Now Accepting PayPal and Google Wallet

FINIS Freestyler Hand Paddles

FINIS Freestyler Hand Paddles Reviews

Back to product page
  

Page Showing 1-20 of 65 Results

4 star rating (65 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 65 customer reviews
  • 11/24/2011 Jury is still out...

    rating star By 2K

    I’m a triathlete, so I like my pool toys and these are my new favorite.  I say the jury is still out because I can’t tell if the paddles are improving my stroke long term by enforcing muscle memory or just providing a temporary crutch.   I am in the Tri off-season and only swimming once per week for marathon cross training, so my form suffers some from lack of routine swimming.   That said, the paddles work as advertised.  They force my hands and arms into the proper position and highlight poor form.  They emphasize the catch and high elbow because they wobble and slip to the side unless I pull straight back.  The arc at the wrist also helps keep my fingers pointed down and palm facing the rear (not down) during the pull or I can feel pointy edges touch my wrist reminding me to correct.  On stroke recovery, they encourage me to extend my stroke at the back end and fully extend at the front end without over-gliding.
    On the down side, I do have a tendency to grasp the edges instead of holding my hand flat during pull and recovery.  They also make flip turns difficult because they catch water and pull off during the flip (may just be my poor turn technique)

    2K
    Yorktown, VA

    Fit:

  • 4/8/2009 If You Want An Elite Freestyle Stroke Use These Paddles

    rating star By BEST

    I felt my freestyle stoke technique improve the very first time I used these paddles. I swam with them on for a warm up set of 10 x 100 free. Then I took them off for the rest of practice and I felt how my entry, my catch, my pull, and exit was dramatically improved. The paddle is designed to give you instant feedback. It is like swimming with a coach right at your fingertips (quite literally actually). The paddle will stick to your hand if the stroke is done correctly and your stroke will feel smooth and correct. If any part of the stroke is done incorrectly the paddle will move out of place giving you the feedback you need to correct the stroke as it happens. It's great because that way you know exactly where you are deficient in your stroke. Also, you can use them for long workouts and your shoulders won't hurt because they don't push that much water. The more you use them the more you will create the muscle memory to execute the perfect freestyle stroke without thinking about it.

    BEST
    Phoenix, AZ

    Fit:

  • 7/18/2015 Very helpful!!!!!

    rating star By Judy

    This paddles are very easy to assemble and very helpful in free style swimming technique

    Judy
    Brownsville Texas

    Fit:

  • 5/12/2015 Tough, but instant feedback!

    rating star By swimsalot

    I had read about this product before purchasing and the other reviews are completely accurate: these things give you instant feedback on your stroke. The first time I used these was a bit comical because it was tough to swim more than a few strokes and stay smoothly on pace. The feedback is so strong and instant you can't help but correct it. Likewise, when you've got things going right it feels really strong and good so it instantly reinforces the correct form. They seem very well made and I thought they were easy to put together. Well worth the price I think.

    swimsalot
    long beach, ca

    Fit:

  • 5/9/2015 Coach Recommended

    rating star By Swim Yankee down South

    After video analysis my coach recommended these paddles.  They help me to correct errors in my stroke but don't stress my shoulders (both injured).  I'm very pleased with these paddles & use them exclusively now even though I own three other styles.

    Swim Yankee down South
    Summerville, SC

    Fit:

  • 11/28/2014 Great Design

    rating star By Tim

    I only use these paddles to teach technique!  You can't use paddles in meets so why train with them?  Great for learning an efficient entry and exit of pull patterns as well as holding water on the forearm!

    Tim
    Surprise, AZ

    Fit:

  • 10/28/2014 These work as advertised

    rating star By Frank

    These paddles work as advertised. You must utilize a perfect stroke or you receive immediate negative feedback. Because they are solid, you also get a great upper body workout. I use these to supplement my full size Speedo paddles.

    Frank
    Chesapeake, Va

    Fit:

  • 10/22/2014 Freestyle Paddle

    rating star By Jim

    This paddle is specific for refining catch and pull technique for freestyle.

    Jim
    Dover, NH

    Fit:

  • 10/3/2014 They work

    rating star By Tim

    I have just begun to use these paddles and have found them to help straighten my hand entry into the water.  After taking them off, the strokes are smoother and faster.

    Tim
    Rochester, MN

    Fit:

  • 6/25/2014 Great product!

    rating star By Pol

    These paddles have helped my reach in my freestyle swiming.  Great product!

    Pol
    Denver area

    Fit:

  • 4/5/2014 effective but tough to get together!

    rating star By mcarbery

    I believe these are best for getting your hand position correct as you enter the water.  I've only been using them for a few weeks now, but they seem to be doing the job.  My only complaint is getting the little tube into the holes!  I snapped the 1st one in half immediately & had to use just the 1/2 of the tube that was left.

    mcarbery
    Amherst, NY

    Fit:

  • 1/24/2014 Excellent training tool

    rating star By IronManToo

    Lovin' these!  Are part of my technique and strength drills!

    IronManToo
    NC

    Fit:

  • 11/21/2013 Major help in stroke/technique

    rating star By Nancy W.

    Wow, these really do work.  Having used paddles in the past - I always found ways to cheat through the stroke once I got fatigued.  But these paddles allow no room for error.  You immediately notice the change in your technique and the requirement to follow through the entire stroke.  The paddle does not allow for any short cuts.  I've used them for a few weeks now and feel my stroke has improved.  Great purchase.

    Nancy W.
    VA

    Fit:

  • 8/14/2013 happy addition to my lap swim workouts

    rating star By lady lap swimmer

    They felt 'fun' right away! Since lap swimming is the only comfortable kind of exercise I can do now, any thing that makes it seem fun is welcome.  And I think when I take them off and swim w/o the fins, my stroke does seem improved.  I once had some webbed neoprene hand fins with add-on weights!  they aren't available anymore, so  couldn't replace them when the material broke down. But though I think they actually built up my arm muscles, these hard plastic ones with skegs  work more on actually fine-tuning your freestyle stroke.  It is a very reasonably priced way to put some spark in your workout.

    lady lap swimmer
    Oregon

    Fit:

  • 7/2/2013 Fantastic.....

    rating star By Christine B.

    So many different workouts---tells you the total distance..has workouts for various results....choices are really great......love the book.

    Christine B.
    Flower Mound, TX

    Fit:

  • 7/2/2013 They work!

    rating star By Christine B.

    Really just getting used to paddles so I'm not the best reviewer to trust....I also bought the ones that conform to the hand and i like them better as I am a small lady..these are a bit much but they do work!!!

    Christine B.
    Flower Mound, TX

    Fit:

  • 5/30/2013 They work- helps stroke efficiency and technique

    rating star By Tri35

    I have used the paddles for a few swims and I am sold.  As several of the reviews note, the paddles will assist with stroke efficiency and position.  In addition, the paddles will give you some buoyancy and slows your stroke down which I have found to be very helpful as I am newer to swimming. I am training for a tri and swimming is my weakest area - in using the paddles I recently swam 1500 yards non-stop- prior to I had only swam 500 yards.  Slowing down really helped (during the catch and pull phase).  I used another set of paddles and the strain on my shoulders was much more- not so with these paddles- feel like I could swim forever based on the design, but you do need to be careful.  A cheap good investment that will improve your swimming.

    Tri35
    Carmel, IN

    Fit:

  • 5/12/2013 Very useful

    rating star By Desertdiverette

    Used the paddles and noticed an immediate difference in my stroke!

    Desertdiverette
    NM

    Fit:

  • 5/12/2013 Great for catch training

    rating star By Margaret S.

    This really show where my stroke needed improvement to become more efficient.

    Margaret S.
    Kansas City, MO

    Fit:

  • 3/8/2013 Improvement noted right away

    rating star By Tammy

    These paddles helped my hand entry right away.  Lightweight and easy to carry in my swim bag.

    Tammy
    St. Catharines, Ontario

    Fit:

Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz