Now Accepting PayPal and Google Wallet

FINIS Freestyle Snorkel

FINIS Freestyle Snorkel Reviews

Back to product page
  

Page Showing 1-20 of 119 Results

4 star rating (119 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 119 customer reviews
  • 7/14/2009 Only useful in specific situations!

    rating star By Chris T.

    The snorkel only works if you have perfect head position and you maintain that position for the duration of the swim.  Second, even if you have perfect head position you need to swim in a pool with no waves/chop.  If you swim on a masters team with lots of waves and chop then you will constantly be fighting water in the snorkel.  Get the regular adult snorkel not the freestyle snorkel it sits higher out of the water.

    I have been a masters swimmer for many years, and compete regularly.  I am currently reworking my freestyle stroke to increase my speed and efficiency, and my coach recommended that I get this snorkel.  He said that using a snorkel will take my breathing out of the new stroke and would make it easier to focus on just my head position and new arm stroke.  I used the snorkel and can't seem to go more than 2 laps without too much water building up in the tube.  I asked a coach to watch me swim with the snorkel and he said that my head position looks great and was pretty consistent, but the snorkel opening only sits about 1 inch above the water.  So any waves in the pool or any small bobbing of the head and water will come in through the opening.  On the positive side, it worked perfectly on flip turns.  I had ZERO water come in even after 4-5 fly kicks off the wall, but it does want to shift to one side of your head as you rotate from your back to stomach during the fly kicks off the wall.  I finally went out and bought the regular adult snorkel.  This one sits much higher out of the water and works great for me.  Unfortunately it does not work as well on flip turns.  After my flip turn while I am shifting from back to stomach during my fly kicks the snorkel twists to one side of my head.   So you you need to either stop and correct the position or correct it with a quick flip of your hand during your recovery stroke while swimming.  I decided that it was easier not doing a flip turn, but rather stopping and pushing off the wall.  I hope this helps.

    Chris T.
    Birmingham, MI

    Fit:

  • 10/23/2014 Swap mouthpiece with FINIS swim snorkel

    rating star By Rick W.

    I'm rating based on what I expect-the snorkel is in the mail!  However, before ordering I read reviews about the mouthpiece and lack of a purge valve.  I called FINIS and they say that if you do NOT have the black band (e.g., yours is clear) on the Swim Snorkel, then you can take that mouthpiece off and mount it on the Freestyle.  I expect that will help with inadvertent water intake.  I'll let you know.

    Rick W.
    Woodland Park, CO

    Fit:

  • 1/14/2014 Freedom!

    rating star By racitraci

    I purchased the Finis Freestyle snorkel because I am recovering from ACDF (Anterior cervical discectomy and fusion), and until now was limited to walking.  This snorkel is set up for perfect form.. if you look to far down you will take in water, and if you look to far ahead you will take in water... it helps you find the right form.  It has been amazing for me, as my neck movements are limited, and I am able to get an amazing workout without impact!  Inactivity isn't in my DNA so Finis has saved me ... I'm so happy!

    racitraci
    Nanaimo, B.C.

    Fit:

  • 11/18/2013 fabulous swim aide

    rating star By sharon a.

    I'd been using a regular face mask and side mount snorkle to swim laps. this is much much better. Perfectly designed for swimming free style.  The mouth piece is the perfect size, the curve over the top of the head style....perfect.  Love it.

    sharon a.
    CHICAGOo, IL

    Fit:

  • 10/21/2013 Nice - but thought the original FINIS snorkel is more comfortable in your mouth

    rating star By Ronzoni

    I've used the original FINIS snorkel for about a year now - loved the product.  THought I'd try out this one - but find the alignment with my mouth off a bit, so there's constant pressure of the mouthpiece wanting to come out.  Have played with the adjustments to no satisfaction yet.  Love the product - is helpful with my freestyle technique work, but I feel the original's dimensions fit me better.

    Ronzoni
    Miami

    Fit:

  • 9/24/2013 FINIS Snorkel

    rating star By Hottub27607

    I'm very pleased. Not sure if I would like it but I DO. I seem to swim better, better kick, breathing is easier and not gasping for air. Turns at  lap seem smoother. All around I'm glad I gave it a try.

    Hottub27607
    Raleigh , NC

    Fit:

  • 9/18/2013 Works as advertised. Good trainer.

    rating star By Sower

    The first few times I used it, I managed to suck water up, and luckily I was in a shallow lane and didn't panic, as I needed to stop swimming and clear the water as I stood still.  Had I been in the deeper lanes, I might have panicked some.  Definitely makes you hold your head down and in the "correct" position.  Fun, though, being able to swim continuously, head-down, without having to turn side to side for air.  Plastic is soft in the mouth, not hard, so is easy to grip with teeth.

    Sower
    Boise, ID

    Fit:

  • 7/8/2013 Not super

    rating star By Barry

    The concept is great but it doesn't work as well as I'd hoped.  The mouthpiece is a junior size and the tubing is not flexible so the fit and angle are uncomfortable.  I do not believe that people can flip turn and push off hard with this. I tried, no way.  Also, there isn't a purge valve and the small diameter tube forces you to breathe with more force.  In theory that makes your lungs work harder but in actuality when any water gets in the snorkel, you forcefully inhale water and have a coughing fit.  I plan to exchange it for the other FINIS snorkel.

    Barry
    South Burlington, VT

    Fit:

  • 4/16/2010 FINIS Freestyle Snorkel

    rating star By Adriana I.

    The best snorkel to practice with according to my two teenage children.

    Adriana I.
    Wellington, FL

    Fit:

  • 8/12/2015 Freedom!

    rating star By JohnVT

    This is my second one and is used by many college teams while training. Allows for attention to be paid for form without having to manipulate your head. You can role around your stationary neck and if you don't youll pick up water in the snorkle. Will not work well where there is significant. turbulance

    JohnVT
    Burlington, Vermont

    Fit:

  • 7/13/2015 Didn't like it

    rating star By College Swimmer

    I felt fine while swimming but as soon as I did a flip turn or went under water I had to stop and dump the water out because I couldn't blow it out all the way. If you have a purge valve mouthpiece and can replace the mouth piece it comes with I would recommend that. I am going to return this and get the general snorkel and see if I am any better at using that one.

    College Swimmer
    Petersburg, IL

    Fit:

  • 7/3/2015 Very Helpful

    rating star By Chris

    This product really helped me not only watch both of my arms as they pull through the water, but also I could feel my head position better because of the forehead strap. If you lose correct head position, it applies a different pressure to the snorkel. Good biofeedback for me!

    Chris
    Orlando, FL

    Fit:

  • 4/21/2015 Works well...but takes time to get used too.

    rating star By james007

    I’ve been using this snorkel for almost a year now...I use it for freestyle swimming and flutter board kicking. I workout mostly in pools where there only about 2-3 lanes available because of the water aerobics that are going on at the same time. I get very little water because the snorkel requires that you keep your head in the correct position all the time (hence the reason for the design). It makes flutter board kicking a breeze because I can keep my head down the entire time (no neck strain at all). I usually kick 1 mile and swim 1 mile, I swim mostly without the snorkel because I don’t want to become dependent on it. However, when I do use the snorkel I get very little water in it. Flip turns are difficult but doable if you exhale while flipping. I use the snorkel only to help me master the correct head position. I can swim faster without the snorkel than with it.

    james007
    Ohio

    Fit:

  • 2/5/2015 Don't trust the snorkel

    rating star By Greg

    This product works some of the time. I swim a mile and a half each day and for all of the lenghts I swim I have to stop and drain the snorkel after each length. It seams to allow water in. I think if you are in a perfectly still pool it works better but most public pools have other swimmers in the lanes and if the swimmer in the other lane do the butterfly beside you; you may suck their wake up the snorkel and down your throat! Cough Cough sputter sputter.

    Greg
    Delta BC

    Fit:

  • 1/14/2015 uncomfortable over mask

    rating star By Lucie

    Seems snorkel was not the proper fit for me.

    Lucie
    TX

    Fit:

  • 1/11/2015 Excellent product and good price

    rating star By WV Swimmers

    Excellent product, good price and very prompt delivery

    WV Swimmers
    Bridgeport, WV

    Fit:

  • 1/7/2015 Snorkel

    rating star By Ron

    My wife liked it a lot and is using it .

    Ron
    Paso Robles, Ca.rstaib@charter.net

    Fit:

  • 12/7/2014 Flexible pipe and the air pipe fixed unsatisfactory.

    rating star By MrJ

    Flexible pipe and the air pipe fixed unsatisfactory.
    Sensation to shake violently during the turn.

    MrJ
    Korea Ref.of

    Fit:

  • 8/14/2014 Love this snorkel

    rating star By Lynn M

    My daughter loves this snorkel.

    Lynn M
    Concord, NC

    Fit:

  • 5/23/2014 useful

    rating star By John O.

    sometimes gets water in snorkel but maybe i just need to get used to it...

    John O.
    Huntington Beach, CA

    Fit:

Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz