Now Accepting PayPal and Google Wallet Holiday Gift Guides 2015 - Shop Now
Now Accepting PayPal and Google Wallet

Speedo Aquabeat LZR Racer Special Edition 2GB MP3 Player

Speedo Aquabeat LZR Racer Special Edition 2GB MP3 Player Reviews

Back to product page

Page Showing 1-20 of 101 Results

3.5 star rating (101 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 101 customer reviews
  • 7/9/2013 Works great

    rating star By Drde

    My husband swims an hour a day and says the time goes by so quickly. It was difficult to load the music but that could be my lack of tech ability...once we got it going, it was wonderful.  Guaranteed the best gift I have ever given him...thanks Swim outlet!



  • 12/1/2012 When it works, its great

    rating star By Al

    It worked for 11 months and then died. Swim Outlet was very quick in getting me a warranty exchange. New one is working great now. Weak link is the earbuds which due die after about 6 months and are warrantied for 3 months.

    pomona NY


  • 4/12/2014 Don't buy

    rating star By Marsha K.

    Plus, easy to load tracks

    Minus--poor sound quality--crackles, buzz, odd sounds.  Basically a piece of crap.  

    This is second try for this product as the first one just stopped working after nine months.

    Marsha K.
    williamsburg, VA


  • 10/30/2013 Got afraid at first -Works good in the water

    rating star By EAO

    I initially tried to load it up with music from my iMac.  When I checked for the music, it was working really crappy.  Then I thought "how would Speedo put something together that works so poorly".
    So then I decided to give it a try with my PC-Laptop, and the songs now play really well. So, don't use your iMac to load the music.
    I used it for the first time yesterday in the water.  Swam for 1 hour non stop:  THe clip holds on well.  If you flip and push very hard coming out of the wall the drag in the water will slide it down in your head. An improvement would definitely be to make it more hydrodynamic.
    Finally, the earplugs held well too.  I only had one of them coming out on backstroke.  I guess you gotta get used to them and learn to plug them in properly.
    I can't imagine swimming without the media player.  MAkes my time much easy going (much better than just watching a boring black line).  Clarification: I'm not a competitive swimmer.  I do it to be healthy and fit.  I don't know how a more skilled/competitive swimmer will rate it.

    Houston, TX


  • 8/22/2013 Nice when it works

    rating star By Paul Y.

    I've had this model for 15 months. The first one went down after 5 months, and i have replaced the headphones once also. Agree with Maria D, it sometimes won't play for no apparent reason, and after erasing and reloading files it eventually plays again.
    Basically fine when it works, with decent sound quality, but very temperamental. Not sure how long this one will last either but treating it as the cost to rent rather than buying something that will last reliably.

    Paul Y.
    New York, NY


  • 7/28/2013 Aquabeat MP3 player

    rating star By Kswim

    I love this product! Works great, and I use it everyday in the water for at least 2 hours at a time. I wish the ear buds were a little smaller. They are a bit too long for my small ears., love, love!

    New Jersey


  • 4/26/2013 buyer beware

    rating star By Phil

    Overall, this has been a very reliable unit and has made swimming much more fun.  but beware, the battery died on me after two years with no more than 1.5 hours of playing time per week... no more than a  thousand hours of playing time.  the third party warranty shop told me they would replace the battery for $58.  Sorry but for that much money i will just buy a new one.  so plan on it being a disposable mp3 player.  Even at that rate it was worth the money, and I paid $100 for it.

    Provo Ut


  • 3/30/2013 Wish I could have given it five stars....BUT

    rating star By Maria D.

    Okay - this is the 4th one I have had (not joking).  One of them didn't load, one of them froze after a week of use and two of them lasted about 6 months.  The shame of it's actually a great little machine when it works!  I found the sound clarity fantastic, the earbuds okay (once you take the loop off the top of the buds) and the sound was consistent in tone.
    I'm just not sure why, technically, the product fails without notice.  Sometimes it would charge, sometimes it wouldn't, but invariably it would fail and once it won't start again.  There's just some sort of hardware fault with this particular product and that's a pity.
    Even with this rating I WOULD rate it higher than the Waterfi Ipod shuffle because the Waterfi is too small - even for my small fingers - and the velcro loop to attach it to your goggles is cheap and tacky.    I would also rate it way higher than the Finis SwimP3 where the sound quality was awful and they kept coming off my goggles.  So, I'm going to get the next generation Speedo and see how that works.  Hopefully more longevity than this model.

    Maria D.
    Brookfield, CT


  • 2/12/2013 Speedo Aquabeat LZR Racer Special Edition 2GB MP3 Player

    rating star By Andy

    This is terrible



  • 1/28/2013 I am in love!!

    rating star By ADKPOOH

    Used several times a week at the gym pool- adult beginner lap swimmer. The sound is better in the water than out of the water. It does get me to keep my face in the water. It took forever to charge. That was a big pain. Adding music is easy enough. If you do not load the right file extension type- it will start glitching- which is another pain. As soon as you remove the file(song) that the player does not support, it will function properly. It does not have a display screen - but, I will learn to live with it.

    Syracuse, NY


  • 1/4/2013 Speedo Aquabeat LZR Racer Special Edition 2GB MP3 Player

    rating star By jocpro

    I like this product.
    There are 2 things that bothered me. My first one lasted only 8 months with almost daily use. However, when it stopped working Speedo replaced it immediately. Awesome service response from Speedo.
    Sometimes the computer has trouble recognizing the player. This happen on the 1st and 2nd one. Eventually I get it to load but this may be my computer.

    Cumming, Ga


  • 12/12/2012 Excelent producto!

    rating star By Gustavo H.

    I love this product, It´s easy to operate and confortable

    Gustavo H.
    Miami, FL


  • 11/23/2012 This Mp3 player is unreliable

    rating star By Steven J

    I used the product regularly for about half a year getting decent quality from it. However, after using the mp3 player (correctly) for just over a year it stopped working, and it was unable to charge. I wan't even able to get a refund since I had owned it for more than a year. Not a good product; I wouldn't suggest buying it.

    Steven J
    Waynesboro, VA


  • 11/16/2012 Warning for Mac users

    rating star By MJ

    I bought this mp3 player because it said it would be compatible with my iTunes.  I guess it is -- in theory, but not in practice.  Once you convert your iTunes songs to mp3 format, you have to transfer them onto the player, but when you transfer them via drag+drop, the file gets corrupted and ends up sounding like an intolerably skipping CD.  Not sure if this was just the product I received or if this happens with all iTunes conversions -- there isn't really any tech support available online.  I've returned it and am now looking into waterproofed iPods.



  • 10/22/2012 Your patience will pay off!

    rating star By Lisa

    It's taken a few tries, but have finally figured out the ear buds for the best sound yet!    I read through all of the reviews and noted that several people mentioned taking off the "ear clips" or whatever they are called.   MAGIC!  The ear buds stayed in my ears just fine!   I had the urge to fiddle with them while swimming, but left them alone.  You need to make sure the buds are seated pretty well/deep in your ears.  I have real trouble with ear buds, so I was glad to figure this out!   Get rid of those "ear clips"!

    Avon Lake, Ohio


  • 6/24/2012 Not there yet

    rating star By Patrick M.

    Tried to use for fast lap swimming , but I do flip turns and sub 7 min 500's Is that too fast for this product? A few times I had the sound just right, but lost it after pushing off the wall.  
    Sound quality is acceptable when the earphones are just right.

    Patrick M.
    Palm City, FL


  • 6/21/2012 Only Lasted 3 Months

    rating star By Lee M.

    I loved this for my pool workouts, especially after I removed the headphone clips that other's mentioned were a pain.  The sound was nice, though the device was skipping songs as some people have mentioned on other sites (and the device doesn't play randomly as far as I've been able to figure out).  Then a few days ago I charged it overnight, and it wouldn't play the next day at all (nothing turned on or off).  I tried charging it again, from a laptop, from a desktop, and the light turned red and stayed on, but there was no music.  $90 is too much to pay for something this buggy (and many people would agree).

    Lee M.
    Salt Lake City, UT


  • 6/18/2012 Not reliable

    rating star By Audra

    After reviewing many products, I chose this one.  After two weeks of using it water jogging and running outdoors it stopped working and seemed to have moisture in the headphone jack.  I exchanged it, no problem.  Great customer service.  Received a new one in a couple of days.  Used this one again for the same purpose.  After 2 weeks, it had the same problem.  This time I returned it for a refund.  I guess this waterproof product is not water proof!  Back to researching again!

    Las Vegas


  • 6/1/2012 Sound Quality is Great, but reliability is questionable

    rating star By Upshure C.

    I am on my third system.  There is obviously a flaw in the design related to holding a charge. I love the sound quality, but I keep a spare MP3 player (different brand) as a backup when the unit fails to charge.  I am now addicted to swimming with music.  Eventually they will get this right.  Swim Outlet has been really good at replacing with no charge.  They are a very professional team.

    Upshure C.
    Woodbridge, VA


  • 5/25/2012 My Swimming Just Got a LOT More Enjoyable!

    rating star By Meredith

    I swim a lot and have been researching waterproof MP3 players for about a year now  with a fair level of skepticism.  I finally deciced to take the plunge (pun intended) with the Aquabeat...and so far I'm really loving it!  While I can't attest to its longevity quite yet, I can say that it's very easy to use as far as loading songs from iTunes.  It took a couple of swims to get used to the earphones, and I still stop to adjust them a couple times during each swim, but the sound is better than I expected.  This has definitely made my long swims much, much more enjoyable.  Let's hope it still works well after a few months :)

    Philadelphia, PA


Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz