 9 Inch Short

Product Rating Product Rating 2 customer reviews


rating star cycling shorts

By Stacyib from NC on 2/22/2020

Fit: NA

I love that these shorts are long! Great quality fabric!


More Reviews on this item

DeSoto Men's Mobius 4 Pocket Tri Short

DeSoto Men's Mobius 4 Pocket Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 5 customer reviews


rating star Love these tri shorts...

By GGG from Honolulu, HI on 2/19/2020

Fit: TRUE

Snug and comfortable fit.


More Reviews on this item

Zoot Men's Ltd Tri 9 Inch Short

Zoot Men's Ltd Tri 9 Inch Short

Product Rating Product Rating 2 customer reviews


rating star Love Zoot shorts!

By Mike from LV from Henderson, NV on 1/15/2020

Fit: NA

They have excellent stitching. Privacy panel is actually adequate for men. Most brands don’t seem to get it with this important aspect of cycling shorts.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Men's 7

TYR Men's 7" Competitor Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 13 customer reviews


rating star Return

By Defective product from Minneapolis-St paul on 1/1/2020

Fit: NA

The tie string on this product was defective so will be returning product, came apart from sides inside seem at the worst time , at the race. Lucky that I had an old pair.


More Reviews on this item

DeSoto Men's Mobius 4 Pocket Tri Short

DeSoto Men's Mobius 4 Pocket Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 5 customer reviews


rating star Wow

By Mxblues98 from Wisconsin on 12/27/2019

Fit: TRUE

Great compression, excellent pad, and amazing workmanship. Desoto has best quality tri gear ever


More Reviews on this item

DeSoto Men's Mobius 4 Pocket Tri Short

DeSoto Men's Mobius 4 Pocket Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 5 customer reviews


rating star Still the best shorts

By Mxblues98 from Wisconsin on 12/27/2019

Fit: TRUE

Best shorts ever for tri. Great fleece pad is thin and does not bunch up or chafe. And these shorts last- still use three pairs after over 5+ yrs as training shorts


More Reviews on this item

TYR Men's 7

TYR Men's 7" Competitor Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 13 customer reviews


rating star Excellent

By Turner from Hillsboro, OR on 12/21/2019

Fit: NA

Perfect fit, padding is great, really cofortable.


More Reviews on this item

Canari Men's Tri Short

Canari Men's Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 2 customer reviews


rating star nice value, comfy fit

By Mick from Florida on 12/20/2019

Fit: TRUE

Usually only do 20 mile rides and works well without being as bulky as regular riding shorts


More Reviews on this item

TYR Men's 8

TYR Men's 8" Competitor Core Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 4 customer reviews


rating star Comfy & Supportive

By Christopher from Rolling Meadows, IL on 10/19/2019

Fit: NA

Comfortable, move well with your body. Left waist string broke as soon as I put it on! Not a big problem as it fits well...


More Reviews on this item

Zoot Men's Core Tri 9 Inch Short

Zoot Men's Core Tri 9 Inch Short

Product Rating Product Rating 5 customer reviews


rating star Good value

By LearnerJoe from Texas on 9/9/2019

Fit: TRUE

Tried then in pool and bike so far - both good.
Pad is minimal, so I wouldn't want to ride more than 20 miles in these.
Good value for the price.


More Reviews on this item

Sugoi Men's RPM Tri Short

Sugoi Men's RPM Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 4 customer reviews


rating star Great so far

By NJTriman from Princeton, NJ on 9/3/2019

Fit: TRUE

Gearing up for my first triathlon, I have now worn these Medium-sized tri shorts on the bike, in the water, and on the run, and they work exactly as I had hoped. Although I wanted shorts with a relatively short inseam like these, I didn't want them to be so tight and short as to make my legs look like sausages (some others did when I tried them in the store). These are just right. I am just under 5'10" and weigh 154 pounds at my lightest. My thighs are pretty thick, and my waist varies between 32 and 33 inches. I got the black and olive color which is pretty dark and subdued. The chamois is not noticeable during the swim and run, but definitely welcome for the bike. I hope they last a long time, but am realistic that I'll wear through them pretty quick if I keep training in them. Although made in Taiwan, Sugoi is a Japanese company with the usual high quality which is worth a premium in my book.


More Reviews on this item

Zoot Men's Core Tri 9 Inch Short

Zoot Men's Core Tri 9 Inch Short

Product Rating Product Rating 5 customer reviews


rating star 9 inch is a little long

By Big Bob from Florida on 8/9/2019

Fit: TRUE

Fits great and feels great. Very well made and comfortable. A little longer than i would prefer. i am 6'4" so I have a lot of leg to cover. 8 inch would be perfect.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Men's 9

TYR Men's 9" Competitor Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 17 customer reviews


rating star Exactly what you want

By Max Hafen from NY on 7/28/2019

Fit: TRUE

These are surprisingly comfortable in the water and feel great on the bike. Definitely my first choice.


More Reviews on this item

Zoot Men's Core Tri 9 Inch Short

Zoot Men's Core Tri 9 Inch Short

Product Rating Product Rating 5 customer reviews


rating star Swim, Bike, Run

By AG from Wisconsin on 7/22/2019

Fit: TRUE

I prefer triathlon shorts for all of my training, including long bike rides, swims and runs. I was looking for a basic tri short that I could wear with various tops (tri, or cycling jerseys). The Zoot Core works great for me! I have both the 9" and 7" shorts, although I wear the 9" more often for cycling. I purchased both red and blue. Great shorts! I'm 6', 190 lbs. and wear size Large. Hope that helps! Happy training!


More Reviews on this item

Sugoi Men's RPM Tri Short

Sugoi Men's RPM Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 4 customer reviews


rating star Good value Tri short

By Coy from Philadelphia on 7/16/2019

Fit: TRUE

Good value and great Tri short


More Reviews on this item

Sugoi Men's RPM Tri Short

Sugoi Men's RPM Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 4 customer reviews


rating star Great tri short

By Rwyss from Iowa City, Iowa on 7/15/2019

Fit: TRUE

Had a previous pair and these do not disappoint.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Men's 9

TYR Men's 9" Competitor Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 17 customer reviews


rating star Great shorts

By tc from san francisco, ca on 7/15/2019

Fit: TRUE

I wore these shorts for a sprint tri and they worked great. The fit was good and they were quite comfortable during the swim (under a wetsuit), bike and run.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Men's 9

TYR Men's 9" Competitor Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 17 customer reviews


rating star Perfect!

By Mark from UT on 6/29/2019

Fit: TRUE

Fit just as I hoped. Feel good


More Reviews on this item

DeSoto Men's Mobius 4 Pocket Tri Short

DeSoto Men's Mobius 4 Pocket Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 5 customer reviews


rating star Wow

By Dan from San Antonio, Tx on 6/11/2019

Fit: TRUE

I'm size 32 , so I bought M it was the right size , like globe, feels great for swim, run and for my bikecycle.


More Reviews on this item

Canari Men's Tri Short

Canari Men's Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 2 customer reviews


rating star Value-priced triathlon shorts

By J. M. from New Jersey on 5/22/2019

Fit: TRUE

Good shorts for the value price. The waistband was a bit higher up the hip than other more expensive shorts I've bought, and it was great not to feel like I needed to keep pulling the shorts up during a run. No pockets or design/color, but for about fifty clams, it has a great fit and the right balance of butt padding for swim and then cycle.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Men's 7

TYR Men's 7" Competitor Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 13 customer reviews


rating star TYR Men's Tri Short

By Carol from Georgia on 4/23/2019

Fit: TRUE

Bought for a women who prefers the TRI Short Chamois. Excellent fit, materials and style!


More Reviews on this item

DeSoto Men's Forza 4 Pocket Tri Short

DeSoto Men's Forza 4 Pocket Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 5 customer reviews


rating star Wow...the perfect try short no matter the distance!

By Iron_Mike from Deer Park, IL on 4/20/2019

Fit: TRUE

Ever get sore down below because the narrowing of the pad right when you hit the seat?!? Well...you know what I mean if you use an Adamo seat!!!! These are the perfect choice!! That is, these are perfect for ALL distances from my experience...Sprint up to Iron distance!!!

One small note on what I've noticed (over several years): You need to use a bit more lube that doesn't break-down over long rides (since the pad can feel a MILD abrasive if not). In fact, I use Asos 1st AND then Chamois butter on top; and, I always use alcohol wipes after). That's just good care though, no matter the tri shorts!

I'm ordering more to reduce the need to do laundry so often (my wife will like that!!!) :)


More Reviews on this item

TYR Men's 7

TYR Men's 7" Competitor Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 13 customer reviews


rating star Winter use tri short

By Steve, the Dad from Mpls, MN on 3/7/2019

Fit: TRUE

Used the Tyr tri-short in spin class and worked just fine. Fit well with no ride up at waist or leg and provided enough cushion for 1-1/2 hour session.


More Reviews on this item

DeSoto Men's Forza Tri Short

DeSoto Men's Forza Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 2 customer reviews


rating star Get What You Pay For

By Mr Mark from Louisiana on 10/9/2018

Fit: TRUE

These shorts are one of the best items of tri kit I have purchased.
They are obviously extremely well made of high quality fabrics. They fit and feel right in all the right places. Just the right amount of compression. They are very comfortable on the bike for long rides (better than some of my bike shorts) and easy to run in.
I cannot rate these highly enough and I have since purchased more DeSoto gear. It's the higher end price wise, but it's the top end of quality.


More Reviews on this item

DeSoto Men's Mobius 4 Pocket Tri Short

DeSoto Men's Mobius 4 Pocket Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 5 customer reviews


rating star Comfort and pockets!

By Rufus Acosta from Bakersfield, CA on 9/23/2018

Fit: TRUE

Mr. Cheap, that's me, once again regretted splurging for the luxury of pockets, since I was doing just fine with out them all these years. Get these shorts! They offer modest compression which no one could possibly dislike, they are comfortable and silky, and they have pockets which you will use, even if you think you won't. A superb balance of functionality, style and price. These are my new favorite shorts.


More Reviews on this item

DeSoto Men's Forza Tri Short

DeSoto Men's Forza Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 2 customer reviews


rating star One gets what they pay for.

By Rufus Acosta from Bakersfield, CA on 9/23/2018

Fit: TRUE

These are not just pricey shorts, but a functional piece of equipment. Being a cheap person, I felt funny about buying these, but during first bike ride the cooling feature at the front of the quads kicked in and I was in love with these shorts. Yes, the compression is formidable. Error on the larger size if in doubt and you will be fine.
I'm 5'9", 180 lbs and I have the L size. They are tight (appropriately so) and the correct size for me. The compression is not distracting on the rides/runs.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Men's 9

TYR Men's 9" Competitor Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 17 customer reviews


rating star Very satisfied with quality and fit

By Denny from East Petersburg, PA on 9/7/2018

Fit: TRUE

Very satisfied with fur and quality of product


More Reviews on this item

TYR Men's 9

TYR Men's 9" Competitor Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 17 customer reviews


rating star Great tri-short!

By Kenny from Asheville, NC on 8/31/2018

Fit: TRUE

I'm 6'4 and 210 lbs with fairly large quads. These fit perfect. Not too tight. No chafing on the bike. I trust the brand and didn't even need to tie the drawstrings to keep them on during the swim.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Men's 7

TYR Men's 7" Competitor Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 13 customer reviews


rating star Triathlon Shorts

By Johnny from El Paso, TX on 8/27/2018

Fit: TRUE

I am very pleased on how they feel and are just the right size fit. These shorts will definitely be perfect for my upcoming Tri-Athlon race.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Men's 7

TYR Men's 7" Competitor Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 13 customer reviews


rating star Great Product

By S. Richardson from Yukon, OK on 8/24/2018

Fit: TRUE

My son said the shorts were perfect for what he needs for his triathlon.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Men's 9

TYR Men's 9" Competitor Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 17 customer reviews


rating star Stiff padding

By Scott from Deteoit on 8/20/2018

Fit: TOOSMALL

Great biking short but the padding was much too present when I tried to run. Chaffed me raw.


More Reviews on this item

Zoot Men's Core Tri 9 Inch Short

Zoot Men's Core Tri 9 Inch Short

Product Rating Product Rating 5 customer reviews


rating star Great fit and very comfortable

By forest from High Point, North Carolina on 8/13/2018

Fit: TRUE

I bought these for my first triathlon. They are very comfortable and fit true to size. I've started wearing these for all my rides and will be buying another pair soon.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Men's 7

TYR Men's 7" Competitor Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 13 customer reviews


rating star Comfortable fit

By Johnnyd from Midland, MI on 8/11/2018

Fit: TRUE

I bought these shorts for a 140.6 race. Nice quality for the price. Recently did a 56 mile training ride on my tri-bike followed by a three mile run. Plenty of padding when in an aero position. Unrestrictive on the run. 5’7” 175 lbs. Size Large.


More Reviews on this item

TYR Men's 7

TYR Men's 7" Competitor Tri Short

Product Rating Product Rating 13 customer reviews


rating star Good Tri short

By Alan from Austin, Tx on 7/30/2018

Fit: TRUE

fit well, comfortable pad. 45 mile ride right out of the box. Very satisfied.


More Reviews on this item