Now Accepting PayPal and Google Wallet Holiday Gift Guides 2015 - Shop Now
Now Accepting PayPal and Google Wallet

SportCount Combo Lap Counter and Timer

SportCount Combo Lap Counter and Timer Reviews

Back to product page

Page Showing 1-20 of 48 Results

4.5 star rating (48 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 48 customer reviews
  • 11/8/2012 Compact, Rugged & Practical Device

    rating star By bitmechanic

    I swim 45 laps, six times a week. I've used this specific model for many years. Each unit lasts about a year before malfunctioning, which seems reasonable, given the wear & tear and harsh conditions. I click once at the end of each lap. The readout automatically shows the lap number, followed immediately by the lap time, then reverts to a running-count of total elapsed time. At the end of the workout, I click once to record the lap, then press and hold to stop the timer. Only issue is that the click is not always crisp, so it is sometimes hard to tell if the click registered. In truth, clicks rarely fail to register, but a more pronounced click would be reassuring. Also, there is no backlighting, so it is hard to read under very low light, but under normal conditions, it is easy to read. Highly recommended!

    San Antonio, Texas


  • 11/14/2015 Awesome

    rating star By Brenda

    Works great! Dose everything it says !



  • 11/8/2015 Simple Lap Timer

    rating star By Jonathan

    Initial look seems good, should serve the primary purpose I bought it for. Does not display all lap splits at end of workout, just total time, average lap time, fastest lap time, and slowest lap time. Intended to use this to review splits at end of workout, but that is not available.  Still useful without it, just be aware of the limitation. Think of it as a lap counter only, the timing function is just a bonus feature.



  • 10/24/2015 Perfect for Counting Laps

    rating star By Marilyn

    This is my second counter. Love it as I can't remember what lap I am on after 15 laps. I belong to the 25-mile Club. It take 1200 laps and the counter is perfect all the way.



  • 10/13/2015 So far, so good

    rating star By JPG

    I have used this once but love it. I can finally just concentrate on swimming instead of counting laps. Agree with other reviewers that a more audible click or feeling would be better. But, not a deal breaker.

    Columbia, MO


  • 8/3/2015 Good for distance swimming

    rating star By Swimguy

    Functional unit, this is part of my daily swim gear. I've purchased 2 so far after losing the first one; current one has been in use for a bit over 2 years, average 60-70 minute daily swim (I skip some days, swim 2x other days). I use this partially to keep time as distance per minute is pretty constant given my daily swims; haven't had problems with pushing the button hard enough for it to register, although sometimes I "zone out" and need to confirm that I've clicked the counter button by checking the time on the next lap (if it's around 2x normal time, I click the button again to "correct' the number of laps. Simple, straightforward, functional unit. I'd recommend it to any long distance swimmers to help track time/distance on workouts.

    I'm looking at replacing it fairly soon as the plastic is starting to wear out, the way that the unit adjusts is for nubs on the band to fit into holes on the other side, and the first nub or two are starting to appear less stable than initially.

    The functions on this unit are: total time, count of "laps", average time per lap, time for final lap. After each click, the unit registers the count of that lap, and then the time between the last "click" and the current "click" (time of the most recent lap completed)

    Denver, CO


  • 11/3/2014 Love

    rating star By NaplesSwimming

    I've had this for about a week, love doing my laps without thinking about what number I'm on. Fits on my middle finger, easy to click.

    Naples, FL


  • 10/15/2014 awesome

    rating star By christopher b.

    I've been using this counter for almost two years, as a distance swimmer in a pool this thing is a must. I can keep track of my pace even swimming over an hour straight.  Simple and easy to use.

    christopher b.
    panama city, FL


  • 9/14/2014 Push button could be better

    rating star By Vincent W.

    Works as advertised, good read out, but button could be easier to push. Sometimes I think I pushed the count button, but instead not hard enough. A click should be felt after each push.

    Vincent W.
    Santa Barbara, CA


  • 8/28/2014 Does What I Want It To Do

    rating star By Suckerspawn

    It is simple to operate although I have to use two hands to confidently push the button. It counts laps and provdes a variety of lap times which was all I expected it to do.

    Dayton, Ohio


  • 6/11/2014 Good, but needs a design upgrade

    rating star By JBNozomi

    I love that I don't have to think "numbers" when I swim anymore.  Just click and continue.  However, I find the fit to be a little too tight or too loose, never just right.  Also, and perhaps more importantly,  I agree with many other reviewers, the click isn't always reliably a "click" as much as it is a sort of "mash my finger down on the button, hoping that it registered."  Since there is no back-light there is no clear way to confirm that the number changed unless you 1) saw it change or 2) know what lap you were on before you tried clicking or 3) felt a reassuring click when you pressed the button.  I would love for the designers to engineer something that doesn't require as much pressure for the users' fingers or concern about accuracy in counting.  I can usually count on my fellow Japanese lane-users to comment on what a cool device it is, as nothing like it is available here. Seems like there would be a nice market for them here, in the land of compact devices.

    Kumamoto, Japan


  • 2/12/2013 fantastic!

    rating star By Jennifer G.

    the only negative is you can't pause or stop mid workout, otherwise I love it.

    Jennifer G.
    Boulder, CO


  • 10/30/2015 Perfect! !

    rating star By Pete

    I am new to lap swimimg. I've started using the pool as winter approaches and staying darker longer , I am not wanting to challenge people driving and their vision I am a bike rider too....i love swimming now. My problem is the pool I am using is 25yards / 35 laps to a mile. I was loosing count a lot saw this lap counter, read reviews and made purchase. I've had zero problems to this point. It is easy to use, it always tracks my counts if I do miss a lap i will add one at the end. But I also like that is is split time and shows fastest and slowest laps and also i know when I am done there is NO GUESS WORK...I will get it again...keep on swimming,too.



  • 10/5/2015 Lap Counter

    rating star By Brad

    Works as advertised. It has a good fit. A more positive "click" on the button would be nice, but the large lap number is readable as a check that the lap has been completed. I can see the lap number even with foggy googles and without my bifocals

    Anchorage Alaska


  • 9/18/2015 Quit counting laps!

    rating star By GR-cher

    It works. I've been working on swimming my 36 laps to get a mile in for a challenge at our Y. The hardest part was the counting!  Bonus, I get split times too and an average at the end. I didn't even expect that.  From other reviews, I was worried about not hitting the counter well enough to have it count. It wasn't a problem and counted each time.

    Grand Rapids, MN


  • 8/20/2015 One less thing to think about when swimming laps

    rating star By Alan

    Easy to use. Arrives with clear instructions. Counts laps and times them as well.

    New Jersey


  • 8/3/2015 Met my expectations

    rating star By Dave

    Really allows you to think other thoughts rather than concentrate on counting laps.  Fits my large fingers. Button operates easily but could be a bit larger and an audible click would be nice.  Screen ok to see, a bit larger would be nice.  Enough features but a downloadable larger sized manual would be convenient.

    Dallas, TX.


  • 7/25/2015 Love it! Swimming laps is so much more enjoyable now!

    rating star By Cynthia

    Highly recommend purchasing this lap counter.  Easy to use, accurate and it doesn't obstruct swimming in any way, shape or form.  Just push the button at the end of each lap (at the pool's edge) and keep swimming.

    Raleigh, NC


  • 1/21/2015 Worth it

    rating star By Ryan

    I need to purchase my second lap counter because after about 2-3 years of on and off use, the battery just died (or that's what it seems to be).  The unit is a very simple design and I agree with others that the button sometimes could use better feedback that I had actually pressed the button during my laps.  I've compensated for this by doing incorporating a very deliberate press into my turns.  This product is probably one of the least expensive options for swimmers that are working to cut down their lap time.  This counter allows for the min, max and average which can be valuable to use but it doesn't save it when it turns off (which I think it automatically shuts off after either 20 minutes or an hour of inactivity) so logging it somewhere is required if you are serious in tracking your progress.  That may be inconvenient for a lap counter but this is a basic unit and pretty good quality for the price.  I would also like to point out that the battery while I think is replaceable, requires some pretty small screwdrivers to do it.  I tried to replace the battery but didn't realize that there were two sets of screws (different sizes) that had to be removed to get to the battery and I don't have something for the smaller set.  To avoid hunting for a small enough screwdriver, I'm just buying a new one.  I'd recommend it as a good product with some minor changes that could be made to make it better.

    Logan, UT


  • 11/9/2014 All we want is the Data Link that worked so well for so long

    rating star By Data Link

    It had a very important feature of a phonebook,calendar and a way to set it with actual information,waterproof, all the laps junk that most people that do not run won”t use. along with a battery life if over a year and was affordable to everyone.

    Data Link


Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz