Now Accepting PayPal and Google Wallet

Barracuda Insulated Swim Cap

Barracuda Insulated Swim Cap Reviews

Back to product page
  

Page Showing 1-20 of 36 Results

3 star rating (36 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 36 customer reviews
  • 1/27/2013 Barracuda Swim cap

    rating star By Bevenh

    It helps keep me warmer in the pool. It is comfortable to wear. Easy to put on and take off. If the strap is undone, then it a little difficult to get it through the loop again. If you are wearing this cap be aware your hearing is greatly reduced. It is such an issue to me that I wear it with the strap undone so I can hear. I am in a water aerobic class and it is important to hear the instructor. It could also be a safety issue, so just be aware. It is well made. Heavier rubber material and a nylon inner lining.

    Bevenh
    USA, UTAH

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 10/14/2012 Great Swim Cap

    rating star By Andrea

    I swim laps three times a week with this cap.  I bought a large based on previous reviews.  I think my head is normal-sized and I think the medium would fit a little better, but I am totally happy with the cap.  It keeps my hair covered and my ears covered, although a little water seeps in.  The strap works fine and keeps the cap on my head.  I would definitely purchase this again.  I wish it came in other colors.

    Andrea
    Imperial, MO

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 9/11/2012 XL swim cap

    rating star By Big Tall Lady

    This is the only swim cap that actually fits my big head.  It falls short however because the strap is strangely short and the velcro does fit through the slit on the other side-----very odd since this is an expensive specialty product.  I would return it if I didn't need a cap that fits.  I will have to buy some velcro and extend the strap.  Wish me luck with that!
    Don't really understand why manufacturers can't make the strap appropriate to the size of the cap,

    Big Tall Lady
    NY

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 8/21/2012 Scrap the Strap!

    rating star By JHL

    Quality materials and construction, but the design of the strap makes it too difficult to close. Had to return it for credit.

    JHL
    Suffern, NY

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 7/24/2011 Barracuda Isulated Swim Cap

    rating star By Ron

    Enjoy using the cap for lap swimming.  The strap works well, but had to have my wife snip the end into an angled point which makes inserting into the plastic buckle much easier.

    Ron
    Green Valley, Arizona

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 7/31/2009 Does help if you get cold swimming.

    rating star By Lynn

    Great help if you get cold swimming. Strap is so short it is useless.

    Lynn
    Port Orchard, Washington

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 1/21/2014 Ok Product

    rating star By Tom

    I bought the large based upon the sizing chart and felt like I could have used the medium. The cap is warm and does its job but I do not like the two seams that run down the front of the cap. Its much worse if you have to cover it with a neoprene race cap. I recently completed a 3 mile swim in 60 degree water and the cap kept me warm but I spent much of the 2nd half of the swim trying not to think about the pain caused by the seams on my forehead.

    Tom
    Orlando, FL

    Fit: Feels too big

  • 9/29/2013 Fits huge head

    rating star By Randy

    I have a big head, and have problems finding swim caps that fit.  I tried on most of the other similar items available at the local Tri shop but all too small.  Pleasantly surprised that this Barracuda cap fits!  I like the velcro adjustable chin strap feature but as someone else commented, it could be longer and allow for more adjustment.  This is after the fact, but the person helping me at the Tri shop commented that insulated caps marketed for surfing and scuba aren't all that different in design so if finding one the right size is an issue, try looking into those as well.

    Randy
    Seattle, WA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 10/28/2011 too difficult to hook on the strap

    rating star By Bruce SF

    It is very difficult to get the strap through the buckle, because the buckle is too small.  After messing with it for 10 minutes or so I might have gotten it to work once.

    Bruce SF
    san francsico, ca

    Fit:

  • 3/4/2013 The most weird thing I saw in my life. Awful! No use for it.

    rating star By Natalie

    Terrible!

    Natalie
    Charlotte, NC

    Fit:

  • 9/17/2012 Caution!

    rating star By Peter Miller

    I doubt that I will use the product.  The chin strap is far too short--virtually impossible to even use.  The strap is designed to traverse the chin and clip--well, it is too short to reach the clip.

    Peter Miller
    Zimmerman, MN

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 5/2/2012 return

    rating star By Patricia B.

    he didn't like it AT ALL will return it

    Patricia B.
    Morehead City, NC

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 10/17/2011 A Must Have to Extend the Swim Season

    rating star By Joseph S.

    Get into the water sooner in the spring and stay in later in the fall with this Swim helmet b/c it keeps your head protected from that icy chill of sub-60degree water-the adjustable chin strap is durable and comfortable-this helmet is a must!

    Joseph S.
    Amsterdam, NY

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 6/25/2011 Still Working the Chin Strap

    rating star By Ed F.

    I use the cap for cold ocean swims (with goggles or mask/snorkel). It keeps my head warm, the cap is very comfortable on the head and doesn't bother the mask or goggles.  The cap adds bouyancy to the head and I enjoy that.  The chin strap is frustrating for me to thread and it chafs the skin under my chin a bit.

    Ed F.
    Fountain Valley, CA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 11/29/2010 Warm gear but difficult to thread strap on the run

    rating star By Darren F.

    I used the product for the tough mudder, but did not wear it the whole race since it is difficult to thread the strap through the plastic loop when you are under time pressure. The objective was to keep my head warm after being submerged in cold water outside, it did that job well.  I have a large head, close an 8 in hat sizes and it was a little tight and the chin strap had a only a little length left (also making it difficult to thread). Good product for keeping you warm.

    Darren F.
    NJ

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 10/10/2010 My 4th cap; I enjoy these caps, they protect my ears.

    rating star By Gladys C S.

    I do laps and water aerobics, and cap is great for both. Plus it protects my earfs.

    Gladys C S.
    Philadelphia, PA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 10/1/2010 thermo hood

    rating star By sue

    The hood feels great on my head and gives me the insulation I need for cooler swimming. I find that the neck piece can cause irritation due to the moving of my head from side to side when doing the crawl. So what I do is tuck the neck straps up under my goggle straps and it works great! No irritation

    sue
    Lincoln N.H.

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 9/7/2010 Chin strap is too tight

    rating star By Michael K.

    I am pleased with the cap with the exception of the chin strap.  The strap is too tight and the velcro is not long enough to loosen it.  I am thinking of trying a larger size to get a longer strap, but worry that a larger size would be too large around the head.

    Michael K.
    Clinton, IA

    Fit:

  • 8/22/2010 The perfect cap!

    rating star By Patrick Cole

    Works and wears well. Good idea, well executed...

    Patrick Cole
    Sherman Oaks, CA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 8/3/2010 It is warm

    rating star By Alex F.

    This is my first neoprene swimming cap, so I am not sure what a good one is supposed to be like, and if this is it. I've used it on a couple of open ocean swims, and on a one mile open ocean competition with the official latex cap on top, and it worked fine all times.

    My head is not cold, which was my goal with this cap. :)

    On the negative side: The strap does not seem to be too comfortable. I thought many times of not strapping the velcro, but I do not want to lose it in the cold waves, so I always strap it.

    On the plus side: I did not have chaffing from the strap as I had feared, or people had warned me.

    Alex F.
    San Jose, CA

    Fit:

Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz