Now Accepting PayPal and Google Wallet

FINIS Agility Paddle

FINIS Agility Paddle Reviews

Back to product page
  

Page Showing 1-20 of 126 Results

4 star rating (126 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 126 customer reviews
  • 10/31/2013 Great training tool but sizing is a bit off

    rating star By Jeff G.

    Bought a set of these for each of my two children who swim competitively.  Based on their hand measurements according to the Finis sizing guide I ordered one set of small and one set of medium.  The small fit perfect on my 12yo but the medium was way to large for my 14yo's hands.  The medium fit me perfectly (5ft 10in, 205lb)   despite the size guide stating I should buy a size large so I kept them and ordered another set of small for my 14yo.  My kids use them regularly at swim practice and like the fact that they do not have to mess around with straps.  I used them for the first time a couple weeks ago and really liked this product...especially for breast stroke.  As the hands move forward during breast stroke the paddles greatly magnify any resistance of the water due to poor hand/arm angulation giving the swimmer instant feedback they can use to self-correct their hand/arm position.  I found this product easy to use for freestyle and did not run into any problems with the paddles falling off unless I purposely used incredibly terrible form.  My assessment for freestyle is that the product advert that these offer a benefit by encouraging proper form is a bit overstated as if one has even moderately decent form they stay put on the hand unless you wilfully provoke them to fall off.  The ease of putting them on and taking them off over shadow the advertising fluff.  Further research on the size found a blurb by Finis that states something along the lines of 90% of swimmers will need size medium....so if you are ordering for kids I would recommend leaning heavily towards buying size small.

    Jeff G.
    Belgium

    Size: Feels too big

  • 3/17/2014 Great Training Tool

    rating star By Bob

    These paddles are great at providing instant feedback about "dead spots" in your stroke.  Proper technique will keep the paddle on your hand without needing to grip them.  Can be used in all strokes.  Superior water feel.

    They are easy on/off so there is minimal change over time.  You can easily alternate w/ w/o paddle swims within a set.

    The thumb hole can be irritating if used for extended periods.

    Bob
    Rockford IL

    Size: Feels true to size

  • 11/15/2013 Best paddles ever...

    rating star By Karen A.

    This is one of those products that make you go "duh... why wasn't this invented until now?". You don't need those stupid rubber bands that are always pinching, rubbing and breaking off. The shape of these paddles allow for a clean entry and streamline off the wall and you will forget you are wearing them until your shoulders remind you of the extra workout you want and are getting. For long workouts, wrap a little tape around your thumbs until you get used to them but they are sooooo much more comfortable than any other paddle I have used and trust me... I have used them all.

    Karen A.
    Montara, CA

    Size: Feels true to size

  • 10/30/2013 Cut the knuckles on my thubms

    rating star By RJ

    The notch sits on your thumb knuckle. Cut me each time I used  them. Sold them on ebay. Not good...

    RJ
    Camarillo, CA

    Size: Feels true to size

  • 9/30/2013 Useful

    rating star By Sabrejet

    The good thing about the Finis Agility Paddles is that they are easy to put on and take off.  They work well with all stokes, but are a little uncomfortable for longer workouts (an hour or more and they become a thumb workout as well). They do provide good resistance.  My only criticism is that they don't float. So, if you lose one, you're diving down to get it.

    Sabrejet
    Dallas

    Size: Feels true to size

  • 8/15/2013 great buy

    rating star By sean t.

    these paddles are the best she used so far, the size are on the mark (my daughter just turned 9 years old) and I thought they would be too big, they are a good fit. this product make you concentrate on your hand position verse the rubber band type which gives you more leeway. her hands were a little fatigued but that will get better once she gets used to the new style.

    sean t.
    Honolulu, HI

    Size: Feels true to size

  • 4/29/2013 Good Product

    rating star By Mo

    This is the first time I have used hand paddles and I like them.  I wear a ladies large glove, but I wouldn't consider my hands to be big. I purchased the small size paddles and they are just a little bit bigger than my hands. Since I am not a strong swimmer, and also battling a shoulder injury I didn't want too much resistance and the small size seems perfect for right now. THe lack of straps was not a problem for me although the area where my thumbs slide through the paddles did get sore  the first week or so that I used them. Good sturdy plastic - not bendable as some others are - they work for me.

    Mo
    RI

    Size: Feels true to size

  • 1/23/2013 Finis agility paddle

    rating star By Polly

    The first few laps felt a little strange to have pressure near the thumb joint but I ended up doing 8 x 100 with these on and they felt fine. They really do force you to focus on your form which is great.
    I was worried about what size to get and ended up getting the small, it measures 6.5" in length and feels like the right size for me (I'm 5"3").

    Polly
    Aptos, CA

    Size: Feels true to size

  • 1/10/2013 Great paddle (not for breaststrokers)

    rating star By Scott

    I'm 6"2" so I purchased the large size which works well. I was still able to keep a small separation between all my fingers. I did a fairly fast 500 yard set and did swim slightly slower than when I'm using the current huge paddles that most companies sell. The "wings" on these paddles do not extend past the side of your hand as far as the current popular paddles. I only had a slight skin irritation around the bottom thumb knuckle after my set which is still better than the finger joint pain I would get from the tight elastic straps of other paddles. I let two other highschool club swimmers try the paddles and they both agreed that these are superior to standard paddles. The paddles do force you to have a more perfect stroke, but I do not agree that they are made for all four strokes. They are good for all except breaststroke. I think the quick loop in the stroke with the forward push make the paddles flip outward which is counterproductive. I had to severely adjust my hand position to keep the paddles aligned. I still highly recommened these paddles for stroke strengthening and mainly stroke technique. Good job Finis.

    Scott
    Central Florida

    Size: Feels true to size

  • 3/26/2015 Best of 5

    rating star By Robert N.

    I've tried about 5 different styles, and these are by far the best.  Quick to get on and off (no adjustment straps)  My hands are 7.5" long and 3.75" wide at the knuckles, and I bought the large.  They fit great.  Very comfortable.  Couldn't be happier.

    Robert N.
    Atlanta, GA

    Size: Feels true to size

  • 1/15/2015 great for maintaining stroke technique

    rating star By Alexey

    These paddles are amazing. Very easy/fast to put on and take them off -- just slide your thumb into the hole. No straps to worry about. For beginner users it will help to mark the left and right paddle with L and R at the bottom of the paddle. This will save you a few seconds during the workout. The best thing about this paddle is that it encourages correct high-elbow forearm catch position on freestyle. Try them with a pull buoy and you will see how much more natural it feels to pull with your lats when you have these paddles on. Great for recovery sets. I used them for the BR pull as well. Any imperfections in your stroke will be immediately noticeable, because the paddles will be falling off or getting caught by water. It's a simple and very effective concept -- you want the resistance force of the water to be perpendicular to your forearm (and your palm) on a pull. And that resistance force will keep the paddles in place. Any significant deviation from that will cause them to fall off. So if you are having that problem -- it's your stroke, not the paddle.

    Alexey
    Pittsburgh, PA

    Size: Feels true to size

  • 8/22/2014 Keep your stoke honest!

    rating star By swimmer

    I swim 1-2 miles daily and these paddles keep my stroke honest. Good product!
    The only suggestion I'd make to improve the paddle for long distance swimmers is the addition of a rubber thumb hole (pad or ring) protector so that your thumb doesn't rub and eventually blister.

    swimmer
    Henderson, Nevada

    Size: Feels true to size

  • 6/26/2014 GREAT FOR CORRECT HAND POSITIONING!

    rating star By Colorado Magpie

    I'm a new swimmer and I LOVE these paddles. They are very simple to wear and comfortable and because I have arthritis in some of my fingers, these paddles are kind to my fingers when catching water.

    Colorado Magpie
    ESTES PARK, CO

    Size: Feels true to size

  • 1/4/2014 Finis paddles

    rating star By Lauren R.

    Love these. So comfy and helpful with proper hand placement and improving stroke strength.

    Lauren R.
    Sedona, AZ

    Size:

  • 9/29/2013 Simple to use!

    rating star By Kathleen D.

    These fins are more convenient, efficient and easier to use than traditional stroke master paddles. No tubing to deal with and fast transitions between equipment.

    Kathleen D.
    Winter Springs, FL

    Size: Feels true to size

  • 9/3/2013 Great training paddles

    rating star By Becky

    These are easy to put on as you just insert your thumb in the slot.  these are better than the paddles with with a strap for your finger as that makes it too secure.  if your stroke is off, you will feel it.

    Becky
    Charlotte

    Size: Feels true to size

  • 8/15/2013 Great Paddle

    rating star By Kimberly

    I bought the medium and large. I alternate them during my stregnth workouts. Medium is great to use if you have shoulder issues. The large really builds strength. The large is "large" but you really can "feel" the water and great when focusing on the "pull".

    Kimberly
    Toms River, NJ

    Size: Feels too big

  • 1/26/2013 FINIS -

    rating star By Nancy F.

    They don't fall off, so either my arm-stroke is really quite good, or the advertised advantage (ie., that the paddle trains you by falling off your hand if your stroke is wrong) is incorrect. They stay on, have no annoying straps to deal with, and (as other reviewers said) provide the added resistence without causing my shoulders to click&pop or ache the next day.  Good stuff!

    Nancy F.
    Oceanside, CA

    Size: Feels true to size

  • 1/12/2013 Finis agility paddles

    rating star By Tentimesone

    These are great. I recommend these to any serious swimmer. If you want to increase strength in your upper body while working on technic then these are the paddles for you. Very good tool.

    Tentimesone
    Vancouver, wa

    Size: Feels true to size

  • 1/10/2013 Finis agility paddle

    rating star By Tentimesone

    Forces me to use proper technic. Love them.

    Tentimesone
    Vancouver, wa

    Size: Feels true to size

Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz