Now Accepting PayPal and Google Wallet

In addition to credit cards,
we also accept Paypal & Google Wallet.

Garmin Swim Training Watch

Garmin Swim Training Watch Reviews

Back to product page
  

Page Showing 1-20 of 31 Results

4.5 star rating (31 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 31 customer reviews
  • 8/18/2014 Ca't set custom length of the pool

    rating star By juraj m.

    I swim in our apartment complex pool and it is 50" long (15m) but the smallest pool that can be set is 17m, which distorts all data. Big big software flaw. Small software flaw makes huge difference. Had high hopes for this, disappointed have to return.

    presets are 25m, 50m, 25yards, 33.5m, 33.5 yards and custom goes to 17m not less

    juraj m.
    san francisco, CA

    Fit:

  • 1/24/2014 Garmin Works Really Well

    rating star By Joel B.

    What I've learned is that each device works differently.  I originally purchased a Poolmate.  I swim three intervals on each visit.  I've used the Poolmate about 35 times now and the number of visits that it recorded all my intervals correctly was maybe once.  Its clear that the Poolmate requires a longer glide at the beginning of each lap than I would like.  So I decided to try the Garmin Swim.  The Garmin uses a different method to detect lap changes.   I've used it twice now and it recorded all my intervals perfectly.  At first I was worried about all the extra buttons but they actually make the device easier to use.  This device is much better engineered.  I created a custom screen to show the lap count in big letters.  The data is easily uploaded wirelessly to their website.  Website has good data but if you want to further analyze the data, you can export it.   I love the design.  I love the data it collects.  Easy to use and highly recommended.

    Joel B.
    Boxford, MA

    Fit:

  • 11/2/2012 big bold display

    rating star By Mark

    Yardage is easily read while swimming
    I use it to swim my morning mile in the lap pool.
    I can swim with out having to count my laps.

    Mark
    Rochester, MN

    Fit:

  • 1/3/2016 Helpful training aid

    rating star By Michael J.

    If you are primarily a swimmer and you don't want to shell out the big bucks for the triathlon style watches this is a good option.  Considering I just received this last week (as of this post) I am still learning the device and will be testing the functions over the following weeks.  The only real knock I have on this so far was getting it set up on my garmin acct.  It literally took about 6 attempts to get it paired to my account.  That is why the 1 star ding from me.  But now that I do have it paired to the account I can't wait to see what info this can generate for me.

    Michael J.
    Willowbrook, IL

    Fit:

  • 12/18/2015 Good Swim Watch

    rating star By JeffR

    Positives:  Works well tracking laps, and I threw in several different strokes to see if it would recognize them, and the watch recorded all of them.  Although I am annoyed by the lack of iOS wireless synch and the need to use the antenna, the synch is quick and automatic.  All I need to do is get close to my docking station with the antenna and my data is synched automatically to GarminConnect.

    Negatives or Needs Work:  The watch is not real intuitive, so plan on doing test runs for a few workouts to figure out what all the buttons do, etc.  Although this watch tracks drills, you have tell it you are doing a drill and you have to to input the distance each time when you are done - fortunately my drills are always 200 yds, so no big deal.  The watch lacks a vibration feature to let you know when you have completed a goal (say 1650 yd swim), so if you lose count, you have to stop and look to see what you have completed.  The interval feature is nice, but I find that the button that starts and stops intervals sometimes gets pushed when I don't want it to - maybe too sensitive to pressure.

    Overall, it does almost everything I want it to do.  I would wear it all day if it tracked heartbeat, and steps as well, but it doesn't.  To date, this has been the best swim watch I have used, and I'm happy to have it.  Unless you want to shell out big $$ for a triathlon watch, this is perfect for people that swim as their primary form of exercise.  While I'm not thrilled with how some of the features work, at least it has features like the ability to map intervals, drills, etc.  Overall: A.

    JeffR
    Herndon, VA

    Fit:

  • 10/8/2015 Excellent Swim Tracker and Training Device

    rating star By Edzjaxon

    I have been very pleased with the functionality and accuracy of the Garmin swim watch. No longer do I attempt to count laps while swimming regardless of stroke or pool size.

    Edzjaxon
    San Diego, Ca

    Fit:

  • 9/8/2015 Not Bad. Expected better.

    rating star By Ben

    Easy to use. Self intuitive. Stylish and fits comfortably while swimming. But its tracking accuracy is not as good. It misses counts. Sometimes it reads 50 yds when it should be 25 and sometimes the reverse as well. This happens about once every 20 intervals.
    Am disappointed cause I expected better performance.

    Ben
    Arlington, MA

    Fit:

  • 7/18/2014 does everything I need

    rating star By don

    large numbers, accurate lap count, total yardage as you swim on the bottom of the watch,and much more that I haven't even started to use yet... just a good product for swimmers.

    don
    buckeye , az

    Fit:

  • 2/2/2014 Love Garmin Swim

    rating star By gyliswim

    Very light watch. I used it for swimming twice and I love it.

    gyliswim
    ACTON, MA

    Fit:

  • 1/20/2014 Can You Say Awesome! Was her reply.

    rating star By Makaral

    The only thing I can say is that my swimmer loves her Garmin Swim and it does help her keep track of all that she does. By getting the info from it, she is more focused on what she needs to improve because of it. Worth every penny. She was able to use her private Coach before we moved to where we are now, so he was very instrumental in teaching her the usage and advantages of having it. Her team mates here have never heard of it and are also enthralled with what it shows.

    Makaral
    Greenwood, IN

    Fit:

  • 11/25/2013 Miss count laps

    rating star By Rozic

    Have been swimming with the poolmate for two years with no miss counts... decided to shift to Gramin for the looks, bad decision, I have swam 6 times with it and it miss counted my laps 3 times (added an extra lap each time), I swim ~50 laps each time.
    It is easy to handle and great to see the results in the web applicaiton

    Rozic
    Israel

    Fit:

  • 9/20/2013 Great Tool

    rating star By Billb71

    Returned to swimming and needed to gauge if my training was effective.  This watch is amazingly accurate, and it really can recognize when you change to backstroke, breast, fly or freestyle.  Linking with ant was easy after I found the Mac downloads.

    Billb71
    Sacramento, CA

    Fit:

  • 7/12/2013 great watch

    rating star By sb

    great product, no problems yet

    sb
    so cal

    Fit:

  • 1/11/2013 GREAT!!

    rating star By Rangel410

    So far so good. I have had this watch for 1 week and have about 6000 meters on it. I have no complaints so far!

    Rangel410
    Illinois

    Fit:

  • 12/29/2012 Excellent!

    rating star By Anette Larsen

    Best swim watch ever. Easy to use, let weight, and easy to get an overview then scrolling across the sites

    Anette Larsen
    Denmark

    Fit:

  • 12/1/2012 Great concept, but needs improvement

    rating star By NYC swimmer

    It's a great concept, but needs improvement.  Out of the box, it looks well made and can double as a casual watch.  So far, I've swam with my Garmin watch two times. It didn't accurately register each length swam.  (After completing both swims, the watch showed that I still had a half lap remaining to swim.)  Also, it would be good to have a stop watch function.  If it can show the number of laps on the watch front, the manual doesn't explain how.  Over all, the manual could get into more depth.

    NYC swimmer
    New York, NY

    Fit:

  • 10/14/2012 Great training tool

    rating star By Milehighswimmer

    Two weeks and 1200 meters later... Recently moved to a location with a great pool facility, and so have gotten back into swimming after a number of years out of the water. The Garmin Swim is a great training tool; counts strokes and lengths correctly as long as I don't stop mid lap, and as long as I push off the wall on turns. My open turns and flip turns are tracked correctly, and a pause at the end of a length does not throw off the count. I found "auto pause" to be a nice feature as I was working on building my endurance. The auto feature can be turned on/off and at the end of a workout the Swim displays both elapsed time and swim time. It is great to be able to concentrate on my stroke as I swim instead of counting lengths, and Garmin Connect  provides an easy way for me to monitor my improvement in performance over time. The only questionable feature on the Swim is its calculation of the the stroke type which for me is wrong most of the time, but I didn't get the watch for that feature and so do not care. I did go to the Garmin site and did a software update upon receiving the watch and am running ver 3.0.0.0. Garmin may have addressed many of the issues reported by reviewers on other sites with this release. DC Rainmaker has an extensive review on his site; worth reading. FWIW I use a Macbook and uploads etc work correctly.

    Milehighswimmer
    Boulder, CO

    Fit:

  • 12/22/2015 Happy Camper

    rating star By Jim K

    I am delighted with my new Swim Training Watch! I find that for me besides being a monitor it is a real motivator.  Functionality is right on and the download app is a breeze. It's interesting and fun to look at the numbers broken down into training segments; just what I was looking for.

    Jim K
    The Villages, FL

    Fit:

  • 12/8/2015 Yes, it met the expetation

    rating star By danielilloPM

    I started using it the following day it came in. very easy to use. the first time set up, pieces of cake. I read the user's manual, from the website. the best part is when I look on the information of my practice, I realize my improvement opportunity.

    danielilloPM
    Reynosa, tamps, Mexico

    Fit:

  • 11/4/2015 Love It!

    rating star By James McBennett

    Love it so far. Have been doing 10 x 200Yards each morning and the rest button works great at stop/starting during workout when compared to my last swim watch (poolmate)

    Can't get Swim.com to work, but Garmin Connect works, so no hassle.

    James McBennett
    Memphis / Dublin

    Fit:

Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz