Now Accepting PayPal and Google Wallet

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro Reviews

Back to product page

Page Showing 1-20 of 58 Results

4 star rating (58 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 58 customer reviews
  • 2/21/2014 Glitches

    rating star By Coach Carl

    I love the idea of the product, and the results when it is functioning as it should.  I have 6 of these all just weeks old.  Unfortunately I actually have 5 as one won't even turn on, even with a new battery.  Then I have 4 and 3 as they randomly turn off in the middle of swims.  Sometimes in the middle of the swim my swimmers report a long solid beep that will last until they turn it off.  At this point in our technological fortitude I'd like to see a better job making these reliable.  Great product, just not put together well unfortunately.

    Coach Carl


  • 12/28/2013 Improves times

    rating star By Bubbles

    I have been swimming for 10 years on a national swim team and my coach has always said my arms need to move faster and my strokes tend to be inconsistent and I tend to slow down and get sloppy on longer sets and is started using this and my times have greatly improved and the beeping is the perfect volume and noise I am always able to hear it.

    Tampa, FL


  • 10/22/2013 0 for 2 on getting one that worked.

    rating star By Kari K.

    Thank goodness for the great Customer service SwimOutlet provides.  I ordered one of these and the first didn't work at all.  Changed the battery and it still didn't work.  They swapped it out and the second never turned on either despite changing the battery.  I read a lot of reviews on the poor design of the battery spot and some of the other problems and boy, they were all true.

    Kari K.


  • 9/14/2013 She loved it!

    rating star By J. Torres

    My daughter uses it everyday in practice. She loves how clear it sounds underwater. Easy to use.

    J. Torres
    Angleton, TX


  • 11/27/2012 so glad I finally got one!

    rating star By E

    this is really helping me keep a better pace



  • 12/12/2013 FINIS Tempo Trainer Pro

    rating star By Techeros

    I read the poor reviews and decided to try this. I'm 2 weeks into swimming with only 5k meters /per week. I do not like how hard  you have to push the 2 small buttons to turn the unit on. When I try, it screws with my pace. Holding the 2 buttons (at the bottom) at the same time, turns the unit on, when it turns on, it thinks you're trying to adjust the pace. whatever.... the clip is useless, just toss it and put this under your swim cap. It's plenty loud for me. I'm convinced the battery cap was designed by someone without thumbs and 3 eyeballs. Really? who designed this? it's 2013 people!! Anyway, it works so far. I guess this is better than trying to swim with my metronome from band camp. get it.

    Flowood, MS


  • 8/19/2013 It works!

    rating star By Paul A.

    Working great after 6 swims. It will improve your times.

    Paul A.
    Longmont, CO


  • 3/4/2013 Great device at a fair price

    rating star By William C.

    Tempo Trainer does what it says it will do. Plenty comfortable under your cap, and yes it does float.

    William C.
    Minetto, NY


  • 2/24/2013 So Far So Good!

    rating star By longswim

    I have used the TT Pro about 20 times now.  It works as advertised.  I haven't tried all the different functions.  I pretty much just use it to set a tempo to swim to.  It is much easier to use that my previous TT.  The buttons make it easier to adjust the timing.

    New York, NY


  • 1/19/2013 works as advertised

    rating star By The Admiral

    ok this thing really works and is easy to use. the floating feature is handy since it fell out of swm cap the second time I was using it (my fualt). Also helps with pace. I thought I was swimming a consistent pace until I got this thing, now swimming better pace. The beep keeps you from being lazy and makes you swim strong.

    The Admiral
    kennewinck, WA


  • 11/26/2012 A Metronome for the Pool

    rating star By Jim

    I am enjoying this device for my training to maintain and adjust stroke rate.  I've not had it long enough to rate longevity.  It does what is advertised.  The buttons are a bit difficult to use when the device is placed under a swim cap.



  • 8/14/2012 Works great !

    rating star By Ftr

    Works well. Gives me a consistent tempo that i can use for swim, bike, and run training. Floats in the water so its easier to find when it falls off. Wish it had a volume control because it can loud.

    Bartlett, IL


  • 6/17/2012 good and bad

    rating star By hank

    see my prior review 3/20/12.  It worked very well.  Then the LCD display numbers got light and eventually there was no display at all.  Figuring the battery was dead I bought a new one but no luck.  Then I noticed some water droplets inside the case and a tiny crack around the lower right button which must have allowed moisture in.  As it was not dropped the crack must have been from simply pressing the button .. a little weird, guess that area is weak and needs reinforcement.  The good news is that I finally checked the old battery and it still had 2.9V (3V battery) after ?30 hours so battery life is not an issue...  Still an improvement over the old model which simply did not work for me, but durability still an issue.  3.5 stars

    Bala Cynwyd, PA


  • 3/20/2012 Excellent product, big improvement

    rating star By Hank

    This is the successor to the original Tempo Trainer (I presume they will discontinue the original which was terribly unreliable in my experience with half a dozen of them). It is basically an adjustable, wearable, waterproof metronome. Unlike the original: It floats. It has a replaceable battery. It has buttons that actually work. It has 3 modes - short (seconds/hundredths) interval beeper, long (minutes/seconds) interval beeper and beeps per minute (the 1st two set # of seconds or minutes between beeps). I use it for lap swimming mounted facing in on the goggle strap at the back of my head where, except maybe for diving which I don't do, it stays put nicely and emits regular beeps at the prescribed interval. Others put it inside a swim cap. The beeps are quite audible to the wearer but not to those nearby. I find it extremely helpful in maintaining stroke technique, consistent turnover rate and strokes per pool length. It is easy to set turnover rate up or down for different portions of the workout. If strokes per length can be kept nearly constant, shortening the interval between beeps (i.e., between strokes) only modestly makes a surprising difference in lap times. After progressively shortening the beep interval over a few sets going back to the original interval tends to give me nearly the same speed while taking fewer strokes per length. The buttons are not labeled but they are pretty easy to keep straight. It has worked perfectly for about 20 workouts so far. If it proves durable  - unlike the predecessor model - and replacement of the battery is straightforward it would get that 5th star in Overall Rating and should be a big help to nearly anyone who swims regularly with a focus on steady stroke improvement. It should be equally useful for running, rowing, biking, fast walking and other activities with a cadence.

    Philadelphia, PA


  • 9/28/2015 Must use cap

    rating star By dan

    Works fine but when attached to goggle strap it comes off while swimming.  Must use swim cap to use this device,



  • 9/21/2015 Great Training Tool

    rating star By Shelfish

    This is great training tool, to get swimmer to feel their pace and to speed their tempo up,if needed.



  • 9/10/2015 Great training tool

    rating star By rbrenton

    Great training tool, fits right under the cap for tempo training.  Not exactly intuitive, but a quick read of instructions and it's easy to set and adjust.  Well sized to make it easy to use the buttons without making either too big to be convenient or too small to be usable with adult fingers.  The beep is loud enough without being obnoxious.

    Houston, TX


  • 8/1/2015 Like but, battery was DOA

    rating star By Jdawg

    Replaced the battery cause it was dead when it arrived.
    A bit complex but once I study this puppy sure to make gains, its already improving my swim fitness and times.

    Lancaster, NH


  • 5/14/2015 great product

    rating star By david

    great product

    franklin, louisiana


  • 5/10/2015 For a faster fly

    rating star By Angela

    My daughter's coach used this to get her fly cycle down. The next season our swim family was very impressed, but not as much as we were with her time drops and her feelings of accomplishment!

    Tipton, IA


Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz