Now Accepting PayPal and Google Wallet Holiday Gift Guides 2015 - Shop Now
Now Accepting PayPal and Google Wallet

FINIS Bolster Paddles

FINIS Bolster Paddles Reviews

Back to product page

Page Showing 1-9 of 9 Results

4 star rating (9 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 9 customer reviews
  • 3/7/2010 Great teaching tool

    rating star By Jacob S.

    I was skeptical at first but gave in and bought these for my college team.  A great mix between a regular paddle and the forearm fulcrum. You can definitely see the difference when the athletes wear these and I am excited to experiment with them more.  They HAVE to have their hands in the right position to pull as the device does not let you bend your wrist.  Very much like the forearm fulcrum but easier to use and of course the paddle is nice for training as well.  The Bolster is very good at teaching the "kayak paddle" or "meathook" freestyle that is so important for 50/100 speed development.  I haven't tried them with the athletes on the power tower yet but i think that will work quite well with a lower weight.  I don't know if these should ever take the place of regular paddles but I see no reason why these wouldn't be awesome for pulling sets or general aerobic swimming.  Not sure you could sprint well with them but again for aerobic swimming it can really help save the technique, especially for the 50/100 types who can't afford to be laying out flat on that hand.

    Jacob S.
    Lynchburg, VA


  • 5/7/2014 wouldn't buy

    rating star By love2swim

    didn't work as expected.  I have big arms and the straps didn't fit around.  Fix was to take one side out of the slot.  It also didn't help with my freestyle.  The paddles straps around my fingers/hands are didn't hold well it would get loose.

    Fremont, CA


  • 3/25/2014 interesting concept

    rating star By Susan R.

    I like the idea,  and it does work...HOWEVER, it is only one size,  and for some is too big,  and for others is too small.  At 6" tall,  it's too small for me.  For my 5-8 year old swimmers,  it's too big.  For my 10-12 year old swimmers is just right,  and would probably be good for smaller adults.

    Susan R.


  • 12/8/2012 They are ok not great

    rating star By A.Amin

    These paddles are ok but not great, they will not enhance your stroke technique any more than a regular simple speedo paddles will do. I bought them because I have a tiny and weak wrist, and it did help support my wrist but found it hard to do flip turns, maybe that will improve as I get more use to the paddle. I'm a 57 years old Olympian back in the day, i swim 3 miles almost every day and have every paddles you can think of and still like the simple rectangular speedo paddles, they will do the job.

    Libertyville, Illinois


  • 6/24/2012 worth the money

    rating star By Holly H.

    They are a great training tool to help straighten out the wrist. Also purchased the fulcrum paddles.  Her coach uses them both for different exercises.

    Holly H.
    Peoria, AZ


  • 3/27/2012 Great teaching tool

    rating star By Ally

    I have used them and I can feel the difference in my pull.  I have also had my master's swimmers use them.  Many of them are also benefitting from the wrist part.



  • 12/7/2009 Better than most!

    rating star By Christine C.

    In the past, some paddles actually made my stroke worse and caused my hands to cramp. These paddles helped reverse that. They keep my strokes in line, and improved my freestyle by preventing my hands from crossing in front of me as I swam.

    The only negative is the way your hand fits into the loop that keeps your fingers in place. It always falls out of the paddle. Overall, still a great product!

    Christine C.
    Denville, NJ


  • 3/18/2009 Finis Bolster Paddle

    rating star By Coach C.

    Generally use as supported hand paddle that keeps wrist in place.  Upon purchasing I thought it might do a better job of helping keep elbow up.

    Coach C.
    Green Bay, WI


  • 1/14/2009 really changed my workout

    rating star By tdelborne

    These paddles really added a strength building component to my swim workout that was missing.  They are great at improving form, as they make you quite aware of the angle at which your hand enters the water.  I haven't quite figured out the little black strap that is supposed to hold the paddle to your fingers.  It falls out.  It is possible that I am attaching it improperly, but I still feel that the paddle does what it is supposed to do and is a high quality product.

    golden, CO


Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz