Now Accepting PayPal and Google Wallet

TYR CrossBlade Training Fin

TYR CrossBlade Training Fin Reviews

Back to product page
  

Page Showing 1-20 of 166 Results

3 star rating (166 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 166 customer reviews
  • 2/10/2013 Be careful

    rating star By Douglas H.

    Extremely narrow.  I ordered a size larger and still too tight to wear.  My wife's pair just fit but she has a narrow foot.

    Douglas H.
    Raleigh, NC

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 2/8/2014 Good fins, but ...

    rating star By Jay S.

    These are good training fins, but they are sized too small.  The fins work great and if they fit your feet you will like them tremendously.  Unfortunately I am in-between sizes in these fins.  I wear an 11.5 shoe and bought the 11-13 thinking they would work well because of the size going to 13; I was wrong.  The 11-13 is too small for me, but I am afraid the 13-15 will be too big.  I will have to keep looking for some fins that fit better.

    Jay S.
    ALEXANDRIA, VA

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 1/29/2014 Exactly what I was looking for

    rating star By MJ

    They fit perfectly and are very comfortable. I am a size 7 women and I took the green ones.

    MJ
    Pasadena

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 1/12/2014 Just What We Needed

    rating star By Joanne C.

    Our swim coach advised us to get a size smaller than shoe size for the girls.  My daughter wears a shoe size 13-1, the fin size 1-3 was the correct size, so sizing down would not have worked.  In general I say they run small, so size up a little.

    Joanne C.
    Wynnewood, PA

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 7/19/2013 Uncomfortable and Awkward

    rating star By @MarlinsScott

    I accidentally ordered a set of these and the EBP Burner fins from TYR, and I wear a size 11 1/2 shoe.  The EBP fins are spectacular and fit comfortably, although I might recommend a person size 12 to move up into the 13-15 range.  The 11-13 Crossblades featured here were painful.  They're going back to the swim outlet - go with the EBPs!

    @MarlinsScott
    Rochester, NY

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 3/23/2013 TYR CrossBlade Training Fin - Size 9-11(Red)

    rating star By Claudia

    I wear a Women's 10.5 in normal shoes. Bought TYR CrossBlade Training Fin in Size 9-11(Red). There were too small; my toes were hanging over at the top.

    Claudia
    San Francisco, CA

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 1/25/2013 good training fin

    rating star By shane

    i use these because they are short and stiff enough to allow a proper swim kick.  the long floppy ones don't allow for a fast kick tempo.

    shane
    nashville

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 11/6/2012 Great FINS!

    rating star By Canadain Swimmer

    Fins fit great for swimmers with narrow feet. Last pair of TYR Crossblades lasted approximately 4 years!

    Canadain Swimmer
    Canada

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 10/2/2012 Way too small

    rating star By Sarah

    Once we got the next size up we were very pleased.  My daughter wears a 2 and she couldn't get her feet into the 1-3 size.

    Sarah
    Indiana

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 9/6/2012 just right for the requirement

    rating star By James''s Mom

    We were required to have these for the fall swimming program at our pool. My son wears size 3 so I was a bit worried about the size 3-5 being too big, but he says they fit fine.

    James''s Mom
    Orinda, CA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 7/7/2012 Great pair of fins!

    rating star By Jo D.

    Perfect fins for my 8-yr old swimmer!  Have already seen a difference in her times.  Fits right to size, she's between a 3-5 in shoes and is tall for her age.

    Jo D.
    Raymond, IL

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 7/5/2012 Love these fins

    rating star By Tyrnnca

    I have been using these fins for about a year and a half or so.  They replaced a set of longer-bladed Speedo fins I had, which eventually broke and had to be thrown away.  I'm pretty happy with these fins.  They're sturdy yet flexible enough.  And the shorter blade provides for a stronger, more intense work-out.
    After my favorite fins died, I tried a couple different fins (they were Speedo fins) but found that they were so heavy and stiff on my feet that the arches in my feet (especially my right foot) would cramp up immediately during use in the water.  I couldn't go one length of the pool without my arches cramping. Since I have a hard time with my cramping arches, I struggled with finding a fin that minimized cramping and provided a good workout at the same time.  I finally tried these fins and have been happy with the results.  Although my arches cramp up on occasion, it's nothing like it was with the two previous replacement fins.  And they cramp up about as often in these fins as they did in my favorite fins that died.
    One thing I did do when I purchased these TYR fins was purchase the TYR soft booties.   They're wonderful for preventing blisters (if you're prone to getting blisters).  I've tried the fins with and without the booties.  When I'm using the fins without, I blister the majority of the time.  Not all the time, but the majority of the time.  So, now I just always use the booties with the fins.
    The booties are the reason I gave a 4 out of 5 rating.  If I didn't have to use the booties, it'd be a 5 out of 5.
    Now, about sizing.  To me, they ran true to size.  I wear a woman's 8.5/9, depending on shoes.  So I ordered the yellow fin (7-9).  Even when wearing the booties, my feet are comfortable in the fins; they don't feel too tight.
    Lastly, I feel the price for these fins is a good price.  The two replacement fins I tried prior to purchasing these were much more in cost, and were absolutely uncomfortable!  (They made my fin section of swimming miserable, and I couldn't wait to get them off!)  These are $20 and some change, and have been a dependable fin (so far).  If these fins died, I would replace them with another set of the same fins.
    So, in summary, you can't go wrong with these fins, especially for the price!  I would recommend the booties to go with the fins, just in case.  Glad I got them.

    Tyrnnca
    Oregon

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 3/25/2012 True to size; Red = women's size 10

    rating star By Susan

    I chose these for two reasons.  First, the Speedo fins were getting terrible reviews...so many people said the top of the speedo fins would tear after only a few weeks.  Second, I asked three people in Masters Swim what they use, and all three have used the TYR CrossBlade fin for a long time with no tearing issues.  I've only used these for four training sessions so far, but no blisters, no tearing, no break-in period.  Also, I read the reviews about the sizing, but no one ever specified if their size 9's were women's or men's.  so, I'm here to tell you that the red crossblades, which I are a large, fit perfect on my women's size 10 foot.  They would fit a 9 and a 9-1/2, but probably not larger than a 10.  Hope that helps.

    Susan
    Parker, CO

    Fit:

  • 1/18/2012 Great for training

    rating star By Joseph

    This is my 3rd pair in 2 years.  I am a size 10 shoe and they seem fit tight enough that my foot doesn't slip.  They are great for training and for flip turns.  I like the mid length fin, helps with speed and conditioning.  They don't hold up well to chlorine the thins rubber on the upper part near the toes has failed on both pairs after 7-8 months of  4 workouts per week.  I like them better than long fins or the other brand.

    Joseph
    Tampa, FL

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 3/15/2011 SICK Fins!

    rating star By Nate G.

    I am finally writing this review after a full year of owning it.  Let me tell you this is a great fin.  I used this fin about everyday at swim practice and have had no problem with it.  Its longer than like a zoomer, but not too long.  its perfect for providign resistance but your still able to do a almost race tempo kick.  I used them for all different strokes.  They fit really good, they are really compfortable.  One thing i noticed is that with the speedo biofused fins that my feet seem to kinda sink because they are heavy but these are perfectly light and strong.  They seem to have been really holding up after the first year.  But we will just have to see if they stay like that.  
    Over all they have been really good.  Compfy, durable, light, fit good, help me kick better too.  If you are questioning these dont they are great.

    Nate G.
    Greencastle, IN

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 1/5/2011 sizing all wrong

    rating star By Jenny S.

    ordered these for my  8  yr old daughter.  she wears a size 2 shoe so I got the 1-3 fins.  they are so small that her big toe and second toe stick out of the front!! lucky for me I also have a 6 yr old who swims!!

    Jenny S.
    Savannah, GA

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 10/13/2010 TYR CrossBlade Training Fin

    rating star By Waterproof60

    Excellent Product!!!  Very comfortable!!! I've tried other Training Fins and this one is the most comfortable.  Very good for swimming laps in a relaxed mode.  I would recommend this fin to any lap swimmer.
    Thanks

    Waterproof60
    Lansing, Michigan

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 6/16/2010 Nice workout!

    rating star By Sherilyn

    I bought these to replace my longer fins, as I felt I wasn't getting a good enough workout.  I followed the recommendations for sizing and found it worked for me; I wear a 7.5-8 womens shoe and ordered the size 5-7 (green) fins.  My toes go slightly over the lip of the opening, but the pressure on my toes is only noticeable when I'm walking in them, not when I'm swimming.  If I had gone any larger then I'm pretty confident the would have been too loose.  

    I've used them in the pool a few times and can absolutely tell a difference.  Not only are these more comfortable than my long Speedo fins but my legs are being forced to do more work than before.  I'm very happy with this purchase!

    Sherilyn
    VA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 4/11/2010 perfect fit

    rating star By taylor

    I wear women shoe size of 5 for pumps, 5.5 and 6 for sneakers. I got the Orange one (size 3-5) and fit perfectly! No blisters, no redmarks after wearing. They are very comfortable. If you are wondering which size to buy, I wouldn't size down for women,  even though it says to size down 1-2. But rather, it will hug your feet kinda feeling. So if anything, I would go larger.

    taylor
    las vegas, NV

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 7/21/2009 Fantastic product

    rating star By I.H.

    I decided to get fins because my front crawl kick is horrible. A swim instructor suggested that I get fins because my ankles are stiff and not floppy; Fins will force me to bend my ankles and get a feel for how the kick should work.
    After carefully reviewing everybody's comments I purchased these fins! I wear size 14/15 shoes so I got 48/49 (15-17).  They are slightly big i.e. I can insert my thumb but they dont come off when I swim.
    So after a couple of days learning how to kick with the fins - voila- they work and force you to bend your ankles. The first few days my ankles were really sore but I got the hang of it. The last couple of days my front crawl kicks (without fins) have dramatically improved. I recommend these fins to anybody who wants to improve their flutter kick!

    I.H.
    Maryland

    Fit: Feels true to size

Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz