Now Accepting PayPal and Google Wallet Holiday Gift Guides 2015 - Shop Now
Now Accepting PayPal and Google Wallet

Speedo Speed Socket Mirrored

Speedo Speed Socket Mirrored Reviews

Back to product page

Page Showing 1-20 of 197 Results

4.5 star rating (197 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 197 customer reviews
  • 8/5/2014 Please read before buying!

    rating star By Michael

    Kinda weird writing such a long review about goggles, but theres one major thing about these goggles that for some reason none of the other reviews seem to mention. I've been a long time Vanquisher wearer- never leaked, extremely comfortable, and lasted a fairly long time.  When my last pair was finally starting to show its age, I decided to get a new pair of goggles for meets to prevent any goggle mishaps when racing. The Speed Sockets really appealed to me, with the low profile design and really cool mirror coating, so I ordered a silver pair. When I got them, the first thing that stood out to me was how bright they were for a mirrored goggle. Now, I've been wearing silver mirrored Vanquisher 2.0's for years, and while they were somewhat dark for indoor swimming, I was used to it and didn't really notice it. The Sockets were much brighter- almost as if they weren't mirrored at all! This is great for swimming indoors- they have the cool look of mirrored goggles, but give you the vision of a lightly tinted goggle. I have yet to use them outside so I can't comment on that. So, after I get them I go over to my pool to test them out. I put them on, again surprised by how much light they let in and the crystal clear lenses. I jump in to start my warm up and then- utter disappointment. They are blurry underwater! I lifted my head out of the water and again get crystal clear vision. Underwater, blurry. Feels like I was wearing someone else's glasses.  I went online to read some reviews and see if I got a faulty pair. Nope, in fact this is completely normal and is caused by the light refraction of the curved lenses. While this would seem like a shocking design oversight, it actually works very well. You can get clear, wide panoramic vision when you're on the blocks or looking at the clock for splits, and blurry vision underwater when all you need to see is a big dark line.  After a couple hundred yards when you get really into your workout you won't even notice. Other than that, they weren't as comfortable as the vanquishers. The gaskets are thinner and the edges of the gaskets are not rounded as they are in the vanquishers, they're actually a little sharp and can dig into your skin, especially around the nose area. I got raccoon eyes, which was a first for me. Not unbearable, but I wouldn't recommend them for a 2 hour practice. Will be fine for a couple hundred yards in a race. Overall they are far more different from the vanquishers than I thought, but not in a bad way. I'll definitely keep them, but only for races.

    Charlotte, NC


  • 9/10/2013 Great Goggles for Daily use

    rating star By DJB

    These are great goggles for daily swim practice use. They do not fog, leak and have a good snug fit. I have used them in pool and open water triathlons as well. Very reliable.

    Williamsburg, VA


  • 9/6/2013 Highly recommended goggles

    rating star By Prinsess

    Other goggles always tend to fog for me except for this one which states its anti-fog.  It's really comfortable & stays on very firmly without having to adjust in-between laps.  My first pair was a speed socket but it wasn't mirrored.  I simply wanted a mirrored one & purchased a speedo liquid storm but it didn't feel too comfortable.  I decided to look for a speed socket & found this pair.  Very pleased with my selection.

    antelope valley


  • 2/24/2009 Lightweight, but eyecup cuts. Very uncomfortable.

    rating star By Dean

    These goggles seemed like the perfect solution for me.  I swim a mile or more a day.  Unfortunately, I couldn't get through 3 laps before the pain around my eyes became unbearable.  They didn't leak and visiblity was good, but I wouldn't use them for any more than one length of a 50 meter pool.

    Boston, MA


  • 12/9/2014 Awesome

    rating star By BeastSwimmer

    Best goggles I have ever used in my life.

    Houston, TX


  • 1/23/2014 Great competition goggles

    rating star By Patrick L.

    My daughter loves these goggles for both indoor outdoor swimming.

    Patrick L.
    OFallon, MO


  • 11/1/2012 Great Goggles!! Misleading Picture...

    rating star By Nick

    I bought the gold/black mirrored goggles. Everything is great except the actual mirrored part....Other than that, I love them and decided to keep them.



  • 9/9/2011 Great view and feeling

    rating star By justin lim

    i have never used black mirror swim goggle cuz its too dark at indoor so i always use bright color before but when i got this goggle i was so surprise cuz it is not that dark what i thought before. It was so nice view in the water indsoor swimming pool im so so happy to have this goggle and i 100% recommend this goggle for everyone who just didnt have tried before just go for it~!!! Trust me its unbelievable

    justin lim
    seoul korea


  • 5/26/2009 AWESOME GOGGLES

    rating star By h20/polo mom

    Great wear, Great fit, NO leaks. Always in the eye socket!

    h20/polo mom
    san diego


  • 11/24/2015 SUPER Clear View

    rating star By Adam A.

    These googles provide a crystal-clear view of the pool water and lane, but can run a bit tight even with the band on the loosest setting.

    Adam A.
    San Mateo


  • 9/26/2015 Good for meets, not for practice

    rating star By Swimmer A.

    I bought these googles instead of vanquishers because i wanted to try something different. They good for meets. not for practice. If you put these on your face while your face is wet, the seal isnt so good. Also, they're so close to your face that eyelashes brush up against the googles, its just an uncomfortable feeling, but it might just be because i have long eyelashes. I did notice a small improvement in my times though. All in all they're good goggles for racing, not for practice. I think ill just use them in the latter part of the championship season (zones).

    Swimmer A.


  • 9/13/2015 Great product!

    rating star By Tony

    Perfect fit and comfey



  • 8/28/2015 Excelent!!!

    rating star By Gustavo Palombarani

    Thanks for everything

    Gustavo Palombarani
    Hollywood, FL


  • 8/11/2015 Great goggles at moderate price

    rating star By Kim

    My son is a swimmer on the High School
    Swim team and the goggles are great for daily use.  They can fog up some but that is normal.

    Fishers, IN


  • 7/27/2015 Great price, fast delivery

    rating star By Jeff

    Was everything we expected. Great price and fast delivery.

    Waukesha, WI


  • 6/25/2015 I love these goggles

    rating star By Big o

    You have to adjust them for comfort level& after that they are perfect the look&performance

    Big o
    Atlanta ga


  • 6/4/2015 Great goggles. Misleading picture

    rating star By swordfish

    My son only wears Speedo socket goggles, they are comfortable and no leakage. He wears the clear one for indoor practice, and the mirrored one for outdoors practice in summer. I bought him the black/green color last summer and they look very nice. This year he wants to try a different color, so I bought the black/gold. Very disappointing, they don't look like the picture shown at all, you can hardly see the "gold", they look all black to me (at least indoors). Thanks to swimoutlet's great service, I will send them back and get him another pair of the black/green.

    New Jersey


  • 4/8/2015 Good underwater field of view and a solid seal.

    rating star By Silver Surfer

    Good underwater field of view and a solid seal.  You may have to experiment with the nose pieces to get the just right fit, but once you do they work great.

    Silver Surfer
    Tucson, AZ


  • 3/18/2015 Great purchase

    rating star By LMartin

    good value for this product



  • 1/18/2015 Best Goggles

    rating star By ejnlin

    I just love these goggles.  They fit well.  I have been using a vanquisher 2.0 for years and on a whim bought the speed socket.  I love the new nose piece and seals which improves the fit.



Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz