skip to main content

Latest Hip Rotators Reviews

  • Top Reviewed
  • Latest Reviews
FINIS Tech Toc

FINIS Tech Toc

Product Rating Product Rating 20 customer reviews


rating star Love the sound

By Sheepbees from Exeter, RI on 12/31/2019

Fit: NA

My master's swim coach had me try this during a practice. I loved it so much I bought one for my self and one for my husband. The sound is like a metronome and it tells me when my stroke is too choppy and I am not rotating properly. My daughter swims on a club team and she likes it too.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tech Toc

FINIS Tech Toc

Product Rating Product Rating 20 customer reviews


rating star Capsule a bit large

By KATHLEEN M. from TONAWANDA, NY on 12/30/2019

Fit: NA

The capsule with the ball bearing is much larger than I pictured, and is more than I want to attach to myself in the pool. The idea is great; maybe the capsule could be smaller on a future model, so that I can wear it more comfortably and more often without feeling like a shark with a fin!


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tech Toc

FINIS Tech Toc

Product Rating Product Rating 20 customer reviews


rating star Money well spent

By Kon from Ontario on 10/27/2017

I am a coach and advised my swimmers to buy the Tech Toc. Teaches rotation and rhythm . great equioment.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tech Toc

FINIS Tech Toc

Product Rating Product Rating 20 customer reviews


rating star Hels Technique

By TN from Knoxville, TN on 7/20/2014

Really helps technique


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tech Toc

FINIS Tech Toc

Product Rating Product Rating 20 customer reviews


rating star Tech Toc

By Mike from Troy, OH on 7/5/2014

A good aid in learning how far to rotate the hips. Easy to use. Goes on as easy as a belt. I had a little trouble hearing the ball bearings hit, but I am a little hard of hearing.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Hydro Hips

FINIS Hydro Hips

Product Rating Product Rating 4 customer reviews


rating star Definitely Pros and Cons to this training device

By Rebecca K. from Wasilla, AK on 6/8/2014

The idea behind this is good - the swimmer must exaggerate hip rotation to avoid hitting the blades with their hands as they pull. I will say that using the belt does tend to lead to better hip rotation - HOWEVER, I have a hard time getting my swimmer to wear the belt because it won't stay in place no matter how tight she pulls it. So it is annoying and counter-productive to have the swimmer stop every 25 yards to readjust the belt. I wish we had tried the other model that clicks...


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tech Toc - Yellow

FINIS Tech Toc - Yellow

Product Rating Product Rating 20 customer reviews


rating star Would recommend

By Ganeshan from Auckland, New Zealand on 4/13/2014

Instructional video by Finis on the web is a good place to look at how to use this product. Note that the two sides of the tube with the ball bearing are one and the same tube and to move from Delay OFF to ON and vice versa, one has to hold the base with one hand and the tube with the other hand and twist. It is a good product to use to get the right amount of hip roatation. The OFF and ON settings are useful, the OFF for swimmers with little or no hip rotation and the ON for those who are doing it reasonably well. Lucky for me, I was already doing it right and the clicks came at every stroke with the delay set to ON. I tried it both at the hip and at the waist and both worked well for freestyle. I am yet to try for backstroke and breaststroke. When I first took it out of the packaging, I found the noise too loud and thought it may annoy other pool users. When I used it at the pool, other users hardly noticed it. The level of sound was just right for me to get feedback. The belt is solid. I may update this review after I have used it a lot more. At this stage, I highly recommend it - I see so many people swimming 'flat' with little or no hip rotation and they will certainly benefit by using this product.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tech Toc - Yellow

FINIS Tech Toc - Yellow

Product Rating Product Rating 20 customer reviews


rating star Is great!

By negrita from Toa Alta, PR on 3/15/2014

Is great to correct your performance. It help me to better my time, I love it! I recommend it.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tech Toc

FINIS Tech Toc

Product Rating Product Rating 20 customer reviews


rating star Item to Try!

By Negrita from Toa Alta, PR on 3/6/2014

I like it! Is very easy to get use to it. I recommend it for the new swimmers and for those who want to better their performance. If you try-it and think that you didn't need it, at least you can confirm that you are doing things right. ;)


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tech Toc

FINIS Tech Toc

Product Rating Product Rating 20 customer reviews


rating star Borrow one if you can

By Morty from Salem, OR on 11/11/2013

When i first saw this in a video, I was pretty convinced I needed one.

But after getting one, I realize my roll is pretty darn good.

It's helpful to get the confirmation on the roll and to tune it up (along with the timing of your stroke). But I wished I could have borrowed it a couple of times and be done.

I'm going to loan it to some of my swimming buddies. It's a helpful tool. If you are a flat swimmer or don't really know if your hands are exiting as they should be, it's a great tool.

Too bad it's not a common item for pools to just loan out or even rent for a couple of bucks.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tech Toc

FINIS Tech Toc

Product Rating Product Rating 20 customer reviews


rating star must have for beginners

By fatih from turkey on 4/30/2013

sometimes 1 tool is more than 1000 words.this swimming metronome is one of those gears.sometimes however or how many times you try tocorrect the athletes' wrong habits, they may grasp the point. body rotation and balance is very important for a swimmer and by using this tool, the swimmer notices the wrong move simultaneously. i think, intermediates shoul use it to improve their skills.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tech Toc

FINIS Tech Toc

Product Rating Product Rating 20 customer reviews


rating star AS EXPECTED!

By Elizabeth from Bronx, NY on 1/24/2013

What an AWESOME gadget, I'll give it a 5! It does works as promised and is so easy. I had such an improvement after I started using it. I am glad that I got it!


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tech Toc

FINIS Tech Toc

Product Rating Product Rating 20 customer reviews


rating star Finis Tech Toc

By Topgun09 from St louis, mo on 6/28/2012

I took it to my Tri swim class, and everyone loved it. Great instant feedback.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tech Toc

FINIS Tech Toc

Product Rating Product Rating 20 customer reviews


rating star I like this thing!

By Steve from Boise, Idaho on 4/17/2012

I was a little concerned about the noise this product made. So I asked the lifeguard to listen for it. He said he could not hear the click - click. So that was encouraging. I'm anxious to see if this helps my swim stroke. Time will tell. Very easy to put on and take off. Right now I use it for 50% of my workouts.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Hydro Hips

FINIS Hydro Hips

Product Rating Product Rating 4 customer reviews


rating star FINIS Hydro Hips

By Blayne from Reno, NV on 3/29/2012

They work. Use for 150-200 yds at a time only and repeat yardage without fins. By time you get to 4th set you will notice the change in hip rotation.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tech Toc

FINIS Tech Toc

Product Rating Product Rating 20 customer reviews


rating star See if you can try it before you buy it

By Robert D. from Newhall, CA on 8/12/2011

It does what it is expected to do. I was merely curious as there is so much now on hip rotation and everyone keeps talking about it. The only thing that I will accredit is that it makes you mindful and conscious of rotating your hips. If you have issues with rotating your hips then this device will pay dividends but if you already have good rotation as it is, my advice is to pass on. I do not really need this. I did try to contact the Company Tech department and left them a message. I could not figure out how to swivel from 35% to the 45% and I got no response from Finis.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tech Toc

FINIS Tech Toc

Product Rating Product Rating 20 customer reviews


rating star I love it! It works! Swimming better than ever

By suzanne from la jolla, ca on 10/4/2010

I was only rotating completely on the right side 60% of the time. In one day I learned to correct that and the third day I got 100% Clicks. Hooray! Of course, underwater, all the other swimmers can hear the clicks so I had to explain. Drove them nuts for a while at the La Jolla YMCA. Now I will start on my backstroke.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tech Toc

FINIS Tech Toc

Product Rating Product Rating 20 customer reviews


rating star Helpful

By StillLearning from Alexandria City, VA on 7/16/2010

I have poor hip rotation thus need anything that would help them get with the program. I use this gizmo to learn swim with proper rotation and it does help.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tech Toc

FINIS Tech Toc

Product Rating Product Rating 20 customer reviews


rating star Dresses Up the Drills

By Sandra B. from Menlo Park, CA on 2/14/2010

I bought this device to provide feedback on my drills. I was disappointed in the lack of instruction that came with the device. So I wrote to Adam Young (swim coach extraordinaire in Perth Australia) and he provided the much needed instructions: "The main job of the tech toc is to give you feedback on your body roll and your roll timing. It should click on every stroke as your leading hand enters the water and extends forwards. If it doesn't click, or there's a delay, focus on the arm extension onto that side. It's particularly useful during a long swim as when you get tired you tend to rotate less through the water and the Tech Toc gives you instant feedback on that." The rhythm of the 'tocs' is very important - monitor it particularly when you go to breathe. Try and get each stroke evenly spaced, so regular toc-toc-toc-toc-toc, even on a breathing stroke. If you get an uneven rhythm this can show your stroke is lopsided. Or a faster toc on a breathing stroke shows you your arm is dropping in the water as you breathe - this is very common, focus on extending that arm and keeping it strong as you breathe." One thing though- check with your lane and the lane next to you prior to using the device-sometimes the "tocs" can be irritating to them if they don't understand the origin of the noise. Otherwise, I found the device to be helpful as a teaching modality.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tech Toc

FINIS Tech Toc

Product Rating Product Rating 20 customer reviews


rating star A very neat gadget

By PSwim from Greensboro, NC on 3/26/2009

I like it and am glad I have it, and it does exactly what it claims. Bear in mind that it will create extra drag, so don't expect to keep up with fast swimmers while using it. Bear in mind that while you'll get an audible "click" when you roll, you'll still need close supervision by your coach to know if when you're rolling correctly, so this tool needs to be used in conjunction with someone watching you, at least initially.


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Hydro Hips

FINIS Hydro Hips

Product Rating Product Rating 4 customer reviews


rating star sizing of the hydro hips

By Thomas from Baytown, TX on 6/12/2008

Have done a quite a bit of research on them. Finally broke down and bought a set. Makes a huge difference in the way you rotate your body on freestyle and backstroke...Love mine for my PERSONAL use. However, I am a size 34 waist...If you are buy 1 for someone with a waist size of a typical teenager, it WON'T fit. The strap that goes around your waist is desgined for bigger adult types. Really wanted it for my daughter who is 12 and it goes around her 2x...


More Reviews on this item

FINIS Tech Toc

FINIS Tech Toc

Product Rating Product Rating 20 customer reviews


rating star Finis Tech Toch

By K. Castro from Vacaville, CA on 5/8/2008

This is a great product! Gives instant feedback to the swimmer. We used this at practice with instant results. Only drawback is the belt is large and not very adjustable for junior swimmers.


More Reviews on this item