Now Accepting PayPal and Google Wallet

Ocean by Dolfin AquaShape Moderate Chelsea Lap One Piece Suit

Ocean by Dolfin AquaShape Moderate Chelsea Lap One Piece Suit Reviews

Back to product page
  

Page Showing 1-15 of 15 Results

3.5 star rating (15 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 15 customer reviews
  • 2/22/2013 a good compromise

    rating star By chiquitita

    For years I've been a TYR maxback gal, but two things have changed: their suits' ability to withstand chlorine and the shape of my middle-aged body. I swim 3-4 times a week in a heavily chlorinated pool and find that TYR suits last about 3 months. Plus their "moderate" leg openings have become too revealing for me. So I was in the market for something more durable with better coverage.

    The color and pattern of this suit are pretty and lively without being flashy. Ocean's moderate leg openings are perfect for my body--that little extra bit of coverage is flattering and does wonders for my confidence. But the fit is less snug than what I'm used to, and I feel almost weighed down by the fabric as I swim. (TYR suits fit me like a second skin, and the straps are slightly narrower in front.)  Based on reviews I ordered one size up, which seems to be correct.

    This was my first ever suit with a shelf bra and I don't see the appeal. TYR's snug fit provided all the support I ever needed. I don't understand why any lap swimmer would want a band of elastic encircling her trunk, especially since for me part of the joy of being in the water is feeling free of that kind of fussiness.

    I hope I'll get used to this new type of fit and that the elastic of the shelf bra become less annoying. If the fabric holds up well, I just might become an Ocean convert.



    chiquitita
    New Jersey

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 11/16/2012 Nice Design Not So Great Fit

    rating star By Teniswhiz@aol.com

    Finally a fitness/lap suit that isn't just a solid, boring color!  I really like the design of this suit.  But it does run a little small.  I've bought other suits from this brand and have not run into this problem. It's borderline small so I am hesitant to go up a size.  Also, it is not as flattering figure looking wise but then maybe it is just my shape.  I would say to anyone interested to try it because the design is nice.  If it doesn't fit right, you can always return it.  Time will tell if the chlorine fades the suit or not.

    Teniswhiz@aol.com
    Chicago, IL

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 9/9/2013 Runs Small

    rating star By Mary

    I followed the advice to order a size larger; it's still pretty tight, but works OK. This my second suit by the same brand. I found the elastic gave out way before the fabric, but on the whole, a pretty good suit. I need the high neck to cover a chemo port, and this suit does a good job. Will probably order more when this one gives out.

    Mary
    San Jose, CA

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 7/26/2013 good leg coverage, but rubs me raw

    rating star By Nancy

    I have a love-hate relationship with this suit: it is the only suit that gives both good leg coverage and has a shelf bra--most of the suits with conservative and moderate legs have soft cup bras which never fit. The prints on these Ocean suits are beautiful, the suits last a long time (I have one of these that is three years old, and I wear it 3-4 days a week year round). There's the love.  BUT the edging of the suit rubs against a 3-inch area of the skin below my shoulders (and above the bust) to leave raw marks on both left and right sides--if I wear this suit three days in a row, it literally causes me to bleed and it's so painful I can't finish my laps (usually about 40). I have tried twisting and moving the straps, but the rhythm of my strokes always sends the straps back to their original position. Does anyone else have this problem, and what have you done about it? I've tried other models from SwimOutlet, like Speedo and Sporti, but they just don't fit as well (Speedo doesn't really provide moderate leg coverage, and Sporti only has a soft cup bra).

    Nancy
    Philadelphia, PA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 7/16/2013 Ocean Chelsea Lap suit

    rating star By CarolSedona

    Runs very small and tight.  I am 5"4" and weigh 107.  Other reviews said it runs small, so I ordered an 8 (I have a Nike 6 swimsuit) and I could barely get it on.   Not even sure a 10 would work.  Returned for an entirely different suit.  The suit is nice looking.

    CarolSedona
    Sedona, AZ

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 7/6/2013 Chelsea suit

    rating star By Cindy M.

    I like the suit but get 1 size bigger.

    Cindy M.
    Texas

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 6/15/2013 follow-up to "good compromise" below

    rating star By chiquitita

    I so wanted to love this suit, but after a few months it's clear this style is absolutely not for me. On the plus side, the fabric seems indestructible and the modest leg openings are flattering. But it's just really uncomfortable, and comfort is the most important thing for me when swimming. The fabric isn't stretchy and seems to absorb tons of water--the suit literally weighs me down. The shelf bra is irritating and the straps are too wide and bunch up. I'm ditching this suit and going back to the less durable, more revealing, but oh-so-comfortable and supportive TYR maxfit.

    chiquitita
    New Jersey

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 5/1/2013 Great water aerobics suit

    rating star By anonymous

    I have had this suit for over a year. I swim 5xs/wk. in both saline and chlorine pools. I do wash it out with cleaner everytime. This has been the longest lasting suit I've had-well made. I ordered another and felt that the cut was tighter in the chest so I sized up one and that fit better in the chest but wrinkled in the torso so I went with my original size as I think it will stretch a little. I got this in blue and is true to the picture-love the print.

    anonymous
    Idaho

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 3/22/2013 LOVE IT!!

    rating star By Lisainblue

    I love this suit!  After much research, I chose this one, even with a couple of negative comments written about it, I figured I could overcome.  And I was right!  When I first tried it on, it did feel too small, but after one workout in the pool, I realized that it fits very well and was very comfortable.  The band under the chest took all of two seconds to get used to, and the support was great!  I did go true to dress size, and it is tighter than other suits, but I like it.  Also, I actually look good in it!  Who would have thought?!  My only concern with this suit is that I hope it lasts a long time... my last ocean suit only lasted three months before it disintegrated.  I'll post back on the longevity.

    Lisainblue
    Maine

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 3/20/2013 Almost Great

    rating star By Julie C.

    I love this style.  I have several of these in size 6.  But for some reason, the printed ones (as opposed to the solids) always feel too tight.  I am wearing it anyway b/c I get tired of the same colors. The next size up is too big.  I am 5"2.5" tall and weigh 112 pounds.  I wear a 2 petite in street clothes.  I wish they could get this right.

    Julie C.
    Solana Beach, CA

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 3/2/2013 Tug of war with this suit

    rating star By Sue

    This suit was so difficult to put on!  Size felt a little too small.  I gave up and returned it. There is no way I was going to struggle with this suit with every swim.

    Sue
    Cleveland

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 1/19/2013 difficult to put on

    rating star By hughsie

    I loved the color but not the style.  The crisscross straps gave good support but the suit was just too difficult to get on and off.

    hughsie
    The Villages, Fl

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 12/12/2012 Good bust support outweighs removal difficulty

    rating star By Kathleen J.

    This suit has the X back that I prefer for lap swimming. The cupped built in bra offers good bust support. (size 18),  However, the bra includes a bottom band that extends all around the back, so removing the suit is like taking off your bra by pulling it down over your hips without undoing the snaps. Now imagine it soaking wet. I expect that this tightness will lessen as the suit stretches with time, as most frequently worn suits do, so it's not a big deal.

    Despite the initial wiggle-and-tug dance to get it off,  I recommend the suit for its support. The front is even lined with a black mesh panel that helps flatten any bulges in the abdominal area. Maybe because they're new, the cross straps are pretty tight. This might not be comfortable if you have a long body. Overall, this suit is my favorite of the many I've tried on and customer service is excellent at Swim Outlet.

    Kathleen J.
    Gainesville, FL

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 10/30/2012 Moderate Chelsea One Piece Suit

    rating star By Lin

    I love all the suits I get from Swim Outlet because they last much longer than most I have bought.  I do water aerobics when I'm home four days a week and during the summer I swim more often.  This suit did not have the bra sewn in as I usually make sure I get, but that was my fault for not noticing that when I read about the suit.  I just wish they would come up with more designs and colors as many in my class have the same suit or close to it, so we always know where we purchased them.  Many of us buy through Swim Outlet.com.

    Lin
    Broomfield, CO

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 10/20/2012 Beautiful suit

    rating star By Susan

    I wish it had a slightly more supportive bra

    Susan
    San Jose

    Fit:

Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz