Now Accepting PayPal and Google Wallet

TYR Mentor Hand Paddles

TYR Mentor Hand Paddles Reviews

Back to product page
  

Page Showing 1-20 of 43 Results

3 star rating (43 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 43 customer reviews
  • 6/30/2012 Great Paddle!

    rating star By Mike

    I went from the Catalyst to the Mentor and immediately noticed a big difference.  I was able to get a better feeling of what my hands were doing underwater.  I like the fact I can use these paddles easier than others for specific drills.  There is less stress on my shoulders however I still get good thrust and pulling power from the Mentors.  THANKS!

    Mike
    Goleta, CA

    Fit:

  • 3/19/2012 soso

    rating star By j k.

    Bought for local swim team...seem to break easily.  High school swimmers broke 3 pairs...expensive to replace.

    j k.
    galion, OH

    Fit:

  • 2/16/2012 Great fit poor construction

    rating star By Dave

    While I really appreciate the comfort in the contoured shape and performance of the flow holes in the TYR Mentor paddles, I think that the designers did themselves a disservice by using PVC (closed cell foam) plastic in the construction.
    Like many other reviewers my paddle broke under normal use, when I (lightly) pushed off the pool end wall to turn during training. I believe that any product should be designed to withstand the forces and conditions that it will be subjected to under normal use. TYR has failed in this respect.

    Dave
    Ottawa, ON, Canada

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 2/7/2012 Fragile

    rating star By Aaron

    Good feeling paddles.  They have a bit of flex which is nice, but the material is fragile.  I broke the tip off one within just a few weeks of owning them.  The other paddle broke right down the middle atfer 6 months of use, two times a week.  Now they are useless and I'll try something different this time.

    Aaron
    Maine

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 11/16/2011 Stronger materials needed

    rating star By Noreaster

    Worked well but cracked after first month of use.  I only swim 3 days a week and paddles are not used during every workout.  Poor construction.

    Noreaster
    New England

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 7/24/2011 Good

    rating star By spacemiller

    Great training tool, fits well and easy to use.  Same problem as others though in that I snapped one when I accidentally hit the wall.  So not very durable.

    spacemiller
    houston, TX

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 2/22/2011 Excellent product

    rating star By Judith G.

    Very satisfied and would recommend to others.

    Judith G.
    Lawrenceville, GA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 1/9/2011 bought a second pair - works well

    rating star By david l.

    This is the second pair of TYR Mentor paddles I've owned.  Firm, well shaped paddles and the rubber ties are comfortable and easy to slide in and out of during training.  I would recommend this product.

    david l.
    NORMAN, OK

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 1/3/2011 mentor hand paddles

    rating star By michael m.

    the mentor paddles are a good tool in helping my technique

    michael m.
    batavia, OH

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 12/29/2010 TYR Hand Paddles

    rating star By Sara

    I love them.  What a smooth freestyle swim...and an awesome breast stroke pull.  No more shoulder pain!!!

    Sara
    Sebec Maine

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 11/15/2010 average

    rating star By MINH T.

    It makes my hand easier when I swim breakstoke. But It isn't  comfortable when take of and take out it.

    MINH T.
    HOUSTON, TX

    Fit:

  • 11/3/2010 Mentor paddles great but too brittle

    rating star By Leonel M.

    The paddles are great but I just broke one of them by trying to grab the wall with them.  Maybe need to be a little bit thicker?...

    Will definetely get another pair, though.

    Leonel M.
    Tracy, CA

    Fit:

  • 10/25/2010 Love Them but don't go too big!

    rating star By Douglas J.

    Mediums are even a little too much surface area for me.  I love them but cannot over use them due to shoulder pressure.  I plan to add the small size even though I am 6'2" and "beefy".  They don't look like they will withstand much abuse without breaking so I am trying to be very careful with them.

    Douglas J.
    West Des Moines, IA

    Fit: Feels too big

  • 10/25/2010 Great Paddles

    rating star By susan l.

    I've been using my paddles all summer and got a pair for my grandson.  They work great and he can't wait to get his so he can train like I do.  I've used TYR brand for many years.

    susan l.
    lakemont, GA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 8/29/2010 Good Quality, good tube straps

    rating star By Kenneth Y.

    Work well on pull techniques.  Be careful with strokes other than freestyle.  Only have had for couple weeks, but the tube straps seem durable and will last a decent while.  Can get away with using only one large and one small strap, thereby allowing to have backups for both straps.

    Kenneth Y.
    Kannapolis, NC

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 8/9/2010 fantastic paddles

    rating star By grampus

    excellent paddles .
    good for swimming training!!!

    grampus
    over the rainbow.

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 7/7/2010 good feel

    rating star By tmnc

    I ended up using the "tighter" option for the tubing. I was worried that I had bought a size too large (may need better description of what size is best for what class and experience of swimmer), but these give good feel for the water without too much perceived stroke pressure.

    tmnc
    Pittsboro, NC

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 7/6/2010 Snapped

    rating star By Darren

    The top of the left paddle snapped off during the first use whilst pushing off the wall.

    Darren
    Boise

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 6/19/2010 TYR Mentor Hand Paddles

    rating star By Jose T.

    Easy on the shoulders.

    Jose T.
    Beverly Hills , CA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 5/11/2010 Hand paddles.

    rating star By Tod Y.

    Love these hand paddles. The first few workouts I was a little sore because they do make you work but love them.

    Tod Y.
    Dayton, OH

    Fit:

Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz