Now Accepting PayPal and Google Wallet

Water Gear Progressive Swim Trainer

Water Gear Progressive Swim Trainer Reviews

Back to product page

Page Showing 1-20 of 78 Results

3 star rating (78 Reviews)

Write A Review

See all 78 customer reviews
  • 8/14/2012 Love It!

    rating star By Linden

    My son, who is now four, used one of these suits and learned to swim independently by age 3.5. My daughter, who is now two, uses this suit and loves to splash around in the water. She can go in and out of the water on her own, swim around, and is starting to blow bubbles and get her face wet. It's fantastic that our kids have been able to grow comfortable in the water at their own pace. It is also a huge benefit that they never learned to cling to adults in the water. Compared with water wings and other flotation devices, we have found that this suit allows the kids to learn to use their arms and legs as they would without flotation. I highly recommend. Note that these run small, so I would buy a size larger than normal. My son (who is big for his age) used size 5/6 even at age 2, and my daughter (who is average size, wears 2T clothes) uses size 3/4 at age 2.

    Portland, OR

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 6/25/2012 Best product to teach toddlers to swim

    rating star By Grandpa

    I've taugtht my 3 children to swim by the ages of 3 and 4 over  25 years ago with this type of swim trainer. I'm glad I was able to still find one. It is now time to teach my 2 year old grandson how to swim. I'm sure he'll be swimming on his own by 4 years old without the inserts giving us peace of mind knowing that if he fell into a deep end of a swimming pool, he would be able to swim to safety.


    Fit: Feels too small

  • 6/3/2012 Love this suit!!!

    rating star By Happy Mom

    My son is an average sized 3 1/2 year old, leaning toward the smaller end of the scale & this size 5-6 suit barely fits. But it works GREAT!!! He used it at the water park last weekend & went on every slide. He is not afraid to have his head underwater, but with this product he did not go under when he came off the slides, so it gave ME the confidence to let him go alone (his greatest desire). He is fast & fearless, so it is nice to know you have a few extra seconds to rescue him if he goes where he shouldn't and encourage his autonomy. This style of suit is a little tricky to get off when wet, so if you are in the process of potty training that could be a problem. I thought the fabric was a bit light, but still a great product.

    Happy Mom
    North Dakota

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 5/10/2012 Works for watching little

    rating star By Gale C.

    It's great to have for a little one to be around a pool with supervision but he needs to be watched carefully because the suit doesn't keep him afloat with his head out of the water.   Still a good safety measure though.

    Gale C.
    Sacramento, CA, CA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 5/6/2012 Love this suit!

    rating star By Miss Pat

    This suit is perfect for the child who is learning to swim.  As they get more experienced, just remove another styrofoam tube and before they realize it they know how to swim!  The bright colors make it easy to find them when playing on the beach. It's comfortable, just remove the floatation tubes and let them play!  Coverage gives them more protection from the sun too!  Wish you made it in size 5-6 for the child who's starting their training later.

    Miss Pat

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 4/10/2012 Updated Review

    rating star By Alexandra

    I bought this last summer for my almost 3yo daughter, and she loved it right away.  I just wanted to update my review now that we've had the suit for almost a year.  We've used this suit in the in the oceans, lake, and regularly at the pool, and we both still love it.  My daughter's confidence in the water is amazing - she was swimming out into the ocean on her own, playing in the waves, and although I was nearby, I could let her feel independent.  We have now progressed to having half of the floats out so she is almost swimming independently.  I can't say enough how much I love this bathing suit.

    It DOES fit small.  At 3, the 5-6yo size fit her well, and although she has grown, the suit has stretched along with her, fortunately.  The sizing really needs to be updated and a true size selection to 5-6 years old added.  This is my only complaint.

    Rockwood, ON

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 1/24/2012 progressive swim trainer

    rating star By jill

    used the same suit for two grandkids.  swam a couple times a week all year long.  works great to keep their bodies upright and their faces out of the water.  they are able to swim alone with no help holding them up.  the styrofoam floats inserted into the suit are stiff and uncomfortable  (we were able to slide them out the bottom openings and replaced them with softer ones)  just bought the next size up works just as well as the smaller one.  has two extra floats for the added weight.

    thermopolis, wy

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 12/11/2011 Badly sized

    rating star By Femi

    Simply put, you need to work on the sizing. Good product but made my 6 year old boy look like a barley dancer. Had to wear additional swimming shorts to make him feel comfortable. Work on more sizes.

    Austin, TX

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 9/23/2011 WAY TOO SMALL

    rating star By cindy

    my thin 16 month grand daughter found this too tight and it was the sz 3-4 yr old size


    Fit: Feels too small

  • 8/21/2011 Great swim trainer!

    rating star By Amy R.

    First of all if you are ordering for a boy, you must go with blue.  The site does not tell you this.  It states that there are 2 colors available but does not specify one is for boys and one is for girls.  The trainer works great. There are a total of 8 floats that can be slowly taken out based upon child's needs.  Seems to run a little small as my son is 4 and I ordered the 3T/4T and it was too small.

    Amy R.
    Edgewater, MD

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 8/13/2011 Progressive Swim Trainer is a winner!

    rating star By Eve M.

    My grandson weighs 40 lbs and is 4 years old.    After reading the reviews we went with the large size and it was perfect.     The first day at our resort with swimming pool my son had got a padded top for him to wear and it did keep on riding up, hindering him.   The next day my son put the progressive swim trainer on my grandson.   At first he didnt like the change especially when my son put in the floats in  around him.   However, once in the water, my grandson loved it and was dog paddling across the pool the next day.   By the end of our stay my grandson was loving water after practicing twice a day in the pool, and down to 4 floats around him.      Have been looking for something like this for years.    I taught my  other grandson to swim with an Australian suit similar to this about ten years ago.

    Eve M.
    Mesquite, NV


  • 8/4/2011 Swim Trainer suit

    rating star By Anne

    My children had similar suits like this 26 years ago and was delighted to find them again. This suit is wonderful too, although the sizing is off. I bought a medium for my 2 yr. old grandson and the fit is uncomfortably snug and causes chafing. The size guidelines need to be adjusted as these suits run very small. But most importantly it works, I would recommend them highly and in fact ordered 2 more in varied sizes.


    Fit: Feels too small

  • 8/2/2011 Awesome Suit, but Fits Very Small

    rating star By Alexandra

    This suit is amazing!  We had previously tried floatation suits but my daughter didn't like them very much and the buoyancy isn't as appropriately located as it is in this suit.  I put the suit on my almost-three-year old, she climbed into the water and was off swimming on her own right away.  We had a blast as she was instantly confidently swimming out on her own and playing games with us in the water - I haven't spent this much time in the lake since I was 20 years younger!   I am looking forward to gradually removing the floats as she gains even more confidence and ability in the water so that she is gradually swimming more and more under her own power.  I have recommended the suit to my sisters with younger children.

    The sizing IS ridiculously small.  My daughter is slim and average size for her age, barely in size 3T, but after reading the reviews on the site I ordered a large (says fits 5-6) and the fit is just right.  There is a wee bit of room in  the shoulder straps so I'm hoping this suit will still fit her for our winter vacation, but a smaller size would have been too small.

    Overall I would highly recommend this suit to any parent or grandparent of toddlers - just order carefully.

    Rockwood, ON

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 8/1/2011 Didn't fit

    rating star By Carla D.

    Way too small to fit an average 3 year old

    Carla D.
    Escondido, CA


  • 7/25/2011 A Must Have!!!!!

    rating star By The Rice Family

    After buying three different floating aids for my 3-year old, I read the reviews and decided to buy this item. It was the best suit yet. My son was very uneasy in the water and since getting this swim outfit, he now jumps in and floats around in the deep end of the pool (supervision present). He is now confident and is now even trying to go underwater. I would advise to order a large because the suit does run small. I ordered a large for my son that wears a 4T and it fits perfectly. The suit is a little difficult to remove, but a little pull will fix that. My family and I are going to Florida in a couple of weeks and I am debating whether I should buy another just in case!

    The Rice Family
    Philadelphia, PA

    Fit: Feels true to size

  • 7/22/2011 Thought it was different

    rating star By Cristal W.

    I had measured my daughter before purchasing this item and it said to buy the small. So I did, my daughter is only 21 months and weights 21lbs so I don't think the sizing is completely correct but I will buy from this site again. I do love the bathing suit. My husband and I had to stretch it out a little bit for her to fit in it.

    Cristal W.
    Lindenhurst, NY

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 7/17/2011 Nice but runs small

    rating star By Bug mom

    I purchased this for my 10 month old to help him get acclimated to the water. The small size fits like 9 mo swimwear despite the site saying that it fits 1.5 to 2 yrs. Also, the floatation bars are designed for the child to be horizontal, so it would be better for an older kid that needs encouragement to lay horizontal in the water. It does offer some buoyancy while allowing him to put his face in the water, so not a bad purchase, just not ideal.

    Bug mom

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 7/16/2011 Just what we needed!

    rating star By Krista B.

    We bought two of these for our 3-year-old twin boys.  The boys are on the small side of average, about 34 pounds, and we are glad we bought the large size ... fits them perfectly.  

    One of my boys can swim completely independently and happily with the suit -- which is an enormous improvement, since he was clingy and scared when he wore water wings.  He has been wearing the suit so much, and swimming so enthusiastically, that he has some skin irritation on his underarms where the suit rubs when he swims.  Those two side floats will have to be the first to come out.

    My other son still needs an adult right beside him while wearing the suit -- he isn't kicking enough to maintain balance, so he ends up flipping over and floating accidentally ... not the suit's fault, and it's better than sinking.  :-)

    The suit's fabric isn't the highest quality -- one of our suits has developed a snag in the bottom.  For the price, though, I would definitely buy these again.

    Krista B.
    Melbourne, FL

    Fit: Feels too small

  • 7/10/2011 Swim Trainer

    rating star By nanasul

    She is only in a size 24 month so I bought the first time a size 2. Had to send it back it is to small. Reordered it in a size 4-6 and it won't fit her the rest of the summer. I was hoping to have it fit her in Nov. when we go to Florida but it won't. Now I need to buy the next size. I really loved this product when my to older niece used them to learn to swim. I still like it. Just wish the sizes were better.

    Philadelphia, Pa.

    Fit: Feels too small


    rating star By CINDY



    Fit: Feels too small

Email Address Invalid. Please enter an email address in the format: xx@yy.zz