Now Accepting PayPal and Google Wallet Holiday Gift Guides 2015 - Shop Now
Now Accepting PayPal and Google Wallet

Arena Smart Cap

Arena Smart Cap Reviews

Back to product page

Page Showing 1-20 of 42 Results

4 star rating (42 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 42 customer reviews
  • 6/18/2011 arena cap

    rating star By longhairedwouldbeswimmer

    Had high hopes for this.  I have long colored hair. I'm a very active mid40s starting to plan some alternatives to my high impact activities. I enjoy swimming outside during the summer but limit how much I do since I hate to get my colored hair impacted by the pool water and sun.  Ideally, would like to be able to swim indoors during the colder months for great low impact exercise, but not being able to keep my hair dry is a major detractor.   Bought this with high hopes. Mine is black and grey. No size was indicated.  Only seems to come in one size, yet inside the cap it indicates that it is an "M".  The cap is painfully tight.  It has a nice snug design and material that does seem to avoid the hair damage that happens with other materials.  I called swimoutlet back about getting a larger one, but they do not have one.  No one else advertises having them in "L".  The material appears to keep the hair from getting soaked, but hair does still get damp.  Would love to get a solution that fits and works.

    Dallas, TX


  • 9/20/2014 Good cap for exercise/rec--serious training use is a ?

    rating star By EQB

    I have long hair and before used a combo of hair ties and Lycra caps. I have trouble with other materials pulling my hair. So I tried this one and now bought a backup. No ties. Easy to use , others in the gym covet it and I send them here . Only problem- sometimes during very vigorous training it will begin to slip. It's easy to fix and never comes completely off. It doesn't happen all the time so I have to wonder if I am not quite putting it on right when that happens.
    Bottom line-if you have long hair and are taking a class, doing workout laps, or rec swimming, I highly recommend this cap. If you are a competitor training hard or competing, you likely need something tighter.

    San Francisco, CA


  • 9/20/2014 Best for unshorn, long hair

    rating star By Jas

    'Singh', along swimming ;-)



  • 3/12/2014 Perfect solution!

    rating star By Maria M.

    I got this cap for my 14-year-old daughter who has really thick, shoulder length hair.  Other caps pulled her hair, or didn't stay on.  This is perfect!  All her hair fits, it doesn't pull her hair, and it doesn't slide off while she is swimming.  It is true that it is not waterproof, but she is a competition swimmer, and the point was not to keep her hair dry, but to keep it out of the way while she is racing.  LOVE IT!

    Maria M.
    Piscataway, NJ


  • 6/21/2013 Long Hair Rescue!

    rating star By Sara W.

    This cap is perfect for longer hair, easy to use, and now I can avoid the broken pieces caused by wet hairbands pull out my hair!

    Sara W.


  • 3/27/2012 WASTE OF MONEY!

    rating star By Susanne

    I had high hopes for this product.  I wanted a great fitting snug cap that was long-lasting, easy to put on, and gentle on my hair.  I was/am sorely disappointed.  I've been using it as a swim cap for lap swimming 5 days per week for the past 3 months.  The cap is already rotted and falling apart like a cheap lycra swimsuit.  The cap was snug at first, but loosened fairly quickly.  Probably by about a month into use, it was limp and my ponytail was flopping around in there.  I was VERY careful to wash, rinse, and hang-dry after each and every use, and it still disintegrated.  I paid over $25 for this cap, for only 3 months of use.  It's SUPPOSED to be made of a long-lasting fabric.  Sadly, it isn't long-lasting, and I'm out the money.  I think I'd be better off just using cheap lycra caps.



  • 11/15/2011 not effective in keeping hair dry

    rating star By stephanie

    Got this for my 10 year old.  It was too small to cover all her hair, which is not that much.

    portland maine


  • 8/13/2015 true swimmer

    rating star By swimmer

    The only issue is that my head gets cold.

    dolton, Illinois


  • 7/17/2015 Easy to use, very comfortable.

    rating star By Lucille Tse

    This cap is so comfortable! I am Asian with a flatter head and it stays on where I put it. It does not give me a head ache. It is so easy to put on and remove.

    I do light and moderate swimming laps. I have never had to readjust this cap once I put it on. I highly recommend this cap.

    Lucille Tse
    Santa Clara, CA


  • 5/28/2015 Works!

    rating star By Melissa k.

    So simple to use. I can even put it on with dry hair and I have long, curly hair.

    Melissa k.
    San Francisco


  • 5/13/2015 great product

    rating star By GSABSA

    I have a smallish head- 20.5 inches. The cap fits me well, but is not at all tight. It would fit a larger head and much more hair. The fabric is nice and stretchy. My hair is 2 inches below my shoulders. This cap is easy to put on. It does not pull my hair and stays on during lap swimming. There is no static issue. All of the hair fits well and the cap could hold more. The putty ear plugs never stick in my ears well for me, but I use them and they are comfortable with this cap. This cap keeps them in place. My ears do get damp under the putty, but no actual water gets in, so I do not have ear aches. My hair does get wet.. I'm usually ready to wash my hair on swim days anyway, so I do not care. On days that I want my hair to stay dry, I use the Sporti Silicone Ear Cap instead, but this one is a bit easier.

    Southern Oregon


  • 4/17/2015 Worksf or me!

    rating star By Va.

    This cap is great and the only reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is because I wish it lasted longer, never-the-less I'm now on my second one. Although it is recommended for long hair I have chin to shoulder length hair cut in many layers. I pull what is long back with a ponytail holder, pull the inside part of the cap on like a head band (which catches all the short hair around my face) and pull the outer layer of the cap over my head covering what is left of my crazy hair. There is no hair to have to tuck up inside the cap. So for shorter crazy hair this cap is great! I swim 2500 to 2900 meters 3x's a week. I have a condition where the occipital nerves in the back of my head are damaged and any pressure put around my head causes terrible pain. This cap is snug without being too tight, stays in place, and causes me almost no discomfort. I don't mind that my hair gets wet so that's not an issue for me. I'm sorry the pink is out of stock...would have liked another pink one, but grey works just as well.  Great product! Please don't discontinue it!

    Wernersville, PA


  • 4/13/2015 Perfect for long hair!

    rating star By Lorraine

    This makes putting long hair into a swim cap simple and frustration free.  It fits well and is very easy to use.  It is nylon so won't save your hair from chlorine and salt, but if put on first it makes putting on a latex cap over top easy.

    Phoenix, AZ


  • 1/22/2015 Wonderful

    rating star By Helen

    Fits great and doesn't move once you have it on while swimming



  • 1/19/2015 Arena Smart Cap

    rating star By Deborah

    This cap is absolutely amazing!  I can not say enough about this cap.  I purchased this cap for my eleven year old daughter because the other four caps we tried simply did not work for her.  

    My daughter has very, very, long hair.  Trying to get all that hair in a ponytail and into a regular swim cap just makes a huge drag in the water.  This cap allows her to put the cap on herself, no more arguments between us, and by its design, naturally lifts the hair so it is evenly smoothed out, throughout the head, in the cap.  

    This cap allows her in increase her speed while keeping her hair out of the way.  Best cap I have found so far.

    Corona, CA


  • 1/18/2015 Not good

    rating star By Moderate swimmer

    Wouldn't mind the price if it kept my hair dry but it didn't even in a moderate water exercise class..

    Moderate swimmer


  • 1/14/2015 Do not get this if the intended use is for swimming

    rating star By mary d.

    I don't know how you would wear this thing so that it does not move around on your head. The two pieces are attached and they seem to pull against one another so that the thing moves around from all sides. I have separated the two hoping that will help. The design is horrible.

    mary d.
    Monona, WI


  • 11/29/2014 Soft and comfortable for my Occipital Neuralgia condition

    rating star By VMD

    So far so good. I've only had this cap for a few weeks so as always, time will tell. However, with medium length hair and occipital nerve damage which causes a great deal of pain at the back of my head, this cap works well for my needs. It's snug without pulling the hair on my neck and around my temples. It's VERY easy to put on whether I have my hair lose or tied up. It's soft and comfortable on my ultra tender scalp. I wash it with soap and water after each use in an effort to make it last longer as other reviewers have stated it's short life span. If it lasts longer than 6 months I'll give it the fifth star.

    Wernersville PA.


  • 11/26/2014 to small

    rating star By rsdsurvivor

    this item fits to small.

    Marysville, WA


  • 10/26/2014 Hair gets wet

    rating star By Anne

    I've tried wearing it the suggested way multiple times, and my hair still gets wet.

    Chicago, IL


Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz