Now Accepting PayPal and Google Wallet

FINIS Tech Toc

FINIS Tech Toc Reviews

Back to product page
  

Page Showing 1-19 of 19 Results

4.5 star rating (19 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 19 customer reviews
  • 11/11/2013 Borrow one if you can

    rating star By Morty

    When i first saw this in a video, I was pretty convinced I needed one.

    But after getting one, I realize my roll is pretty darn good.

    It's helpful to get the confirmation on the roll and to tune it up (along with the timing of your stroke). But I wished I could have borrowed it a couple of times and be done.

    I'm going to loan it to some of my swimming buddies. It's  a helpful tool. If you are a flat swimmer or don't really know if your hands are exiting as they should be, it's a great tool.  

    Too bad it's not a common item for pools to just loan out or even rent for a couple of bucks.

    Morty
    Salem, OR

    Fit:

  • 10/14/2013 Very Noisy

    rating star By Fred Arm

    Should not be used in public swimming environment because the noise is irritating to other swimmers.

    Fred Arm
    Seattle, WA

    Fit:

  • 3/26/2009 A very neat gadget

    rating star By PSwim

    I like it and am glad I have it, and it does exactly what it claims. Bear in mind that it will create extra drag, so don't expect to keep up with fast swimmers while using it.

    Bear in mind that while you'll get an audible "click" when you roll, you'll still need close supervision by your coach to know if when you're rolling correctly, so this tool needs to be used in conjunction with someone watching you, at least initially.

    PSwim
    Greensboro, NC

    Fit:

  • 8/3/2015 FINIS Tech Toc

    rating star By EP

    I really like the product.  It's helping me to improve my stroke.  My only complaint is that the nylon belt is very rough on the skin if you wear it around your waist.  A softer, smoother belt strap would be better.

    EP
    Eden Prairie, MN

    Fit:

  • 7/20/2014 Hels Technique

    rating star By TN

    Really helps technique

    TN
    Knoxville, TN

    Fit:

  • 7/5/2014 Tech Toc

    rating star By Mike

    A good aid in learning how far to rotate the hips. Easy to use. Goes on as easy as a belt. I had a little trouble hearing the ball bearings hit, but I am a little hard of hearing.

    Mike
    Troy, OH

    Fit:

  • 4/13/2014 Would recommend

    rating star By Ganeshan

    Instructional video by Finis on the web is a good place to look at how to use this product. Note that the two sides of the tube with the ball bearing are one and the same tube and to move from Delay OFF to ON and vice versa, one has to hold the base with one hand and the tube with the other hand and twist. It is a good product to use to get the right amount of hip roatation. The OFF and ON settings are useful, the OFF for swimmers with little or no hip rotation and the ON for those who are doing it reasonably well. Lucky for me, I was already doing it right and the clicks came at every stroke with the delay set to ON. I tried it both at the hip and at the waist and both worked well for freestyle. I am yet to try for backstroke and breaststroke.  When I first took it out of the packaging, I found the noise too loud and thought it may annoy other pool users. When I used it at the pool, other users hardly noticed it. The level of sound was just right for me to get feedback. The belt is solid. I may update this review after I have used it a lot more. At this stage, I highly recommend it - I see so many people swimming 'flat' with little or no hip rotation and they will certainly benefit by using this product.

    Ganeshan
    Auckland, New Zealand

    Fit:

  • 3/15/2014 Is great!

    rating star By negrita

    Is great to correct your performance. It help me to better my time, I love it! I recommend it.

    negrita
    Toa Alta, PR

    Fit:

  • 3/6/2014 Item to Try!

    rating star By Negrita

    I like it! Is very easy to get use to it. I recommend it for the new swimmers and for those who want to better their performance. If you try-it and think that you didn't need it, at least you can confirm that you are doing things right. ;)

    Negrita
    Toa Alta, PR

    Fit:

  • 4/30/2013 must have for beginners

    rating star By fatih

    sometimes 1 tool is more than 1000 words.this swimming metronome is one of those gears.sometimes however or how many times you try tocorrect the athletes'  wrong habits, they may grasp the point. body rotation and balance is very important for a swimmer and by using this tool, the swimmer notices the wrong move simultaneously. i think, intermediates shoul use it to improve their skills.

    fatih
    turkey

    Fit:

  • 1/24/2013 AS EXPECTED!

    rating star By Elizabeth

    What an AWESOME gadget, I'll give it a 5!  It does works as promised and is so easy.  I had such an improvement after I started using it.  I am glad that I got it!

    Elizabeth
    Bronx, NY

    Fit:

  • 6/28/2012 Finis Tech Toc

    rating star By Topgun09

    I took it to my Tri swim class, and everyone loved it. Great instant feedback.

    Topgun09
    St louis, mo

    Fit:

  • 4/17/2012 I like this thing!

    rating star By Steve

    I was a little concerned about the noise this product made.  So I asked the lifeguard to listen for it.  He said he could not hear the click - click.  So that was encouraging.   I'm anxious to see if this helps my swim stroke.  Time will tell.  Very easy to put on and take off.  Right now I use it for 50% of my workouts.

    Steve
    Boise, Idaho

    Fit:

  • 8/12/2011 See if you can try it before you buy it

    rating star By Robert D.

    It does what it is expected to do. I was merely curious as there is so much now on hip rotation and everyone keeps talking about it. The only thing that I will accredit is that it makes you mindful and  conscious of  rotating your hips. If you have issues with rotating your hips then this device will pay dividends but if you already have good rotation as it is, my advice is to pass on.  I do not really need this.  I did try to contact the Company  Tech department and left them a message. I could not figure out how to swivel from 35% to the 45% and I got no response from Finis.

    Robert D.
    Newhall, CA

    Fit:

  • 10/4/2010 I love it! It works! Swimming better than ever

    rating star By suzanne

    I was only rotating completely on the right side 60% of the time. In one day I learned to correct that and the third day I got 100% Clicks. Hooray! Of course, underwater, all the other swimmers can hear the clicks so I had to explain. Drove them nuts for a while at the La Jolla YMCA. Now I will start on my backstroke.

    suzanne
    la jolla, ca

    Fit:

  • 7/16/2010 Helpful

    rating star By StillLearning

    I have poor hip rotation thus need anything that would help them get with the program.  I use this gizmo to learn swim with proper rotation and it does help.

    StillLearning
    Alexandria City, VA

    Fit:

  • 2/14/2010 Dresses Up the Drills

    rating star By Sandra B.

    I bought this device to provide feedback on my drills. I was disappointed in the lack of instruction that came with the device. So I wrote to Adam Young (swim coach extraordinaire in Perth Australia)  and he provided the much needed instructions:
    "The main job of the tech toc is to give you feedback on your body roll and your roll timing. It should click on every stroke as your leading hand enters the water and extends forwards. If it doesn't click, or there's a delay, focus on the arm extension onto that side. It's particularly useful during a long swim as when you get tired you tend to rotate less through the water and the Tech Toc gives you instant feedback on that."

    The rhythm of the 'tocs' is very important - monitor it particularly when you go to breathe. Try and get each stroke evenly spaced, so regular toc-toc-toc-toc-toc, even on a breathing stroke. If you get an uneven rhythm this can show your stroke is lopsided. Or a faster toc on a breathing stroke shows you your arm is dropping in the water as you breathe - this is very common, focus on extending that arm and keeping it strong as you breathe."

    One thing though- check with your lane and the lane next to you prior to using the device-sometimes the "tocs" can be irritating to them if they don't understand the origin of the noise.

    Otherwise, I found the device to be helpful as a teaching modality.

    Sandra B.
    Menlo Park, CA

    Fit:

  • 4/9/2009 good aid

    rating star By JB

    Great product to help prefect body roll.  Should be used during training and not racing.

    JB
    FLA

    Fit:

  • 5/8/2008 Finis Tech Toch

    rating star By K. Castro

    This is a great product! Gives instant feedback to the swimmer. We used this at practice with instant results. Only drawback is the belt is large and not very adjustable for junior swimmers.

    K. Castro
    Vacaville, CA

    Fit:

Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz