Now Accepting PayPal and Google Wallet Holiday Gift Guides 2015 - Shop Now
Now Accepting PayPal and Google Wallet

TYR Water Polo Destroyer 4

TYR Water Polo Destroyer 4" Nylon Trainer Swimsuit Reviews

Back to product page

Page Showing 1-20 of 42 Results

4 star rating (42 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 42 customer reviews
  • 2/1/2015 Cheap.

    rating star By Jill U.

    The product was good... For the first month I used it. I am on a High school swim team, so I spend a lot of time in the water, but I've never had a suit last as little time as this one. I bought it right before Christmas, and it went from black to grey in a month, it is see through. I do not recommend buying this product. Also a little tight.

    Jill U.

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 10/22/2014 retro

    rating star By jake

    Perfect for lap swimming.  I've been using this suit, or its predecessors for 50 years -- which means although it is no longer in fashion, it maintains its advantages. It's cheap, durable (fully double lined) and way superior to trunks for fitness, non-competitive swimmers. Swimming in standard trunks is like swimming with clothing on.  These are briefs, but not too brief that a lean, fit 50+ yr old would find the fit design for a younger frame. They last way longer than the technical fabrics in jammers and other competitive suits, but chlorine will still fade out the colors -- my blacks turn silver grey after a couple of months -- then they match my head.

    Roanoke VA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 8/13/2013 My favorite suit

    rating star By Kayak2Work

    I am just a kayaker and casual swimmer. I prefer the nylon suit because it holds up well and isn't as stretchy as the lycra/spandex suits. This suit is well made, fits well, and looks great. The leg openings are tight so everything stays put. The high cut does not impede my movement.
    There is really nothing I don't like about this suit. I suppose I should mention that the nylon doesn't stretch much, so you want to get the right size. The size seems to run true to actual measurements, rather than jeans sizes. I wear a 28" waist jean, but the 30" nylon suit is pretty snug on me.

    Eastern North Carolina

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 4/21/2013 Nylon Suits now hard to find

    rating star By Old Swimmer

    Always liked the nylon suits.  Very comfortable.  Trick is to find your right size.    I'm 66, in good shape, and still like the small suits.

    Old Swimmer
    Hartford, CT

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 7/7/2015 Fits and feels like old school Nylon Speedo

    rating star By NHKen

    Swimming laps in the pool or in the lake.  Something that supports and I can wear under trunks or wetsuit when I'm working in and out of the water all day.  Size seems to be true,  The nylon has more stretch to it than all polyester suit but much less than the nylon/lycra so the fit is important.  This one fits well and we will see how it wears over time.

    Woodstock, NH

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 7/3/2015 Nylon Water Polo suit

    rating star By Hotvette

    These seem to wear well and last a good while. I use them under board shorts as under wear.


    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 2/16/2015 Water Polo 4" Swimsuit

    rating star By CH

    I don't swim in any organized group.  I wear this under my wetsuit whenever I surf or bodysurf.  Keeps everything in place comfortably, and provides appropriate modesty while doffing the wetsuit before entering my vehicle. Wash/dry very easily.  Good for under the lifeguard shorts and when it's time to take a quick swim break in the ocean.  It'll be good for swim practice because it creates a bit of drag while swimming - then switch to slimmer fit, lycra suit when competing, and you'll feel like you're flying thru the water.

    Santa Cruz, CA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 1/13/2015 Good suit

    rating star By KSmith

    Sizing is good.  A little tight around the upper leg, but it might be my weight.
    For the money, you won't be disappointed!

    Portland, Oregon

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 2/10/2014 Rating swimsuit

    rating star By Steven S.

    Swimming ,  Fits Good , Nothing

    Steven S.
    Sioux Falls, SD

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 7/31/2013 Fits the bill

    rating star By lapswimer

    For daily swims, exactly what I sought.


    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 7/15/2013 Good quality

    rating star By Jennifer H.

    My son bought a SPEEDO brand in a store and went with the size 30.  We ordered this one and another SPEEDO online both 30, they are too big.  Other than that, When he can wear them without them sagging, he will like them. He wore them once to practice(water polo) and they were sturdy.

    Jennifer H.
    corona, ca

    Fit: Feels too big

  • 4/28/2013 Buy 2 sizes up

    rating star By Randy B.

    Took friend's advice & bought 1 size larger (waist 34, got 36). This suit fits, but just barely. I wanted a nano-second more drag, which nylon is suppposed to do, and it does... but not when it's this tight. Feels like 38" ought to be about right, will go 2 sizes up if I get another one. Meanwhile, bought TYR resistance shorts from Swim Outlet and they're great (see other review).

    Randy B.
    Ft. Collins CO

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 4/7/2013 Great suit for workouts

    rating star By charlie

    Durable, holds color,fits well. Classic nylon fabric that does not fade

    new york city

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 8/30/2012 Runs small

    rating star By Brian

    In the past, I have bought TYR suits, but this one in particular did not fit like the others. The suit material itself seemed thin and the fit is certainly far tighter - I wear 28w in nearly all suits - couldn't even begin to fit in these as there seems to be no "give"/elasticity. That said, I'm not even sure if going up a size would be sufficient.

    Boston, MA

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 1/18/2012 Runs small

    rating star By Mike

    Had to return this one. I am a 34  and bought a 36 based on reviews.
    It was still too small.  Leg openings are very tight and being nylon does not stretch much.  This would be a great suit if it ran true to size.


    Fit: Feels too small

  • 10/19/2011 Great suit

    rating star By 1234

    Great nylon suit.  Go one size up from what you usually wear in polyester or lycra.


    Fit: Feels too small

  • 8/16/2011 Probably Pay More for Better Product Next Time

    rating star By Frederick B.

    I've bought TYR swim briefs before but these don't meet the standards of others I've used. They seem thinner, the fit is tighter than others, and there's little elasticity in the fabric. The applied TYR logo has already pealed off and I've only used the suit a half dozen times.

    Frederick B.
    San Francisco, CA

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 8/9/2011 Best Everyday Suit

    rating star By Philly Swimmer

    I wear this for utility.  Quickdrying and keeps it's fit.  I can swim daily and it will last for months before I need a new suit, mainly from color fading.

    Philly Swimmer
    Philadelphia, PA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 5/5/2011 Definitely runs small

    rating star By GB

    This trainer is pretty small, im usually a size 30 or 31 in jeans, basically depends on the brand, i ordered a 34 and it fits ok in general, but it still fits a bit tight on the legs, feels like those holes  dont stretch much, unless you have extra super skinny legs. It feels like a thin brief although its double layered.

    miami, fl

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 11/21/2010 Good 4" & 8" Nylon Team Trainers

    rating star By LOUIS A.

    These suits are used in Master practices, swim meets, and fishing.   These all nylon suits are the best I have used at the present time.  I like all nylon suits because they are comtable, dry quickly, and are much tougher than trunks made with other materials such as lycry and spandex.  That being said, they do not approach the quality and durability of the "Ocean Champions" I used in high school and collage in the 1950's and 60"s.  Eventhough I have had to restich the suits, I still use a couple of them occasionally.

    LOUIS A.

    Fit: Feels true to size

Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz