Now Accepting PayPal and Google Wallet

Speedo Mercury Spliced Drop Back Swimsuit

Speedo Mercury Spliced Drop Back Swimsuit Reviews

Back to product page

Page Showing 1-20 of 21 Results

4.5 star rating (21 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 21 customer reviews
  • 2/22/2013 Great Competition Suit

    rating star By Gem

    I bought a Black/Gold in size 30 for a competition suit, because my more important meets were beginning to start. The suit itself fits perfectly (yes, tight, but I ordered a size down for that tightness) and the colors are nice but not overwhelming. I have always preferred thick strips, particularly in right competition suits, and while these straps are a little different from what I'm used to, they haven't put my shoulders asleep yet (which is important for a backstroker).

    I just wanted to add, because you can't really tell in the pictures, but the cloth above the white and on the straps is a mesh-type of material. I honestly don't think it matters, but I just wanted to give everyone a heads up.

    Overall, a good suit, with a good, tight, normal-Speedo fit that looks good!

    * For reference to the sizing, I'm 5"8"

    New York

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 4/11/2015 chaffing

    rating star By Life is Better when you Swim

    I have worn this Mercury suit several times, it fits well.  I always choose wide strap suits and I like this one.  My dissatisfaction is with painful chaffing of my upper arm against the upper side seam when swimming freestyle. This is the first time I have had a training suit chaff me.

    Life is Better when you Swim
    Detroit, MI

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 7/30/2014 Love this suit!!! I'm a 34DD and it holds them in great!

    rating star By Martha R.

    I've had this suit for 3 years and the colors and fabric are still great!  I use the suit three times a week and for racing since they hold my 34DD's in tight!  There is enough fabric  to cover them up, but is tight enough for my waist.  I'm a size 9-10 in clothes and normal bottom.  I highly recommend this suit to any Masters swimmer.

    Martha R.
    Fontana, CA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 11/17/2013 great suit

    rating star By Lifs gud

    My daughter's high school team uses these suits.  They have turned out to be a great suit; high enough in front the girls do not have to worry about bending over on the blocks and people seeing cleavage.  The back is low enough, but not too low!  My daughter is 5"41/2" weighs about 125 and use size28.  It is her competitive suit and it fits snug but not super tight.  She is long wasted and it's really comfortable.  The 26 was super tight and she would of had to pull the straps down in between events and that wasn't worth it.

    Lifs gud
    Austin, TX

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 8/3/2013 Minimal backside coverage

    rating star By Sierra J.

    I wanted to use this product for triathlon swim training.  Everything fits great except if you have wider hips or a round bottom.  It is moderate back side coverage and I didn't find it flattering with my shape.  I'm 5"7, 145 lbs.  I have a pear shape and even though it was a really cute suit from the front/back waist was not so cute from the waist down in the back.  Returned.

    Sierra J.
    Fredericksburg, VA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 10/2/2014 what a great suit!

    rating star By SC Swimmer

    The size 38 suit fits me perfectly and I am 62 yrs old, 5''4", 38.5-31.5-37.5 with torso length 62.5.  The colors at the side and the small trim line across the top of the chest are very flattering. The back of the suit has perfect coverage.  When I swim there is no feeling of tension from the shoulder straps.

    SC Swimmer
    Central, SC


  • 8/9/2014 Comfortable

    rating star By Ingrid S.

    i like it but i feel like is too small for my type of body, great material

    Ingrid S.
    Kearny, NJ

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 11/17/2013 Love the Speedo

    rating star By Barbara L.

    Love the suit….a bit snugger then what it should be for size but I love I can use it is pool and spa and it will hold up unlike other suits.  Quality suit.

    Barbara L.

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 8/14/2013 OK

    rating star By Michelle A.

    Rubbed my daughters inner thighs causing a rash.

    Michelle A.
    San Diego


  • 3/26/2013 Great suit

    rating star By IMtrigirl

    I use this suit for triathlon training. Great fit, great style, very flattering.


    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 1/11/2013 Speedo Mercury drop back

    rating star By Carol

    It feels a little tight in a secure way with no ride up. My daughter loves it and she said the mesh on the shoulders does not slow you down in competition. Definiately recommend.

    Valdese, NC

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 1/10/2013 not very stretchy

    rating star By weekend swimmer

    The suit is a typical Speedo size (tight) but it's not very stretchy. I've only worn it a few times so far, and taking it off when it is wet is not fun.  This suit is touted as "Endurance" (to last long) so maybe the reason the suit lasts longer is because the material is not stretchy? Because it is not stretchy, the straps dig into my chest a bit. it's a good suit, but not the most comfortable. I'm hoping with more time, it will stretch a little bit more.

    weekend swimmer
    New York, NY

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 1/10/2013 great for swim team

    rating star By swim mom

    Runs a little small, but that is okay. Just order a size up if you are unsure.  My daughter needed a purple and black swim suit for her swim team.  The suit they offered was a regular speedo suit, but they practice nearly every day and I don't think it would last the season.  The endurance suits are worth the extra cost because they last.

    swim mom

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 12/22/2012 Okay

    rating star By Colleen W.

    Tight fit with no give! Like the style but wish I'd ordered one size up!

    Colleen W.
    Alexandria, VA

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 11/30/2012 So far so good!

    rating star By Nan

    I am a lifguard and WSI (water safety instructor) and am in a suit six days a week gurading, teaching and doing my workouts. So it is verry important that I get a suit that fits, is durable and alows me to move freely. This suit offers all three. It felt a little tight at firs but strtched nicely after a few uses. Most of my past suits have been flybacks with a keyhole opening so the larger opening in the back of this one took a little getting used to.
    If you choose to bye this suit I am sure you wont be let down! Hope this is helpful to somone!!!! Happy swimming!

    Madras, OR

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 11/6/2012 Long Lasting

    rating star By Kate

    I have worn this suit 5 times a week for 7 months and it is still holding together well. The only thing wrong with it would be that the stitching has become discoloured but I can live with that. The colour is still bright as ever and I plan to buy it again.


    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 11/4/2012 great suit! advice on sizing from other reviews accurate

    rating star By Karen

    Like other reviews say,  after measuring buy a size up for most comfort for little girls.

    Well made, looks wonderful

    Richmond, VA

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 10/9/2012 Excellent

    rating star By Anila

    Swimsuit arrived quickly. Fits perfectly on my 8 year old. Great service.

    Paramus, NJ

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 6/29/2012 Excellent quality swim suit with a great look.

    rating star By kerry a.

    Because of previous ratings, I did go to a store and tried this swim suit on before purchasing.  I am usually a 34, but because of the minimal stretch material, I couldn't even get the 34 on.  So, I tried a 36 and a 38.  From what I've learned about swim suits, competitive swimsuits are supposed to fit snug with the ability to pull the shoulder straps about two inches above your shoulders.  This is how the 36 fits me.  The 38 I was able to pull the straps four inches above.  The 38 didn't squeeze my body, so was a little more comfortable, but for swimming I like my suit to be more snug even if it is a little less comfortable, so I went with the 36.  

    Hopefully this will help others trying to figure out what size to buy, as this swimsuit is a really good choice.  I normally buy swimsuits that are Nylon/lyrica, and they do not last.  This is why I am trying the polyester swimsuit.  I like the design and the color strip is really bright - looks great, and I am excited about the idea that the color will look great for a long time.

    kerry a.
    arvada, CO

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 1/5/2012 Speedo Mercury Spliced Drop Back

    rating star By not an athlete

    Ordered my regular size, but because the chlorine resistant fabric has less stretch, the suit seems a bit snugger.

    not an athlete
    Snowy NY

    Fit: Feels too small

Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz